2015 San Diego SX | Race Report

San Diego SX
Cooper Webb overcame a huge practice crash to win the San Diego 250 main over Shane McElrath and Tyler Bowers.

2015 San Diego SX | Race Report 


INSTAGRAM: @twmxdotcom
TWITTER: @twmxdotcom
FACEBOOK: TransWorldMoto

By Casey Davis

Photos by Ryne Swanberg

Downtown San Diego was the site for the sixth round of the 2015 Monster Energy Supercross series and Petco Park was host to a Supercross race for the very first time and the racing could’t have been any better. Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Cooper Webb had a major get off during one of the afternoon’s practice sessions and had apparently injured his shoulder. However, it was going to take more than that to knock the wind out of the sails of the points leader. Webb didn’t seem to be riding like his usual self in the heat race because he seemed rather content with his fourth place finish. That was a different story, though, in the main event because the Yamaha ripper surprised everyone by putting on a clinic after hanging back in second behind his new arch rival, Tyler Bowers. Webb made it happen in the end, though, and it was a very well deserved win. When the premier class hit the track, it was the Trey Canard and Ken Roczen show, as the two separated themselves from the rest of the pack and put on quite a showing for the fans. It was Team Honda’s Canard that emerged the victor, but not without a fight from the German.

250 Heat One

Red Bull KTM’s Justin Hill shot out of the gate first and nabbed the first holeshot of he night. Motorsport.com/Fox/Kawasaki’s Josh Hansen crossed the first turn in a close second and passed Hill for lead. Hill passed Hansen back, though, and rode a solid race all the way to the checkers. Geico Honda’s Malcolm Stewart moved into third by the end of lap one and Zach Freeberg followed in a close fourth. On lap two, Stewart passed Hansen for third and AutoTrader.com/Rock River/Yamaha’s Alex Martin made his way around Freeberg for third. Meanwhile, Hill stretched the lead to two seconds over Stewart. TLD/Lucas Oil/Red Bull/KTM’s Jessy Nelson made his way into sixth place with two laps to go, then made an aggressive pass on Freeberg for fifth place. Hill made it all come together and finished in first place with Stewart and Hansen following.

1. Justin Hill
2. Malcolm Stewart
3. Josh Hansen
4. Alex Martin
5. Jessy Nelson
6. Jackson Richardson
7. Austin Politelli
8. Zach Freeberg
9. Aaron Plessinger
10. Jake Canada

250 Heat Two

TLD/Lucas Oil/Red Bull KTM’s Shane McElrath came out with the holeshot and a pair of Rockstar Energy Racing Huskys of Zach Bell and Zach Osborne followed closely. On lap two, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Tyler Bowers made the pass on Bell for third. Meanwhile, Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamahs’s Cooper Webb, who had a bad get off in practice and apparently injured his shoulder, sat in fifth. With two to go, McElrath and Osborne pulled away from the rest of the pack, as they had almost six seconds on third  place. Webb and Bell had a good little battle on the final lap, but Webb got the better of the Husky rider, as he moved into third. McElrath, like Hill in the previous heat, grabbed the holeshot and rode all the way to the checkered flag with no challenges.

1. Shane McElrath
2. Zach Osborne
3. Tyler Bowers
4. Cooper Webb
5. Zach Bell
6. Tommy Hahn
7. Cole Martinez
8. Trevor Reis
9. Brandon Scharer
10. Chris Alldredge

250 LCQ

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Chris Alldredge grabbed the holeshot with Geico Honda’s Matt Bisceglia hot on his heels. Bisceglia passed the Kawi rider momentarily, but Alldredge got back around him for the lead. Ryan Breece in third followed by Michael Horban in a close fourth. Alldredge made pastor lead on Alldredge with two laps to go. Alldredge tries to retaliate, but was unsuccessful and Alldredge rode away to the finish.

1. Matt Bisceglia
2. Chris Alldredge
3. Ryan Breece
4. Michael Horban
5. Kevin Weisbruch
6. Cody Church
7. Kyle Swanson
8. Morgan Burger
9. Austin Ullrich
10. Colton Aeck

250 Main Event

Osborne ripped out of the gate to grab the holeshot with Webb and Bowers in second and third, respectively. Stewart, who was in a great position on the opening lap, went down hard at the end of a tricky rhythm section and retired from the race, visibly shaken. Bowers and Webb both made their way around Osborne for first and second.  McElrath sat in fourth and Hansen in a close fifth. McElrath moved into third on lap two and Bowers began to stretch out a little bit of a lead by putting three seconds between himself and his rival, Webb, on lap four. Nelson, who suffered from a bad start, found himself outside the top 10 just behind Politelli.

At the halfway point, it became apparent that Bowers wasn’t pulling away from Webb anymore and, in fact, Webb began to close up on the Pro Circuit rider. With six laps to go, Webb made the pass for the lead and McElrath did the same, as he moved into second in front of Bowers. Meanwhile, Hansen moved into fourth and the 250 class veteran began to reel in the Arenacross champ to challenge for third place, but couldn’t get close enough before the checkered flag came out. Webb rode an incredible race and to a well-deserved win over over McElrath and Bowers, in that order. It would be McElrath’s first career podium finish.

Main Event Results

1. Cooper Webb
2. Shane McElrath 
3. Tyler Bowers
4. Josh Hansen
5. Alex Martin
6. Zach Osborne
7. Zach Bell
8. Jessy Nelson
9. Tommy Hahn
10. Chris Alldredge
11. Cole Martinez
12. Jackson Richardson
13. Zach Freeberg
14. Aaron Plessinger
15. Matt Bisceglia
16. Austin Politelli
17. Trevor Reis
18. Brandon Scharer
19. Michael Horban
20. Ryan Breece
21. Malcolm Stewart
22. Justin Hill

Monster Energy Supercross 250 Championship
Points Standings (After 6 of 9 rounds):

1. Cooper Webb – 136 pts/4 wins
2. Jessy Nelson – 106 pts/1 win
3. Tyler Bowers – 104 pts
4. Zach Osborne – 102 pts
5. Shane McElrath – 86 pts
6. Aaron Plessinger – 81 pts
7. Justin Hill – 79 pts
8. Josh Hansen – 79 pts
9. Alex Martin – 75 pts
10. Malcolm Stewart – 69 pts