Wild Night In The North | 2014 Toronto SX Race Report

Photos by Jeff Kardas

The Monster Energy Supercross Series made its way over the border for round twelve of the 2014 season at the Rogers Centre in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Coming into the weekend, it seemed as though both championship were all but presented to the two front runners but major setbacks struck Adam Cianciarulo and Ryan Villopoto, severely shaking their runs to the title. Both riders managed to line up for the night show with varying degrees of success. In the 450 class, history was made as one of the sport’s most decorated riders added another accomplishment to his career, while a young racer in the 250 division scored the first win of his career.

2014 Toronto SX Race Report

250 East Coast Regional Championship

250 Heat One

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo rocketed to the lead in the opening race of the night, a move that surprised many after the shoulder injury suffered during practice. JAB Motorsports Kawasaki’s Matt Lemoine feverishly pursued the rookie for the spot, and after a quick run down the track’s longest rhythm lane, he slipped by to take the spot. Lemoine upped the pace once in front, and Cianciarulo stayed close by for a short time until his slower laps late in the race allowed GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle to sneak by for second place.

1. Matt Lemoine
2. Justin Bogle
3. Adam Cianciarulo
4. Vince Friese
5. Kyle Cunningham
6. Levi Kilbarger
7. Brad Nauditt
8. Jesse Wentland
9. Taylor Potter
10. Daniel Herrlein

250 Heat Two

A number of riders were collected in a first turn pile up, but Kyle Peters avoided the carnage to claim holeshot aboard his Gurrnaid Energy Honda. Peters soon felt pressure from Martin Davalos for the lead and the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider made a pass for the spot through the whoop section. With a clear track ahead on the second lap, Davalos was able to post his fastest lap and built a gap over the rest of the field that would be too much to close in the six-lap sprint.

After getting a poor jump off of the gate, Blake Baggett fought through the field until the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki was in a fight for a number of spots in the top five. First came passes on Rockstar Energy Racing KTM’s Cole Thompson and AJ Catanzaro that put him into third place behind Peters. The two riders were even through a number of sections until Baggett made his first bid for the position, which Peters countered with a close pass. They would dice once more before the checkered flag, with Baggett ultimately taking the spot.

1. Martin Davalos
2. Blake Baggett
3. Kyle Peters
4. Jeremy Martin
5. Cole Thompson
6. AJ Catanzaro
7. Jimmy Decotis
8. Landen Powell
9. Gannon Audette
10. Aaron Gulley

250 LCQ

After going down in his heat race, GEICO Honda’s Matt Bisceglia aced the start of the night’s LCQ and led the field through the first turn with CycleTrader.com/Rock River/Yamaha’s Alex Martin in tow. These two riders immediately gapped the rest of the field and safely qualified for the main event, but a number of riders were vying for the remaining positions. Daniel Herrlein ran third early in the race, but Jackson Richardson overtook the spot near the halfway point. Herrlein lost the final transfer to Ryan Zimmer, who nearly threw away the spot on the final lap with an erratic run through the whoops but managed to hang on.

1. Matt Bisceglia
2. Alex Martin
3. Jackson Richardson
4. Ryan Zimmer
5. Daniel Herrlein
6. Steve Roman
7. Aaron Gulley
8. Jacob Baumert
9. Justin Starling
10. Luke Vonlinger

250 Main Event

A number of holeshot came from the right side of the starter’s box in Toronto, and the 250 feature was no different with Justin Bogle taking control from the moment the gate dropped aboard his GEICO Honda. Adam Cianciarulo and Jimmy Decotis fell in line behind Bogle in the opening lap, but an incident would drop Decotis from third to twenty-first by the next lap. Just moments into the race disaster would strike Cianciarulo, with his shoulder once again came out of its socket.. He quickly pulled off the course to the awaiting Asterisk Medical unit, who popped the injury back in place. With the point lead on the line, Cianciarulo returned to the track but could only muster half a lap before the injury became too intense to overcome. He would finish the night scored in twenty-second place.

With Cianciarulo out, another Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider took over the pursuit of Bogle, as Martin Davalos moved into second place. The riding style between first and second place was noticeably different, as Bogle appeared reserved in front while Davalos pushed to close the gap. While encountering heavy lapped traffic at the midway point of the race, Davalos lost control through one of the layout’s many rhythm lanes and went down in the next corner. He would remount quickly, after Matt Lemoine passed by, but reclaimed second place just a lap later. He would then make up an incredible amount of time on Bogle, who had switched to a reserved riding, but it was not enough. After coasting through the final lanes, Bogle scored the first main event win of his career and celebrated the triumph with a one-leg turndown whip over the finish line.

Matt Lemoine’s success continued in the main event, with the JAB Motorsports/Silkolene/Kawasaki rider coming from outside the top-ten on the start to the front pack by the end of the first lap. He clicked off laps with consistency and fought for his place on the track against the competition, namely Jeremy Martin. The Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha rider spent much of the race setting up pass attempts on the privateer, but seemed to lose ground at the most pivotal moments, which allowed Lemoine to inch away once again and take third place on the night.

Another poor start buried Blake Baggett in the field, but the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki racer expertly knifed through the competition to run as high as fifth place. While running in a tight pack with Davalos, Lemoine, and Martin, the former National champion had a miscue over one of the track’s more awkward obstacles and was thrown over the handlebars. The impact battered both rider and machine, essentially destroying the bike’s controls and forcing Baggett to withdraw.

Main Event Results
1. Justin Bogle
2. Martin Davalos
3. Matt Lemoine
4. Jeremy Martin
5. Cole Thompson
6. Vince Friese
7. Alex Martin
8. Kyle Cunningham
9. AJ Catanzaro
10. Jimmy Decotis
11. Jackson Richardson
12. Matt Bisceglia
13. Landen Powell
14. Levi Kilbarger
15. Jesse Wentland
16. Brad Nauditt
17. Taylor Potter
18. Gannon Audette
19. Ryan Zimmer
20. Blake Baggett
21. Kyle Peters
22. Adam Cianciarulo
Monster Energy Supercross 250 East Coast Championship Points Standings (After 6 of 9 rounds):
1. Martin Davalos (124pts/1 win)
2. Adam Cianciarulo (120pts/3 wins)
3. Justin Bogle (119pts/1 win)
4. Blake Baggett (100pts/1 win)
5. Vince Friese (90pts)
6. Kyle Cunningham (76pts)
7. Cole Thompson (74pts)
8. Matthew Lemoine (73pts)
9. James Decotis (65pts)
10. Alex Martin (60pts)