Epicenter of Speed: Musquin and Villopoto Claim Wins at Daytona Supercross

The historic Daytona Supercross beckoned riders of the Monster Energy Supercross series to the brutal and taxing circuit that is constructed each spring on the super-speedway’s infield. Truck fulls of sand and clay were built to Ricky Carmichael’s specifications and the end result was an endlessly rough race track that tested the skills of the world’s best racers. Winning Daytona is a landmark for every racer, no matter their chosen discipline, and on a pleasant March night, Ryan Villopoto and Marvin Musquin added their names to the record books. The wins are important for both racers; Daytona was Villopoto’s fifth victory of the 2013 season and turned the 450 class championship to his favor, while Musquin’s start-to-finish run to the checkered flag marked the the first of his American Supercross career.

250 Supercross Heat Race One

Kyle Peters bolted out of the gate aboard his Peters Auto Mall Honda and rounded the tight 90-degree left-hand turn at the head of the pack. The privateer would have plenty of fast company in Myplash/Metal Mulisha/Rockstar/Star Racing Yamaha rookie Jeremy Martin. While Martin and Peters began to duel, the newly appointed point leader Wil Hahn closed in and overtook both riders for the lead. With that, the GEICO Honda rider would streak away to an uncontested heat race win.

Although Hahn was out front and pulling away from the pack, there were still three riders battling for the runner-up position; the aforementioned Peters and Martin and then Zach Bell. Being caught up in the moment would be a critical error for Peters and Martin, as it allowed Bell to reel in both and get around them by using different line choices. Martin continued relentlessly to get by Peters, by the privateer held on to take the spot.


1. 19 William Hahn (Decatur, TX Honda CRF 250)
2. 167 Zachary Bell (Cairo, GA Honda CRF 250)
3. 613 James Decotis (Peabody, MA Honda CRF 250)
4. 50 Kyle Peters (Greensboro, NC Honda CRF 250)
5. 77 Jeremy Martin (Millville, MN Yamaha YZ250F)
6. 71 Zackery Freeberg R(iverview, FL Honda CRF 250)
7. 87 Lance Vincent (Youngsville, LA KTM 250 SX-F)
8. 248 Mitchell Oldenburg (Alvord, TX Honda CRF 250)
9. 81 Shawn Rife (Mechanicsburg, OH Honda CRF 250)

250 Supercross Heat Race Two

Stalon Racing’s Vince Friese timed the start perfectly and grabbed the holeshot, but within moments, Dean Wilson pulled in. Friese would hold off the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider off for nearly the entire lap, but as they entered homestretch, Wilson clicked up a gear, wheelied over a tabletop, and stole the position at the finish line. Wilson wasted no time stretching out his lead, thanks to a long whoop section that the lanky rider blew through with ease. Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin would eventually reel Wilson in, but the gap was too much to overcome in such a short time and Wilson claimed the heat race win.


1. 15 Dean Wilson (Wesley Chapel, FL Kawasaki KX 250F)
2. 25 Marvin Musquin (Corona, CA KTM 250 SX-F)
3. 13 Blake Wharton (Pilot Point, TX Suzuki RM-Z250)
4. 317 Justin Hill (Yoncalla, OR Kawasaki KX 250F)
5. 42 Vince Friese (Cape Girardeau, MO Honda CRF 250)
6. 48 Cole Thompson (Brigden, Canada Honda CRF 250)
7. 69 Peter Larsen (Menifee, CA Yamaha YZ250F)
8. 67 Gavin Faith (Fort Dodge, IA Honda CRF 250)
9. 556 Brady Kiesel (Fort Worth, TX Yamaha YZ250F)

250 Supercross LCQ

Daniel Herrlein avoided the first-turn mayhem and took the early lead in the 250 LCQ. The Honda mounted privateer paced the field without issue as AJ Catanzaro, Levi Killbarger, and Ricky Renner jostled for transfer positions. Catanzaro did away with the Kilbarger in the opening lap and set off after the leader, but was unable to upset Herrlein’s wire-to-wire win.


1. 393 Daniel Herrlein (Bethesda, OH Honda CRF 250)
2. 73 AJ Catanzaro (Portland, CT Kawasaki KX 250F)

250 Supercross Main Event

Marvin Musquin timed the gate perfectly to claim the holeshot and early lead. Musquin’s season had been mired by mid-pack starts, but this quick reaction made his night’s work much easier. Zach Bell and Dean Wilson were in a close second and third to Musquin, and the two made contact in an off-camber left hand turn. The contact was enough to put Bell on the ground and this allowed Wilson to take the spot.

Musquin’s time on the European Grand Prix circuits paid off and the Frenchman was at home on the technical Daytona course. He flowed through the rutted turns and chopped jump faces with relative ease, which allowed him to pull away from Wilson. A quick batch of mistakes dropped the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider back a bit and into the sights of new his rival, Wil Hahn. Hahn ran down the Kawasaki rider in a rhythm section and then claimed the second place spot. Wilson’s issues would continue when Jeremy Martin pulled even with him and shook off a block pass attempt to take third.

Musquin’s start was the vital component to his main event. He was across the threshold of the gate before any of his fellow racers and never allowed any to make a bid for the lead. The always-excited KTM racer celebrated his win with a heel-clicker over the finish line and blew kisses into the crowd. Hahn’s runner-up ride moved him five points ahead of Wilson in the overall point standings. Jeremy Martin rounded off the podium, the first podium finish of his career.

Main Event
1. Marvin Musquin
2. Wil Hahn
3. Jeremy Martin
4. Dean Wilson
5. Blake Wharton
6. Justin Hill
7. Kyle Peters
8. Zack Freeburg
9. Cole Thompson
10. Vince Friese
11. Mitchell Oldenburg
12. Jimmy Decotis
13. PJ Larsen
14. AJ Catanzaro
15. Lance Vincent
16. Brady Kiesel
17. Daniel Herrlein
18. Zach Bell
19. Gavin Faith
20. Shawn Rife
250 Class Championship Points Standings (After 4 of 9 rounds)
1. Wil Hahn (92pts/2 wins)
2. Dean Wilson (87pts/1 win)
3. Marvin Musquin (78pts/1 win)
4. Blake Wharton (76)
5. Jeremy Martin (52)
6. Justin Hill (51)
7. Vince Friese (50)
8. Kyle Peters (45)
9. Jimmy Decotis (43)
10. Gavin Faith (40)