Dungey & Pourcel Top Qualifying | 2014 Glen Helen MX

The 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship is finally underway, with the twelve round series kicking off at the world famous Glen Helen Raceway in San Bernardino, California. This is the first time since 2009 that the tour has stopped at the hilly location and it has immediately regained its status as one of the fastest and roughest circuits in the world. Timed qualifying has just come to a close, as four practice sessions between the 250 and 450 classes set the order for the day’s first motos.

The Glen Helen track is already beginning to get rough…


2014 Glen Helen MX Practice Report

450 Class

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey was the quickest in the 450 Class.

With a heavy prep and loose soil, many assumed the fastest laps of the morning would come in the second sessions, but that was surprisingly not the case. Ryan Dungey leapt to the top of the charts by cutting a 2:13.644 on his Red Bull KTM in the first practice of the day. His teammate Ken Roczen would find his own way around the course during the second practice with a 2:13.800 lap, putting him in second on the standings. Trey Canard consistently turned laps in the 2:14 range on his Team Honda Muscle Milk ride, with his best, a 2:14.032, good enough for third. Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart was also steady in both outings and grabbed fourth with a 2:14.152. The first practice was Justin Barcia’s best and the 2:14.228 carded by the Team Honda Muscle Milk rider put him fifth overall.

1. Ryan Dungey 2:13.644
2. Ken Roczen 2:13.800
3. Trey Canard 2:14.032
4. James Stewart 2:14.152
5. Justin Barcia 2:14.228
6. Josh Grant 2:14.552
7. Andrew Short 2:16.159
8. Jake Weimer 2:16.335
9. Brett Metcalfe 2:16.434
10. Chad Reed 2:16.662

250 Class

Yamaha’s Christophe Pourcel topped the charts in the 250 Class.

Today marks Christophe Pourcel’s return to competition in the United States and the former MX2 World Champion has shown the same speed that nearly netted him American championships in 2009 and 2010. Now aboard a Valli Motorsports Yamaha, the Frenchman put his best lap of the morning, a 2:15.518, during the waning moments of practice session one. Rockstar Energy Racing KTM’s Jason Anderson took second place on the charts with a 2:16.076, while Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha teammates Jeremy Martin and Cooper Webb battled for third place. Martin would ultimately net third with a 2:16.201, besting Webb’s time of 2:16.585 by .384 seconds. Former 250 National champion Dean Wilson claimed fifth on the morning by piloting his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki to a 2:16.988 lap in session two.

1. Christophe Pourcel 2:15.518
2. Jason Anderon 2:16.076
3. Jeremy Martin 2:16.201
4. Cooper Webb 2:16.585
5. Dean Wilson 2:16.988
6. Zach Osborne 2:18.216
7. Justin Hill 2:18.422
8. Jessy Nelson 2:18.744
9. Blake Baggett 2:18.924
10. Cole Seely 2:19.229