2015 Oakland SX | Race Report

Malcolm and James Stewart Sr.
Malcolm and James Stewart Sr. were all smiles after Mookie’s first career win.

2015 Oakland Supercross | Race Report


INSTAGRAM: @twmxdotcom
TWITTER: @twmxdotcom
FACEBOOK: TransWorldMoto

Text – Casey Davis | Photos – Ryne Swanberg

The Monster Energy Supercross Series rolled into Oakland, California’s O.co Stadium for round four of what has to be considered the most exciting season in years, and the NorCal crowd was treated to another pair of new winners. Honda’s Trey Canard earned his first win of the season with an exciting jaunt through the pack, while GEICO Honda’s Malcolm Stewart came away with a very popular win in the Western Regional 250 class – the first victory of his professional career. 450 Championship points leader Ken Roczen crashed early in the 450 main and dropped well out of contention, and found himself stripped of the points lead and red plate by the ever-consistent Ryan Dungey, who finished second in Oaktown. Cooper Webb, meanwhile, maintained the Western Regional 250 Supercross points lead by storming though the field to finish second, after being taken out early on by rival Tyler Bowers.

250 West Coast Regional Championship

250 Heat One

The first rider to turn one was Rockstar Energy Racing Husqvarna’s Zach Bell. Troy Lee Designs/ Lucas Oil/Red Bull/KTM’s Shane McElrath got by the Husky rider without hesitation with Geico Honda’s Malcolm Stewart in a close third. Yamalube/Star Racing/ Yamaha’s Cooper Webb came out in fourth, but not for long as he made quick work of Bell for third place. Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Aaron Plessinger went down in turn two, as he got caught in a multiple rider pile up, but remounted to finish the race. Webb caught the Geico Honda of Stewart on lap three, but Stewart got away, once again, by passing McElrath on lap four. Webb made a pass attempt on McElrath, but was unsuccessful. Webb finally made the pass stick on the KTM rider and made one more pass on Stewart, and the GEICO Honda rider clipped the back wheel of Webb on final lap and hit the deck with only feet left in the race. Stewart remounted in time to salvage a transfer.

1. Cooper Webb

2. Shane McElrath

3. Zach Bell

4. Malcolm Stewart

5. Zach Freeberg

6. Nico Izzi

7. Tommy Hahn

8. Trevor Reis

9. Jackson Richardson

10. Michael Horban

250 Heat Two

It was the TLD/Lucas Oil/Red Bull/KTM of Jessy Nelson with the first turn holeshot, and once in the lead, he was never challenged. Rock River/Yamaha’s Alex Martin came out of the start in second with Slayton Racing’s Cole Martinez in a close third. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Chris Alldredge went down in the technical sand section on lap one, but remounted to finish in seventh. Red Bull/KTM’s Justin Hill passed Martinez for third in the early laps and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Tyler Bowers sat in fifth, but not for long as he caught Martinez on lap three and made the pass on lap four. Nelson maintained the lead all the way to the finish as Hill, Martin, and Bowers followed. Motosport.com/Fox/Kawasaki’s Hansen made the pass on Martinez on the final lap, but Rockstar Energy Racing’s Zach Osborne got by both riders in one shot and finished in fifth just behind Bowers.

1. Jessy Nelson

2. Justin Hill

3. Alex Martin

4. Tyler Bowers

5. Zach Osborne

6. Josh Hansen

7. Cole Martinez

8. Aaron Siminoe

9. Brandon Scharer

10. Jake Canada

250 LCQ

Alldredge grabbed a handful of throttle and snared the holeshot with Scott Champion in a close second. 5150 Energy’s Austin Politelli made the pass for third to secure a transfer position, while Aaron Plessinger, who suffered from a bad start, quickly made his way through the pack and earned the last ticket to the main. Alldredge maintained the lead to the checkered flag with Champion, Politelli and Plessinger following in that order.

1. Chris Alldredge

2. Scott Champion

3. Austin Politelli

4. Aaron Plessinger

5. Michael Horban

250 Main Event

Rockstar Energy Racing’s Zach Bell, again, rocketed to another holeshot, but a bobble from the Husky rider sent Alldredge to the lead. Hill made the pass on Alex Martin for third while Stewart and Bell battled for a few sections, with Stewart finally making a pass for second. Stewart passed Alldredge for the lead on lap three and Alldredge had a bobble on lap four, which set him back a few positions. Bowers made a less-than-polite pass on Webb for fifth in a tight right hander and put the Yamaha rider on the ground. Webb remounted after losing several positions and began a furious charge through the pack. Alldredge made another mistake soon thereafter, but this time it was serious and he went down hard on lap six and eventually pulled out of the race. Hill, meanwhile, took control of the lead on his KTM and looked to be on his way to the first win of his career. Unfortunately, Hill went down in the sand trying a unique double jump that no doubt would have saved him a few seconds each lap if executed correctly, but unfortunately a soft spot sent him over the bars. Stewart was quick to take over at the front of the pack, and the GEICO Honda rider would never be challenged as he raced to the first win of his career.

Webb switched on the afterburners and put on a hard charge up to fifth place with six laps to go. Webb eventually caught Bowers and passed him with ease to take over third place, but the Yamaha rider was not content and set his sights on Martin, who ran second. Webb caught Martin with two to go and made a pass on his fellow Yamaha rider on the final lap. Martin held on for third and his first trip to the podium.

Main Event Results

1. Malcolm Stewart

2. Cooper Webb

3. Alex Martin

4. Tyler Bowers

5. Zachary Bell

6. Zach Osborne

7. Aaron Plessinger

8. Joshua Hansen

9. Justin Hill

10. Jessy Nelson

11. Shane Mcelrath

12. Zackery Freeberg

13. Scott Champion

14. Jackson Richardson

15. Cole Martinez

16. Thomas Hahn

17. Austin Politelli

18. Trevor Reis

19. Brandon Scharer

20. Nico Izzi

21. Chris Alldredge

22. Aaron Siminoe

Western Regional 250 Supercross Point Standings

1. Cooper Webb 86/2 wins

2. Tyler Bowers 78

3. Jessy Nelson 71/1

4. Zach Osborne 69

5. Justin Hill 65

6. Malcolm Stewart 64

7. Aaron Plessinger 54

8. Shane McElrath 49

9. Alex Martin 47

10. Josh Hansen 47