Hot In Here: Hahn And Villopoto Shake-Up The Championships In St. Louis

Photos by Jeff Kardas

The Monster Energy Supercross Championship made its annual stop in the Gateway to the West, St. Louis, MO, for round nine of the 2013 season. Last week in Atlanta, those in attendance witnessed Wil Hahn’s confidence go through the roof, as the Geico Honda rider claimed the first main event win of his career, and in St. Louis, Hahn added another victory tally to his name, as he ran a flag-to-flag win over Dean Wilson and stole the points lead from the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider.

In the 450 class, James Stewart seemed destined to repeat his own ATL performance, but a well-timed and executed charge by Ryan Villopoto swayed the control to the Monster Energy Kawasaki racer’s favor. Villopoto would take the win and narrow down Davi Millsaps’ point margin in the 450 championship standings.

250 East Coast Supercross Class

250 Supercross Heat Race One

Zach Bell claimed yet another holeshot aboard his Geico Honda CRF250, and the rookie rider sped off with the lead ahead of the stacked and experienced field. Turns later, veteran Blake Wharton would slide beneath Bell to steal the position. Wharton has had great success in St. Louis; it was the site of his first Supercross main event win, and he motored away to take the first heat race win of the night.

Behind Wharton, the rookie class of Bell, Justin Hill, and Jeremy Martin fought for the runner-up spot. Martin, who had timed well in the day’s qualifying session, and Hill, both would get by Bell when the Honda rider crashed in the bowl turn just before the finish line and dropped out of the top-10. Marvin Musquin suffered from an opening lap crash, and the Red Bull KTM racer quickly clawed back to eighth place and a spot in the main event.


1. Blake Wharton (Suz)
2. Justin Hill (Kaw)
3. Jeremy Martin (Yam)
4. Shawn Rife (Hon)
5. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
6. Zack Freeburg (Hon)
7. Mitchell Oldenburg (Hon)
8. Levi Kilbarger (Hon)
9. PJ Larsen (Yam)

250 Supercross Heat Two

Munn Racing’s Lance Vincent was the first to the stripe in the second heat race of the night, and had Wil Hahn close in tow. The race would be quickly interrupted, however, as Vincent’s Munn Racing teammate Todd Krieg was down and out in the bowl turn just after the whoops. This would bring a red flag to the track and the field headed back behind the gate for a second go.

Vincent again grabbed the lead in the second start, and again Hahn was in a close second place. Dean Wilson mounted a charge in the opening lap and climbed from third to overtake the lead as the pack hit the finish line, and would go on to take the heat race win.


1. Dean Wilson (Kaw)
2. Wil Hahn (Hon)
3. Vince Friese (Hon)
4. Lance Vincent (KTM)
5. Daniel Herrlein (Hon)
6. Jimmy Decotis (Hon)
7. AJ Catanzaro (Kaw)
8. Cole Thompson (Hon)
9. Kyle Hussey (Kaw)

250 LCQ

A late-race crash and stall knocked Zach Bell out of a transfer spot and into the LCQ, but the rookie racer appeared unfazed by the required extra laps. His Geico Honda was once again the first bike to the odd left-hand turn and he raced away to an uncontested win over second place finisher Gavin Faith.


1. Zach Bell
2. Gavin Faith

250 Main Event

The start to the 250 main event was oddly similar to the previous week’s main in Atlanta, as Wil Hahn once again claimed the holeshot and Dean Wilson found himself buried in the pack. Hahn wasted no time in distancing himself from the other riders, but his efforts were not enough to outrun the 15 of Wilson. In just moments, Wilson worked his way through the talented pack of Vincent, Friese, and Wharton, and then was closing on the Geico Honda. Wilson’s speed through the whoops allowed him to close every lap on Hahn, but the Honda rider would ease pull away in other areas of the layout. A look at the timing charts showed that Wilson was in fact the quicker of the two, but his “go for broke” passes in the final moments would be his undoing. Hahn noticed that Wilson was squaring the corners of the track in efforts to ride across the leader’s racing line, and every time Wilson would unleash an attempted block pass, Hahn would slow or stop early, allow Wilson to throw the back end, and then dive beneath the Kawasaki rider and retake the lead. These tactics would end up costing Wilson valuable time and in the final lap, it was evident that Hahn was on his was to claiming the second straight main event of the season and his career. The win in St. Louis also swayed the championship standings, as Hahn overtakes the championship by a mere point.

Main Event
1. Wil Hahn
2. Dean Wilson
3. Blake Wharton
4. Marvin Musquin
5. Jeremy Martin
6. Vince Friese
7. Jimmy Decotis
8. Cole Thompson
9. Zach Bell
10. PJ Larsen
11. Gavin Faith
12. Zach Freeburg
13. AJ Catanzaro
14. Kyle Hussey
15. Mitchell Oldenburg
16. Justin Hill
17. Levi Kilbarger
18. Daniel Herrlein
19. Lance Vincent
20. Shawn Rife
250 Class Championship Points Standings (After 3 of 9 rounds)
1. Wil Hahn (70pts/2 winas)
2. Dean Wilson (69pts/1 win)
3. Blake Wharton (60)
4. Marvin Musquin (53)
5. Vince Friese (39)
6. Gavin Faith (38)
7. Justin Hill (36)
8. Jimmy Decotis (34)
9. Jeremy Martin (32)
10. Kyle Peters (31)