Same Day Again | Wilson & Villopoto Quickest At 2014 Anaheim III SX

Monster Energy Supercross has returned to Southern California for the fifth round of the 2014 season, and the last of three visits to Anaheim. The course built inside Angels Stadium is far different than last week’s race in Oakland, as the track is made of a hard packed soil. Every possible inch of the floor has been used to build what’s been the longest course of the year so far, and lap times are an indication of the extra sections. Riders are faced with two long whoop sections, a multitude of rhythm lanes, and three very fast mostly flat straightaways. With lap times just over the one minute mark, expect a 15 minute main event in the 250 class and a 20 minute main event for the 450 class.

Racing kicks off a bit earlier than normal tonight, with opening ceremonies beginning at 6:30PM, and all of the action will be broadcast live on Fox Sports 1. Check your local listings for more information.

250 Timed Qualifying

Dean Wilson seems determined to erase last week’s Main Event mishap, and the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider notched the fastest time of not only the 250 class, but of the day, with a 1:01.901 lap. Wilson’s strongest areas of the course are the two whoop sections, and it comes as no surprise that his times through these segments are quicker than the competition. Points leader Jason Anderson piloted his Rockstar Energy Racing KTM to a 1:02.871, the second fastest lap of the class. Still fresh from his first podium in Oakland, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Justin Hill claimed third in the order with a 1:03.038 time. Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda’s Cole Seely jumped in behind Anderson in the early moments of the session, and for a time was the fastest on the track, but at the final flag was scored fourth with a 1:03.387. Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha rookie Cooper Webb completed the top five with a 1:03.524.

GEICO Honda’s Zach Osborne was near the top of the charts in the beginning of the session, but slammed into one of the track’s many bowl turns. He left the course on his own, but appeared to be in pain during the long walk back to the tunnel.

250 Timed Qualifying Results

1. Dean Wilson 1:01.901
2. Jason Anderson 1:02.871
3. Justin Hill 1:03.038
4. Cole Seely 1:03.387
5. Cooper Webb 1:03.524
6. Malcolm Stewart 1:03.742
7. Jessy Nelson 1:03.963
8. Jake Canada 1:04.243
9. Zach Osborne 1:04.352
10. Shane McElrath 1:04.946

450 Timed Qualifying

The running order of the 450 class in Timed Qualifying was incredibly close, with the top five riders separated by around a quarter of a second. Ryan Villopoto topped the chart in the final session, as Monster Energy Kawasaki rider put in 1:02.295 lap, Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Justin Barcia hovered somewhere in the top seven for most of the session, but on the final lap jumped to second place with a 1:02.301. Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart and Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen were both at the top of the chart at certain moments of the practice, but Barcia’s time bumped them to third and fourth, respectively. Completing the top-five was Ryan Dungey, who posted a 1:02.560 aboard his Red Bull KTM.

Eli Tomac returned to the racing this weekend, and its as though the GEICO Honda rider has not missed a beat. He was the first to leap through a rhythm section with a triple-quad combination, which many of his competitors began to copy in the final laps of practice. Despite being a question mark after two weekends of brutal crashes, RCH/Soaring Eagle/Suzuki’s Broc Tickle is on tap to race.

450 Timed Qualifying Results

1. Ryan Villopoto 1:02.295
2. Justin Barcia 1:02.301
3. James Stewart 1:02.372
4. Ken Roczen 1:02.503
5. Ryan Dungey 1:02.560
6. Eli Tomac 1:03.023
7. Jake Weimer 1:03.086
8. Broc Tickle 1:03.111
9. Chad Reed 1:03.137
10. Andrew Short 1:03.564