Race Report – Anaheim 2 SX

A sold-out crowd packed the house at Angel Stadium at round four of the Monster Energy Supercross Series, and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto became the first two-time winner in the Supercross class. In doing so, the defending Supercross Champion took control of the series points lead, leapfrogging past Chad Reed and Ryan Dungey, who shared possession of the red numberplate entering the fifth round of the series. In the Western Regional Supercross Lites class, Geico Honda’s Eli Tomac earned his third win in a row in convincing fashion and pulled further away in the championship point standings.


Kawasaki privateer Bryce Huffman grabbed the holeshot at the start of Lites heat one and led the field for almost two complete laps before dropping off the pace. Wilson worked through the field quickly after a seventh-place start and took over control of the lead on short order, but as the race wore down Ryan Sipes ran him down and shadowed him across the finish line. Davalos was a distant third.


1. Dean Wilson (Kaw)

2. Ryan Sipes (Yam)

3. Martin Davalos (Suz)

4. Vince Freise (Hon)

5. Ryan Marmont (KTM)

6. Killy Rusk (Hon)

7. Topher Ingalls (Hon)

8. Jean Ramos (Hon)

9. Matt Moss (KTM)



KTM Red Bull’s Marvin Musquin rocketed out of the gate with the holeshot in heat two and controlled much of the race. Geico Honda’s Eli Tomac patiently stalked Musquin throughout the race and eventually found his way past in the final laps, then stretched out a modest, yet solid lead. Behind Musquin, fast qualifier Nico Izzi held control of third until the final lap, when a hard-charging Cole Seely worked his way past after a couple of wild pass attempts.


1. Eli Tomac (Hon)

2. Marvin Musquin (KTM)

3. Cole Seely (Hon)

4. Nico Izzi (Yam)

5. Michael Leib (Hon)

6. Billy Laninovich (Hon)

7. Bruce Rutherford (Hon)

8. Gavin Faith (Hon)

9. Jason Anderson (Suz)



Troy Lee Honda’s Travis Baker took the win in the Lites LCQ aboard his pink Eric Gass-tuned Honda CRF250R. Gareth Swanepoel was a close second, barely holding off a hard-charging Max Anstie. Nick Paluzzi was a lone fourth at the checkered flag.


1. Travis Baker (Hon)

2. Gareth Swanepoel (Yam)


Cole Seely grabbed the holeshot at the start of the 15-lap main event and led Eli Tomac and Marvin Musquin in the early laps. Seely looked strong and confident as he led, but slid out as he crossed over the start straight at the start of lap four. Tomac raced into the lead, but Seely picked his bike up quick enough to maintain second over Musquin, who led Izzi and Wilson.

Wilson forced his way past Izzi and into fourth on the fifth lap, then set his sights on Musquin. Though the Scotsman would close to Musquin’s rear fender at times, the former MX2 World Champion would hold onto the position to the checkered flag. Up front, Tomac rode a calm, cool, and collected race and collected his third win of the season with five seconds to spare over Seely, who rode great after his early mishap.

Overall1. Eli Tomac (Hon)
2. Cole Seely (Hon)
3. Marvin Musquin (KTM)
4. Dean Wilson (Kaw)
5. Nico Izzi (Yam)
6. Michael Leib (Hon)
7. Matt Moss (KTM)
8. Vince Freise (Hon)
9. Travis Baker (Hon)
10. Marton Davalos (Suz)
11. Ryan Sipes (Yam)
12. Killy Rusk (Hon)
13. Billy Laninovich (Hon)
14. Bruce Rutherford (Hon)
15. Gareth Swanepoel (Yam)
16. Jean Ramos (Hon)
17. Ryan Marmont (KTM)
18. Topher Ingalls (Hon)
19. Gavin Faith (Hon)
20. Jason Anderson (Suz)
250 Class West Coast Championship Standings (After 5 of 8 rounds) 
1. Eli Tomac (113/3 wins)
2. Dean Wilson (91/1)
3. Marvin Musquin (84)
4. Cole Seely (79/1)
5. Zach Osborne (67)
6. Nico Izzi (62)
7. Tyla Rattray (60)
8. Jason Anderson (54)
9. Matt Moss/Ryan Sipes (53)


1. Eli Tomac 55.175
2. Cole Seely 55.239
3. Dean Wilson 56.353
4. Marvin Musquin 56.677
5. Nico Izzi 56.875