Davalos & Roczen Own ATL | 2014 Atlanta SX Race Report

2014 Atlanta SX Race Report

Monster Energy Supercross visited Atlanta, Georgia, for round eight of the 2014 season, and once again the action on the track was almost unpredictable. The layout built of red clay on the Georgia Dome floor was one of the most unique we have seen this year, as the slower sections, technical jumps, and rutted soil tested even the best racers on the circuit. It would take the right mix of speed and skill to outlast the competition and after a night of racing, the championship standings are much closer than before.

250 East Coast Supercross Class

250 Heat One

Blake Baggett jumped to an early lead on his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki, and the pack filed into order behind the front-runner. The night’s layout included a massive double over what was the entrance to the first turn, and it plagued riders in the tight opening laps. Cole Thompson shorted the leap while running in second place, and although he managed to ride out the impact aboard his Rockstar Energy Racing KTM, his lack of control in the next corner collected a pack of riders. Justin Bogle snuck by the melee to take the vacated second place, but his GEICO Honda teammate Blake Wharton made contact with Thompson and crashed off the track. Wharton managed to regroup after the incident and quickly raced back up to seventh place.

At the front of the field, Baggett began to open a gap over second place Bogle. Although the GEICO Honda racer posted the fastest lap of the race, the early lead built by Baggett was too much for Bogle to close and the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider claimed a convincing victory.

250 Heat One Results
1. Blake Baggett
2. Justin Bogle
3. Jimmy Decotis
4. Alex Martin
5. Cole Thompson
6. Mitch Oldenburg
7. Blake Wharton
8. Gannon Audette
9. Justin Starling
10. AJ Catanzaro

250 Heat Two

Adam Cianciarulo blasted out of the gate and down the long start section to take the start aboard his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki, with fellow rookie Jace Owen close behind on his Factory Metal Works/Club MX Honda. Cianciarulo, who timed fastest in qualifying earlier in the day, proceeded to open a lead over the field but hit the ground in the opening laps. The first crash, caused by Cianciarulo’s slight angle through the whoops, handed the lead to Owen, and Cianciarulo’s woes continued with two laps to go, when he crashed in the track’s other whoop section and dropped further down the order, forcing him to line up for the LCQ. The privateer was quickly caught Martin Davalos, who was turning the fastest laps of the heat race aboard his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki, and from there rode to the win.

250 Heat Two Results
1. Martin Davalos
2. Matt Bisceglia
3. Kyle Cunningham
4. Gavin Faith
5. Matt Lemoine
6. Kyle Peters
7. Jesse Wentland
8. Anthony Rodriguez
9. Vince Frese
10. Levi Kilbarger

250 LCQ

Adam Cianciarulo nabbed another holeshot to start the LCQ, and the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider rode a calm pace throughout the short moto. During a pass through one lane under caution flags, Cianciarulo safely rolled every jump to avoid the chance of a penalty and rode to an unpressured win.

Jace Owen, AJ Catanzaro, and Ryan Zimmer followed Cianciarulo to the finish line. Catanzaro forced his way up the running order from fifth to third, first with a pass on Fredric Noren to take fourth and then by Zimmer for third place.

Jeremy Martin was fifth on the first lap of the LCQ, but a pair of mistakes dropped the Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha racer back in the field. The last mistake caused Martin’s bike to stall and the difficulties while re-firing sent him to the back of the field and out of qualifying position.

250 LCQ Results
1. Adam Cianciarulo
2. Jace Owen
3. AJ Catanzaro
4. Ryan Zimmer

250 Main Event

Martin Davalos was in front as the pack funneled into the first turn, but midway through the curve, Adam Cianciarulo swung around the outside and into the lead. When the two riders flew down the track’s long rhythm lane, Davalos shot to the inside and reclaimed control. The two riders would distance themselves from the field behind them over the following 14 laps.

Factory Metal Works/Club MX’s Vince Friese was third off the start, and one of the many riders who spent the main event fighting for the spot. Anthony Rodriguez came next, and the Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha rider took third place from the privateer on lap two, but a crash just moments later forced the rookie to withdraw for the night. This came just as Blake Wharton closed in for the spot, and the GEICO Honda racer was soon overtaken by teammate Justin Bogle, who held on to the spot at the checkered flag.

Blake Baggett started the main event deep in the field and the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider spent every lap methodically picking his way through the pack. Crafty passes, like the two for one move he made on Jesse Wentland and Vince Friese, put him in fifth on the final lap.

Martin Davalos was untouchable after taking the lead on lap one. He was notably faster than his competition, nearly half second quicker than Adam Cianciarulo on the stopwatch, and ahead by a sizeable distance in the final moments. With the first win of his career in sight, Davalos slowed his pace on the last lap and made a number of mistakes. Still, this was not enough to keep the veteran from taking the victory. Teammate Adam Cianciarulo claimed second place, and Justin Bogle completed the podium in third.

Main Event Results
1. Martin Davalos
2. Adam Cianciarulo
3. Justin Bogle
4. Blake Wharton
5. Blake Baggett
6. Vince Friese
7. Jimmy Decotis
8. Cole Thompson
9. Matt Lemoine
10. Mitch Oldenburg
11. Jesse Wentland
12. Kyle Cunningham
13. AJ Catanzaro
14. Justin Starling
15. Gannon Audette
16. Alex Martin
17. Gavin Faith
18. Jace Owen
19. Ryan Zimmer
20. Anthony Rodriguez
21. Matt Bisceglia
22. Kyle Peters
Monster Energy Supercross 250 East Coast Championship Points Standings (After 2 of 9 rounds):
1. Adam Cianciarulo (47pts/1 win)
2. Martin Davalos (45pts/1 win)
3. Blake Baggett (38pts)
4. Justin Bogle (36pts)
5. Vince Friese (33pts)
6. Blake Wharton (32pts)
7. Cole Thompson (28pts
8. Kyle Cunningham (22pts)
9. Mitchell Oldenburg (22pts)
10. Jimmy Decotis (20pts)