2015 Indianapolis SX | Race Report

Ryan Dungey completed a Red Bull KTM sweep with his 450 main event win in Indianapolis.
Ryan Dungey completed a Red Bull KTM sweep with his 450 main event win in Indianapolis.

2015 Indianapolis SX | Race Report

Find out what is happening at the track by following our social media accounts
INSTAGRAM: @twmxdotcom
TWITTER: @twmxdotcom
FACEBOOK: TransWorldMoto

For more information, visit supercrossonline.com

Round 11 of the 2015 Monster Energy Supercross Series rolled to Indianapolis, Indiana, and the excitement was at an all-time high. The Lucas Oil Stadium housed one of the more technical tracks of the year and the whoop section was undoubtedly the most treacherous aspect of the race track. Something must be in the water in the Red Bull KTM rig, though, as it seemed to be deja vu all over again with Ryan Dungey and Marvin Musquin standing atop the podium in their respective classes. Both Dungey and Musquin enjoy commanding points leads in their championship contests. 

2015 Indianapolis SX | Race Report| 250 Class

Call Marvin Musquin, because he's on a roll.
Call Marvin Musquin butter, because he’s on a roll.
250 Heat One

GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle grabbed the first holeshot of the night in the 250 class with Smart Top/Motoconcept Racing’s Vince Friese and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Joey Savatgy in tow. Kyle Cunningham got around Friese for third at the end of the opening lap, then Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos then made the move on Motoconcepts rider for fourth. At the beginning of lap three, Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Anthony Rodriguez moved around Friese for fifth. Orange Brigade/KTM’s Dakota Alix maintained a steady pace to make it through to the main finishing in ninth place.

1. Justin Bogle
2. Joey Savatgy
3. Martin Davalos
4. Kyle Cunningham
5. Anthony Rodriguez
6. Mitch Oldenberg
7. Vince Friese
8. Jordan Smith
9. Dakota Alix
10. Daniel Herrlein

250 Heat Two

GEICO Honda’s RJ Hampshire rocketed to turn one with the holeshot, with Kyle Peters in a close second.  Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin went down on lap one right after the whoops as he ran into another rider, but remounted to finish the race uninjured. Peters made his way around Hampshire for first, but the GEICO Honda rider made quick work of the privateer to retake the lead. On lap two,  Musquin  passed Hampshire and took control of the lead, while Peters maintained third. Privateer Jimmy Decotis sat in fourth with Colt Nichols in a close fifth, but on the final lap, Peters made a small mistake and paid for it, as Decotis got by for third. Bad luck struck again for Martin as he tried to pass Taylor Potter for the final transfer position. The two came together and  the incident sent Martin to the ground, which in turn sent him to the LCQ.

1. Marvin Musquin
2. RJ Hampshire
3. Jimmy Decotis
4. Kyle Peters
5. Colt Nichols
6. Justin Starling
7. Gannon Audette
8. Logan Karnow
9. Taylor Potter
10. Jace Owen

250 LCQ

Luke Vonlinger ripped out of the gate to grab the holeshot, but Martin was in a very close second and made quick work of the privateer. Just as the pack completed the first lap, though, the red flag came out because a multi-rider crash.

After the racers lined back up on the gate, it was Daniel Herrlein who made it to turn one first. More bad luck struck for Martin, as her suffered from a bad start and was buried back in 10th. Martin’s luck didn’t improve as he, again, went down in the whoop section. He was able to remount and finish, but it wasn’t enough to get into the top qualifying positions. Meanwhile, Renzland moved into the lead with Gaines, Owen and Herrlein finishing in that order. Almost unbelievably, 250 National Champion Martin was unable to make the main event.

1. Luke Renzland
2. Nick Gaines
3. Jace Owen
4. Daniel Herrlein

250 Main Event

Bogle grabbed the holeshot at the start of the 15-lap 250 main, but Davalos made quick work of him for first. Musquin also moved around the Geico Honda rider and set his sights on Davalos. On lap two, Musquin took over the the lead, while Davalos made a small mistake through the whoops and went down. Davalos lost several positions to the likes of Bogle, Savatgy and Hampshire. Musquin began to jump his way through the treacherous whoop section, which allowed him to minimize swaps and further pull away. Back to eighth place, a battle ensued between Cunningham, Peters and GEICO Honda’s Jordan Smith. Smith was able to get by both privateers for eighth. Near the halfway point, Rodriguez, who was inside the top five, made a mistake and went down and handed the position to Friese. Smith, though, had his sights set on Friese and made the pass with seven laps to go.

Savatgy, who held down third, had bike problems with six laps to go, and had to push his bike off of the track for a disappointing DNF. Bogle, too had some problems, as the Geico rider took a little spill with four laps to go, but didn’t manage to lose any positions to his teammates Hampshire and Smith. Cunningham made his way around Friese for fifth with two laps to go.  At the checkered flag, Musquin to crossed the finish line with a heel clicker-no-hander combo to celebrate the win with Bogle, Hampshire, Smith and Cunningham rounding out the top five. Four more Hondas followed to complete the top 10.

250 Main Event Results

1. Marvin Musquin
2. Justin Bogle
3. RJ Hampshire
4. Jordan Smith
5. Kyle Cunningham
6. Jimmy Decotis
7. Kyle Peters
8. Colt Nichols
9. Vince Friese
10. Jace Owen
11. Luke Renzland
12. Gannon Audette
13. Mitch Oldenberg
14. Justin Starling
15. Martin Davalos
16. Anthony Rodriguez
17. Daniel Herrlein
18. Taylor Potter
19. Logan Karnow
20. Joey Savatgy
21. Dakota Alix

Monster Energy Supercross 250 Championship Points Standings (After 5 of 9 rounds):

1. Marvin Musquin – 122 points(4 wins)
2. Justin Bogle – 106 points
3. Jeremy Martin – 85 points(1 win)
4. RJ Hampshire – 74 points
5. Joey Savatgy – 73 points
6. Martin Davalos – 62 points
7. Vince Friese – 58 points
8. Jimmy Decotis – 57 points
9. Kyle Peters – 57 points
10. Anthony Rodriguez – 52 points