2014 RedBud MX | Roczen & Pourcel Post Top Times

2014 RedBud MX

2014 RedBud MX Timed Qualifying Report

With the hangover headaches and blown eardrums of fireworks from the Fourth of July lingering, the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship has set up camp in for round six of the 2014 championship at RedBud MX in Buchannan, Michigan. Seen as the premier event of the season, the facility and fans make the race in Southern Michigan unlike any other. Although the event has been known for intense heat and humidity, this year’s weather is much more mild with temperatures in the high 70s. Timed qualifying has just concluded and there is just hours until the first gate drop kicks off a day of racing at RedBud.

Need details for today’s complete broadcast coverage? Have a look here…

Watch the live stream of all motos via the NBC Sports online stream…

450 Timed Qualifying | 2014 RedBud MX

Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen has controlled the series since the start, and the rookie’s reign continued in timed qualifying at RedBud. After running near the front in the first session, he upped the pace in the final practice and leaped to the top of the leader board with a 2:02.848 lap. This time edged Roczen’s longtime rival Eli Tomac, who had set the pace early in the first session with a 2:03.131, While many in the field were faster as the track developed, this time kept the GEICO Honda rider second overall. Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart was another rider with his best time, a 2:03.502, coming in the first session and this ranked him third overall. Word of a midway crash surrounded Ryan Dungey, but this did not stop the Red Bull KTM rider from notching a 2:03.502 and scoring fourth on the charts. Malcolm Stewart added his name to the list of contenders early in the day, as a 2:04.141 lap put the Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda rider fifth on the sheets.

1. Ken Roczen 2:02.848
2. Eli Tomac 2:03.131
3. James Stewart 2:03.502
4. Ryan Dungey 2:03.890
5. Malcolm Stewart 2:04.141
6. Trey Canard 2:04.344
7. Josh Grant 2:04.417
8. Brett Metcalfe 2:04.652
9. Andrew Short 2:04.988
10. Justin Brayton 2:05.563

250 Timed Qualifying | 2014 RedBud MX

Another week, another late session sprint by Christophe Pourcel. The Valli Motorsports Yamaha rider waiting until there were just moments left in the final 250 timed qualifier and moved to the top of the chart with a 2:03.517 lap time. In addition to this, Pourcel was the first 250 rider to huck LaRocco’s Leap. With his championship lead under fire, it’s important for Jeremy Martin to show that he still has the speed over his competition. The Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha rider did just that in session two, by turning a 2:04.020 lap and moving up to second on the charts. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett continues his surge for control of the series, and claimed third in practice with a 2:04.589. Jason Anderson moved up the running order late in the last practice, and a 2:04.736 lap moved the Rockstar Energy Racing KTM rider up to fourth place. Marvin Musquin briefly held the top spot in session two with a 2:04.838, but the surge of riders bumped the Red Bull KTM rider to fifth.

1. Christophe Pourcel 2:03.517
2. Jeremy Martin 2:04.020
3. Blake Baggett 2:04.589
4. Jason Anderson 2:04.736
5. Marvin Musquin 2:04.838
6. Cooper Webb 2:05.517
7. Zach Bell 2:05.678
8. Dean Wilson 2:06.155
9. Cole Seely 2:06.389
10. Justin Bogle 2:06.423