Race Report: Indianapolis SX 2012

By Brendan Lutes
Photos by Chris Kinman
The 10th round of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series concluded tonight inside Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana, with Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto taking home his third consecutive win in Indy and his sixth win of the season. With the victory, Villopoto also extended his points lead. As for his main competition, last week’s winner JGR/Toyota/Yamaha’s James Stewart crashed out of contention in his heat race.
In the Lites class, Rockstar Suzuki’s Blake Wharton managed to stop Geico Honda’s Justin Barcia from taking home his fifth win in a row. For Wharton, the win came in a wild main event that saw a red flag wave followed by the first-ever staggered start. The win marked Wharton’s second career Lites class victory.

The holeshot of the first race of the night went to Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Darryn Durham followed by Babbits/Monster Energy/Kawasaki’s Tyler Bowers and MotoConcept’s Jake Canada. As the laps continued, Durham began to open up a comfortable lead while Canada managed to work his way around Bowers to take over second. Meanwhile, Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen was busy working his way up towards the front and on the third lap managed to work his way around both Bowers and Canada. From there, Roczen set his sights on Durham up front.
With two laps remaining, Roczen began to pressure Durham for first, diving inside and out in an attempt to make a pass stick. On the last lap, Roczen made a pass on Durham, but was quickly re-passed by the Kawasaki rider one turn later. From there, Durham held onto the lead, taking the win ahead of the German racer. Finishing third was Canada followed by Bowers and Kawasaki-mounted Sean Rife.

1. Darryn Durham (Kaw)
2. Ken Roczen (KTM)
3. Jake Canada (Hon)
4. Tyler Bowers (Kaw)
5. Sean Rife (Kaw)
6. Blake Baggett (Kaw)
7. A Pellegrini (Suz)
8. Kyle Cunningham (Yam)
9. Kyle Peters (Yam)

The holeshot for heat two went to Rockstar Suzuki’s Blake Wharton followed by Geico Honda teammates Justin Barcia, Justin Bogle, and JDR/J-Star/KTM’s Malcolm Stewart. Unfortunately, though, Stewart went down dropping back to last before pulling off on the first lap. On the second lap, Barcia muscled his way around Wharton to take over the lead. After that, Barcia began to open up a slight lead while Bogle started to pressure Wharton for second.
On the final lap things settled down as Barcia motored away for the win followed by Wharton and Bogle—the top there were way out front from fourth. When the checkered flag waved, Barcia took the win followed by Wharton, Bogle, and Lemoine.

1. Justin Barcia (Hon)
2. Blake Wharton (Suz)
3. Justin Bogle (Hon)
4. Matt Lemoine (Kaw)
5. Les Smith (KTM)
6. Alex Martin (Hon)
7. Sean Sewell (KTM)
8. Brad Ripple (Hon)
9. PJ Larsen (KTM)

The holeshot went to MotoConcept’s Tommy Weeck followed by KTM-mounted Kelly Smith. As the laps continued, Weeck held onto the lead with Smith in second. Behind the top, two, JDR/J-Star/KTM’s Malcolm Stewart was making a valiant charge up to the front.
With one lap to go, Stewart had worked his way up to second and did everything he could to pass Smith for the final transfer position. In the second to last turn, though, Stewart went down while attempting to make a pass. Weeck took the win followed by Smith in second.

1. Tommy Weeck (Hon)
2. Kelly Smith (KTM)


The holeshot of the Lites main event went to Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett followed by Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Darryn Durham, and Rockstar Suzuki’s Blake Wharton. As for Geico Honda’s Justin Barcia, he suffered a horrible start and was buried back just outside the top-10. A few laps later, Roczen took over the lead, dropping Baggett back to second. Behind them, Wharton managed to move into third past Durham while Barcia did his best to catch up to the leaders.
Only a few laps into the main, Barcia went down in a turn, losing his front end and valuable positions. He remounted, but was well behind the leaders after finally getting back on his bike. Up front, Baggett began to pressure Roczen for the lead while Wharton held close to the top-two. Shortly after this, however, a red flag came out, stopping the race due to VMS/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Kyle Cunningham going down hard following the whoop section.
The race was restarted using a new staggered start so the riders could rejoin the race in their previous positions. With things tightened back up, the race began where it left off, but Wharton and Durham both quickly passed Baggett to take over second and third respectively, moving Baggett back to fourth. A few laps later, Roczen went down in the turn heading onto the start straight, handing the lead over to Wharton with Durham second and Barcia in third. Barcia had worked hard to get up to third and was holding strong over Baggett in fourth.
With two laps to go, Wharton held onto a comfortable lead with Barcia closing on Durham for second. When the checkered flag came out, though, Wharton took his first win of the season while Barcia couldn’t catch Durham for second. The finishing order was Wharton, Durham, and Barcia.

1. Blake Wharton (Suz)
2. Darryn Durham (Kaw)
3. Justin Barcia (Hon)
4. Blake Baggett (Kaw)
5. Jake Canada (Hon)
6. Justin Bogle (Hon)
7. Matt Lemoine (Kaw)
8. Tyler Bowers (Kaw)
9. Les Smith (KTM)
10. Sean Rife (Hon)
11. Austin Pellegrini
12. Kyle Peters (Yam)
13. S. Sewell (KTM)
14. PJ Larsen (Suz)
15. Alex Martin (Hon)
16. Tommy Weeck (Hon)
17. Kelly Smith (KTM)
18. Brad Ripple (Hon)
19. Ken Roczen (KTM)
20. Kyle Cunningham (Yam)
250 Class East Coast Championship Standings (After 5 of 9 rounds)
1. Justin Barcia (120/4 wins)
2. Darryn Durham (98)
3. Blake Wharton (97/1 win)
4. Blake Baggett (80)
5. Ken Roczen (80)
6. Jake Canada (72)
7. Justin Bogle (61)
8. Kyle Cunningham (43)
9. Malcolm Stewart (42)
10. P.J. Larsen (38)

Top Lap Times
1. Justin Barcia 52.465
2. Darryn Durham 52.557
3. Blake Wharton 52.715
4. Ken Roczen 52.873
5. Blake Baggett 53.197