Race Report: Phoenix

Words and photos by Brendan Lutes

After last week’s dramatic turn of events at round one in Anaheim, California, where series favorites Rockstar/Makita/Suzuki’s Chad Reed and San Manuel Band of Mission Indians/Yamaha’s James Stewart came together in the whoops, crashing and effectively ending a chance either one had at winning the race, the two heavy hitters looked towards round two inside the confines of Chase Field in Phoenix, Arizona, as a new beginning. Be that as it may, though, JGR/Yamaha’s rookie 450 racer—and round one winner—Josh Grant tasted victory and wanted more. When the gate hit the dirt for the start of the night’s main event, however, things turned out exactly how Stewart and Reed had hoped—both were up front, battling dramatically until the end with Stewart taking the victory by the skin of his teeth over rival Reed.

In the Lites class, first round winner Monster/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer was looking to continue the momentum he had, however, after taking the holeshot and leading for the first third of the race, a costly mistake in the sand section cost him the race. The bobble allowed Rockstar/Makita/Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey to take over first, and with it his first win of the season.


The first race of the night saw Troy Lee Designs/Honda’s Chris Blose jump out to the early lead followed closely by Monster/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer. After only a few laps, though, Weimer managed to take over first and pull away. Behind the top two, Geico Powersports/Honda’s Dan Reardon, MDK/KTM’s Ryan Sipes, and Brawndo/Honda’s Ryan Clark battled for third. When the checkered flag waved, though, Weimer cruised in for the win followed by Blose, Reardon, Sipes, and Clark.

The second heat of the night had the potential to be action packed as rivals Rockstar/Makita/Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey and Boost Mobile/AM/PM/Monster’s Jason Lawrence were both on the line. As it turned out, though, the battle never materialized—Lawrence crashed early on and was never a factor in the short qualifier. Dungey on the other hand quickly worked his way into the lead and checked out. Finishing behind the Suzuki rider was MDK/KTM’s Justin Brayton with privateer Honda-mounted Eric McCrumman taking third.

The LCQ was relatively uneventful, as DNA Energy/Butler Brothers/Honda’s Shaun Skinner led from start to finish. It is worth noting, however, that both Jason Lawrence and Geico Powersports/Honda’s Trey Canard failed to qualify. Lawrence suffered from a poor start and could not slice his way through the pack in time, while Canard crashed.


1. Jake Weimer (Kaw)

2. Chris Blose (Hon)

3. Dan Reardon (Hon)

4. Ryan Sipes (KTM)

5. Ryan Clark (Hon)

6. P.J. Larsen (Kaw)

7. Daniel Hendrix (Hon)

8. Adam Chatfield (Hon)

9. Michael Sleeter (KTM)


1. Ryan Dungey (Suz)

2. Justin Brayton (KTM)

3. Eric McCrummen (Hon)

4. Cole Seely (Suz)

5. Ryan Morais (Kaw)

6. Cedric Soubeyras (Yam)

7. Topher Ingalls (Yam)

8. Michael Blose (Hon)

9. Ben Evans (Hon)

10. Shaun Skinner (Hon)


1. Shaun Skinner (Hon)

2. Alex Martin (Hon)

3. Derek Costella (Hon)

4. Michael Horban (Yam)

5. Sean Borkenhagen (Hon)

6. Sean Collier (Yam)

7. Chris Gosselaar (Kaw)

8. Jason Lawrence (Yam)

9. Scott Champion (Hon)

10. Vernon McKiddle (Hon)

Page 1: Lites Qualifying Page 2: SX Qualifying Page 3: Lites Main Page 4: SX Main