Kawasaki Crush | Wilson & Villopoto Top Timed Qualifying At 2014 Oakland SX

The Monster Energy Supercross Series moved up the California coast to Oakland for the fourth round of the 2014 season. O.co Coliseum’s large floor allowed the track builders to make a long, challenging course that offers riders with plenty of options. The move north brings new soil into the mix, and the dirt has developed ruts in nearly every corner and in some jump faces. Since the stadium is seated by the bay, a damp chill hangs over the stadium and will bring moisture out of the surface once the sun goes down.

Timed qualifying has just concluded, and a handful of riders have the track dialed in. Only four total were able to dip into the 54-second lap time range and set the pace heading into tonight’s action. The race will be broadcast live on Fox Sports 1 beginning at 7:30PM Pacific Standard Time. Check your local listings for more.

250 Timed Qualifying

Dean Wilson and Jason Anderson fought through the final practice for the fastest lap time of the 250 class, and the two raced until the final flag. Anderson’s tactic of going right to the front of the pack helped the Rockstar Energy Racing KTM rider on the clock until midway through the session, when Wilson dropped the hammer and took the spot. The long whoop section is where the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider was best, as his long legs helped keep the bike straight over the dozen or so rollers. Anderson reclaimed the top spot shortly after, but a flawless final lap allowed Wilson to take the spot for good.

The technical rhythm lanes suited Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Justin Hill, who nabbed third place on the charts over Cooper Webb. The final practice session was not the best for the Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha rookie, who suffered a crash just corners from the finish. Webb stumbled over to the Asterisk Medical Unit cart, but he ultimately regrouped and walked out on his own. Newly appointed point leader Cole Seely, who rounded up out the top-five on his Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda.

250 Timed Qualifying Results

1. Dean Wilson 54.613
2. Jason Anderson 54.770
3. Justin Hill 56.097
4. Cooper Webb 56.624
5. Cole Seely 56.624

450 Timed Qualifying

The layout of the Oakland track, with its short run-ins to jumps, rutted corners, and big rhythm options, plays into the favor of the 450 class and the top riders are running a close pace. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto charted the fastest lap of the day, a 54.830, late in the final session. His speed through the whoop section has been key and allowed him to edge Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart by .127 seconds. Determined to prove that Phoenix was not a fluke, JGRMX/Toyota/NFab/Yamaha’s Justin Brayton was third in the charts, besting Red Bull KTM teammates Ken Roczen and Ryan Dungey by just under a half a second.

450 Timed Qualifying Results

1. Ryan Villopoto 54.830
2. James Stewart 54.957
3. Justin Brayton 55.155
4. Ken Roczen 55.174
5. Ryan Dungey 55.301