Race Report: Anaheim I 2012

words by Antonovich

photos by Lutes and Kinman

After months of anticipation and speculation, the wait is finally over. The Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series picked up right where it left off last May with all the theatrics and excitement that one would expect from a championship that grows in prestige with each passing year. Ryan Villopoto extended his win streak in to a second season as he lead a green to checkered main event over the deepest field of riders in recent memory. In the Lites Class, Southern California native Cole Seely added another victory to his growing resume. The action did not stop there, as many races were decided in the final feet of track. Read on to learn more about what went on at Anaheim I.

Lites Qualifying

Heat One

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Tyla Rattray tore off with the early lead and was pursued by Gieco Powersports Honda rider Wil Hahn, but the South African’s lead was short lived after Hahn showed him a wheel and stole the position. Hahn would set the pace for the rest of the qualifying heat without pressure and claimed a victory in his first Supercross race in nearly two years. Hahn’s teammate, Eli Tomac was not as fortunate. Tomac tangled with another rider off the line and went down, but charged back from twentieth position to seventh by the final lap before an issue forced him to push his bike off the circuit.

Heat One Results
1. Wil Hahn
2. Tyla Rattray
3. Marvin Musquin
4. Cole Seely
5. Travis Baker
6. Jackson Richardson
7. Vince Friese
8. Max Anstie
9. Billy Laninovich


Heat Two

J-Star KTM’s replacement rider, Ryan Marmont, would claim the second holeshot of the evening, but Rockstar Suzuki rider Martin Davalos made short work of the Australian and tore off with the lead. Davalos would go on to win the sprint, but it was not without pressure from Dean Wilson. As the laps clicked off, the Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki pilot chipped away at the gap between the two, passed Marmont, and finished just .124 seconds behind Davalos at the final flag.

Heat Two Results
1. Martin Davalos
2. Dean Wilson
3. Nico Izzi
4. Zach Osborne
5. Matt Moss
6. Teddy Maier
7. Jason Anderson
8. Christian Craig
9. Ryan Marmont



After an eventful heat race that netted him a last place finish, Eli Tomac led the Lites LCQ wire to wire, unchallenged for the full four laps. While the Honda rider took advantage of the open track that lay ahead, the fight for the transfer position raged on between Star/Valli/Rockstar Energy/Yamaha teammates Ryan Sipes and Garreth Swanepoel and privateer Michael Leib. Leib would finish between Sipes and Swanepoel, but would be one spot shy of making the main event.

LCQ Results
1. Eli Tomac
2. Ryan Sipes


Lites Main Event

Vince Friese and Tyla Rattray slid around the first turn side by side in front of the other eighteen racers, which set the stage for the fifteen laps of battle. While the two felt each other out, with Dean Wilson also in tow, Cole Seely snaked his way past all three and took command. Seely checked out instantly and never felt pressure from the Pro Circuit teammates, as the two lost sight of Seely as their own personal race took place. For a time, Wilson posted quicker laps than second place Rattray, but was never able to make a pass of his own.

Eli Tomac carried his momentum from the LCQ in to the main event, and overcame yet another abysmal start to finish in third position. On the final lap, Tomac was within striking distance of Wilson and pressured him in to a mistake, which in turn handed third to the Honda rider. Wilson would remount to claim the sixth spot after his off track excursion.

1. Cole Seely
2. Tyla Rattray
3. Eli Tomac
4. Marvin Musquin
5. Ryan Sipes
6. Dean Wilson
7. Jason Anderson
8. Wil Hahn
9. Zach Osborne
10. Travis Baker
11. Matt Moss
12. Nico Izzi
13. Teddy Maier
14. Billy Laninovich
15. Vince Friese
16. Max Anstie
17. Ryan Marmont
18. Jackson Richardson
19. Martin Davalos
20. Christian Craig
250 Class West Coast Championship Standings (After 1 of 7 rounds)

1. Cole Seely (25pts/1 win)*
2. Tyla Rattray (22pts)
3. Eli Tomac (20pts)
4. Marvin Musquin (18pts)
5. Ryan Sipes (16pts)
6. Dean Wilson (15pts)
7. Jason Anderson (14pts)
8. Wil Hahn (13pts)
9. Zach Osborne (12pts)
10. Travis Baker (11pts)

Top Lap Times
1. Eli Tomac 1:01.359
2. Cole Seely 1:01.847
3. Dean Wilson 1:02.041
4. Marvin Musquin 1:02.127
5. Wil Hahn 1:02.186