Millsaps and Tomac Find Their Form In San Diego

By Jennifer Kelchner

Round six of the 2013 Monster Energy Supercross Series, at San Diego’s Qualcomm Stadium, marked the last race of the West Coast tour before sending the riders on an eight-week mission across the US to the East Coast, and Rockstar Energy Racing’s Davi Millsaps and Geico Honda’s Eli Tomac scored wins in the 450 and 250 classes, respectively. For series-points leader Millsaps, it was his second win of the season and helped  further extend his championship points lead over Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey. Tomac, meanwhile, broke Ken Roczen’s two-race win streak, as he earned his fourth victory of the series. Rain hammered the San Diego area on Friday, but the sun finally made an appearance late in the afternoon on Saturday, drying out most of the track that was dampened from the previous day’s showers. This morning began, like all other race days, with the vibrations of revved up dirt bikes as first practice hit the track. Engines echoed through the stadium sending the scent of sweet, cindery fumes into the stands. For riders and fans alike, these details trigger nostalgic emotions towards the competition that will ensue and the anticipation of who the victors will be.

250 West Coast Supercross

250 Heat One

Geico Honda’s Eli Tomac was hot off the line in heat one. He appeared to have the holeshot, but Star Racing Yamaha’s Kyle Cunningham took the inside line and managed to edge him out. Tomac fell back into 3rd place behind J-Star’s KTM rider Joey Savatgy but quickly regained 2nd place. Cunningham led the race with Tomac nipping at his boot-heels, aggressively trying to make a pass for first but failed to do so before the checkered flag was waved. Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil Honda’s Cole Seely collided with Scott Champion as he entered the whoop section, putting him in 12th place and sending him to the LCQ.

1. Kyle Cunningham
2. Eli Tomac
3. Joey Savatgy
4. Austin Politelli
5. Malcolm Stewart
6. Travis Baker
7. Jean Ramos
8. Aaron Siminoe
9. Chad Gores

250 Heat Two

Troy Lee Design’s Christian Craig nabbed the holeshot of heat two with Rockstar Energy’s Jason Anderson trailing close behind and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos quickly filing into third. Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen, who looked shaky in qualifying practice, looked just as uncomfortable in heat race two. He battled for position with Jason Anderson, but could not make a pass happen. Halfway through the race, Davalos made a pass through the whoop section and took off with the number one position, leading Jason Anderson in second and Christian Craig in third over the finish line. Jessy Nelson went down in the first turn and failed to make the cut, joining his teammate Cole Seely in the LCQ.

1. Martin Davalos
2. Jason Anderson
3. Christian Craig
4. Ken Roczen
5. Zach Osborne
6. Tyla Rattray
7. Chris Plouffe
8. Travis Bright
9. Josh Cachia


Cole Seely and Jessy Nelson sailed through the holeshot and into the first rhythm section side-by-side. Seely passed Nelson and started to build a substantial gap between himself and Tyler Bereman, who maneuvered around for second, leaving Nelson in an undesirable third place. Nelson kept up the pace and was able to skim past Beremen in the whoop section, reclaiming second before the final lap concluded.

1. Cole Seely
2. Jesse Nelson

250 Main Event

As the gates dropped for the 250 Main Event, Eli Tomac, once again, seemed to have the hole shot in his pocket. As he charged down the start straight, Jason Anderson managed to slice through the pack and gained the glory leaving Tomac in his wake and Roczen in a distant third. Anderson led the first 4 laps at a rapid pace with reigning champ Tomac and points leader Rozcen close behind. He eventually gave way to Tomac who appeared wild and determined to get the early lead for a much-needed win. Once in front, Tomac raged through the track like a boss, quickly gapping the other riders. Roczen eventually passed Anderson through the whoops, putting him back into position for 2nd. With a few laps remaining, Tomac had a 5 second lead over the young, German phenomenon. An amazing charge by K-Roc put him side by side with Tomac who barely edged him out by .2 seconds as the checkered flag was waved.


1. Eli Tomac
2. Ken Roczen
3. Jason Anderson
4. Austin Politelli
5. Kyle Cunningham
6. Travis Baker
7. Zach Osborne
8. Tyla Rattray
9. Martin Davalos
10. Jessy Nelson
11. Joey Savatgy
12. Josh Cachia
13. Christian Craig
14. Jean Ramos
15. Cole Seely
16. Aaron Siminoe
17. Chad Gores
18. Travis Bright
19. Malcom Stewart
20. Chris Plouffe

Top 5 Lap Times
1. Eli Tomac 46.322
2. Ken Roczen 47.031
3. Martin Davalos 47.939
4. Jason Anderson 48.021
5. Zack Osborne 48.055

250 West Coast Championship Point Standings (After 6 of 9 rounds)
1. Ken Roczen (138/ 2 wins)
2. Eli Tomac (121/ 4 wins)
3. Cole Seely (95)
4. Jason Anderson (88)
5. Kyle Cunningham (83)
6. Martin Davalos (82)
7. Zack Osborne (82)
8. Joey Savatgy (62)
9. Christian Craig (62)
10. Jessy Nelson (60)