2014 Unadilla MX | Qualifying Report

2014 Unadilla MX

After a weekend away, the 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship has entered the final rounds of the year with stop ten of the series at Unadilla Motorsports in Central New York. Arguably the most historic venue in American motocross, today’s action could add another chapter to the legacy. The championship chases in either class are on the line, and while one rider has a firm hold on the 250 title, his rivals still have a chance at stealing it away. The weather in the Northeast is practically perfect and we are just moments away from starting the motos.

Have a look at the television and online broadcast coverage for the 2014 Unadilla MX…

Be sure to follow TWMXdotcom on Instagram for more shots from Unadilla and beyond…

2014 Unadilla MX | 450 Timed Qualifying 

2014 Unadilla MX

Trey Canard ruled both sessions on the circuit, with the Team Honda Muscle Milk rider’s fastest lap coming in session one at 2:14.313. This was over a full second faster than runner-up Eli Tomac, who turned a 2:15.538 aboard his GEICO Honda. Red Bull KTM teammates and title contenders Ryan Dungey and Ken Roczen were just fractions of a second apart, with Dungey’s 2:16.146 besting Roczen’s 2:16.813. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Brett Metcalfe claimed fifth at 2:17.385, while Team Honda Muscle Milk fill-in Fredrik Noren nabbed sixth with a 2:17.767. The times posted by the remaining riders in the top-ten (Justin Brayton, Ryan Sipes, Andrew Short, Chad Reed) were within .492 seconds of each other.


Michael Byrne is acting as a second rider on Chad Reed’s Discount Tire/TwoTwo Motorsports team this weekend and is riding a Kawasaki complete with his number 26. Here’s to Byrner getting the best of ’Dilla this time around after the last two years. He was fifteenth in qualifying.

Josh Grant is missing from the JGRMX/Toyota/NFAB/Yamaha line-up, as he is still feeling the effects from his Washougal concussion. New York racer Phil Nicoletti is riding in what could be his last run for the team. Nicoletti timed eleventh.

Kyle Chisholm is pitting out of a Scion SUV for today’s race, then heading out soon after the checkered flag to drive North for a round of the Canadian National series held tomorrow.

2014 Unadilla MX | 450 Timed Qualifying Results

1. Trey Canard 2:14.313
2. Eli Tomac 2:15.538
3. Ryan Dungey 2:16.146
4. Ken Roczen 2:16.813
5. Brett Metcalfe 2:17.385
6. Fredrik Noren 2:17.767
7. Justin Brayton
8. Ryan Sipes 2:19.013
9. Andrew Short 2:19.039
10. Chad Reed 2:19.277

2014 Unadilla MX | 250 Timed Qualifying

2014 Unadilla MX

Many thought the track was starting to slow in the final 250 practice session, until Valli Motorsports Yamaha’s Christophe Pourcel upped his pace and posted a 2:14.349 in the closing moments. Title favorite Jeremy Martin followed suit and turned a 2:14.424 aboard his Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha, which edged GEICO Honda’s Zach Osborne’s 2:16.023 for second place. Blake Baggett’s aggression on the track is noticeable, as he revved his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki to the limit and nabbed fourth with a 2:16.108 lap. Many are expecting Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin to excel on the European-ish track, and he was fifth fastest with a 2:16.130.


Recent amateur grads RJ Hampshire, Luke Renzland, and Chris Alldredge are making their professional debuts at Unadilla. They were twelfth, nineteenth, and twentieth, respectively.

Darryn Durham is back from injury for the final three rounds at Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki. He was twenty-first fastest overall.

Cooper Webb struggled through the morning sessions, with a 2:19.803 being his fastest time of either outing. This put the Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha rider eighteenth on the charts.

2014 Unadilla MX | 250 Timed Qualifying Results

1. Christophe Pourcel 2:14.349
2. Jeremy Martin 2:14.424
3. Zach Osborne 2:16.023
4. Blake Baggett 2:16.108
5. Marvin Musquin 2:16.130
6. Jason Anderson 2:17.314
7. Joey Savatgy 2:17.314
8. Dean Wilson 2:17.753
9. Cole Seely 2:17.964
10. Kyle Cunningham 2:18.308