One Streak Ends And Another Begins In Oakland

450 Supercross Championship

Heat One

Justin Brayton led the way in the first 450 heat race, but series points leader Davi Millsaps charged past quickly and was never headed at the front of the pack. Brayton had his hands full with Ryan Dungey and Trey Canard and did an admirable job of fending off their repeated attacks, but the JGR Yamaha rider would eventually drop back into the pack. Dungey put on a tremendous charge that led him to Millsaps’ rear wheel, but time ran out before he could mount a serious challenge for the lead. Canard finished inches behind in third, while Justin Barcia came home fourth, quite a ways back.

1. Davi Millsaps (Suz)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. Trey Canard (Hon)
4. Justin Barcia (Hon)
5. Josh Grant (Hon)
6. Justin Brayton (Yam)
7. Andrew Short (Hon)
8. Matt Lemoine (Kaw)
9. Vince Friese (Hon)

450 Heat Two

Ryan Villopoto grabbed the holeshot at the start of the second 450 heat race and ran away with a solid victory. Behind him, Mike Alessi held second early on, but James Stewart sliced through the field after and average start and took over the runner-up position just before the halfway point. Stewart was unable to close the gap on the champion and finished a solid second, comfortably ahead of Alessi, Matt Goerke, Kyle Chisholm and Chad Reed, who was mired at the start.

1. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)
2. James Stewart (Suz)
3. Mike Alessi (Suz)
4. Matt Goerke (KTM)
5. Kyle Chisholm (Yam)
6. Chad Reed (Hon)
7. Bob Kiniry (Yam)
8. Les Smith (KTM)
9. Cedric Soubeyas (Hon)


Jimmy Albertson enjoyed the early lead in the LCQ, but he was unable to fend off the charges of RCH Suzuki’s Broc Tickle, who stole the lead on lap three and went on to the win. Albertson was pressured momentarily by Kyle Partridge, but the Las Vegas native went down on the last lap and gave him plenty of breathing room.

1. Broc Tickle (Suz)
2. Jimmy Albertson (Hon)

Main Event

Villopoto was quickest through turn one and led the way, with Brayton and the rest in hot pursuit. A huge pileup in the second corner after the whoops claimed Reed, Barcia, Canard, Stewart and more.

Millsaps worked past Brayton on the fourth lap, but Villopoto already enjoyed a seven-second lead and was well on his way to a runaway win.

By the halfway point, Dungey moved into contention after a mediocre start by passing first Alessi, then Brayton for third. In the pass, Dungey made contact with Brayton that caused the Yamaha rider to crash, and Brayton didn’t remount until his was in 10th.

Up front, Villopoto rode a flawless race and crossed the finish line with a healthy nine-second lead over Millsaps, who retains the red plate and series points lead. Dungey equaled his best finish of the season with third, while Canard charged hard throughout the entire race and ended up fourth, in spite of hitting the ground multiple times. Mike Alessi crossed the finish line alone in fifth, while Andrew Short finished an impressive sixth aboard his new privateer Honda CRF450R.

1. Ryan Villopoto
2. Davi Millsaps
3. Ryan Dungey
4. Trey Canard
5. Mike Alessi
6. Andrew Short
7. Matt Georke
8. Broc Tickle
9. Vince Friese
10. Justin Brayton
11. Jimmy Alberston
12. Chad Reed
13. Kyle Chisholm
14. Les Smith
15. Robert Kiniry
16. Josh Grant
17. Cedric Soubeyras
18. Matt Lemoine
19. James Stewart
20. Justin Barcia
450 Class Championship Points Standings (After 4 of 17 rounds)
1. Davi Millsaps (85pts/1 win)
2. Trey Canard (78)
3. Ryan Villopoto (77/2)
4. Ryan Dungey (68)
5. Chad Reed (65)
6. Andrew Short (56)
7. Jake Weimer (47)
8. Justin Brayton (42)
9. Justin Barcia (41)
10. Matt Georke (39)

Top Lap Times
1. Ryan Villopoto 54.995
2. Ryan Dungey 56.136
3. Davi Millsaps 56.223
4. Trey Canard 56.478
5. Chad Reed 56.720