Race Report: Washougal 2012

By Michael Antonovich
Photos by Chris Kinman

The Lucas Oil AMA Motocross Championship trekked across the country from Minnesota to the forests of Washington State for round eight of the 2012 series at Washougal Motocross Park. The day saw a brief shake-up in the running order as Mike Alessi broke Ryan Dungey’s lock on the 450 class with a moto win, though Dungey would go on to claim the overall. Justin Barcia’a consistent 1-2 moto finishes allowed him to close the points gap between and point leader Blake Baggett for the Lites division title.

450 Moto One

MotoConcepts Racing’s Mike Alessi grabbed the holeshot in his usual fashion in the first moto of the day, with longtime rival Josh Grant in tow on his DNA Energy/Jeff Ward Racing Kawasaki. After getting around Monster Energy Kawasaki rider Jake Weimer for third, Ryan Dungey set his sights on second place Grant. As Dungey closed in, Grant faltered in a technical section of the track and was thrown to the ground, which allowed the Red Bull KTM racer to take second place. With lap times around a half a second faster than Alessi, Dungey was quickly on the privateer’s back fender and searching for a way to take control of the race. This search, along with Alessi’s efforts to keep the Dungey at bay, forced the current points leader off of the track and nearly into the spectator fence before the KTM rider washed out in a right hand sweeper a few turns later.

After remounting six seconds down of Alessi, Dungey stormed around the Washington forest, making up over four seconds in one single lap. However, just as it was in the earlier stages, Dungey would find his ever moved blocked by Alessi and went off the track in the same section yet again. These errors on the final lap would keep him from closing on the leader enough to make another strike and Alessi would take the moto win, snapping Dungey’s 10-moto win streak.

450 Moto One Results

1. Mike Alessi (Suz)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. Jake Weimer (Kaw)
4. Andrew Short (Hon)
5. Justin Brayton (Hon)
6. Broc Tickle (Kaw)
7. Tommy Hahn (Hon)
8. Kyle Chisholm (Kaw)
9. Weston Peick (Suz)
10. Christian Criag (Hon)
11. Mike Brown (KTM)
12. Ben LaMay (Yam)
13. Michael Byrne (Suz)
14. Vince Friese (Suz)
15. Tyla Rattray (Kaw)
16. Kevin Rookstool (Hon)
17. Josh Grant (Kaw)
18. Robert Bell (Kaw)
19. Derek Anderson (Kaw)
20. Austin Howell (Suz)

450 Moto Two

Ryan Dungey launched out of the gate in the second moto to take the holeshot, and while Mike Alessi was in a close second, there would be no fight for the lead. Dungey steadily pulled away from the field over the course of 16 near flawless laps and finished over 31 seconds ahead of runner-up Alessi at the final flag. Andrew Short would round out the podium for the second moto, with his 4-3 scores giving him third overall for the day.

Josh Grant rebounded from his first moto tumble to climb back into sixth place in the second race, which would boost his 17th place first moto ride for 10th overall. Jake Weimer’s outing would be rather rough, as two separate incidents would have him down to eight place at one point before ultimately finishing fifth in the second moto. Swedish privateer Fredrik Noren made his presence known in the second moto as he fought off better-known racers for the eighth spot. Consistent scores allowed Tommy Hahn, Kyle Chisholm, Christian Craig, and Weston Peick to fill out the top-10 overall results.

450 Moto Two Results

1. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
2. Mike Alessi (Suz)
3. Andrew Short (Hon)
4. Broc Tickle (Kaw)
5. Jake Weimer (Kaw)
6. Josh Grant (Kaw)
7. Tommy Hahn (Hon)
8. Fredrik Noren (Hon)
9. Christian Craig (Hon)
10. Kyle Chisholm (Kaw)
11. Weston Peck (Suz)
12. Derek Anderson (Kaw)
13. Kevin Rookstool (Hon)
14. Vince Friese (Suz)
15. Les Smith (KTM)
16. Ben LaMay (Yam)
17. Michael Byrne (Suz)
18. Tyla Rattray (Kaw)
19. Josh Hill (Kaw)
20. Preston Mull (Hon)

1. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
2. Mike Alessi (Suz)
3. Andrew Short (Hon)
4. Jake Weimer (Kaw)
5. Broc Tickle (Kaw)
6. Tommy Hahn (Hon)
7. Kyle Chisholm (Kaw)
8. Christian Craig (Hon)
9. Weston Peick (Suz)
10. Josh Grant (Kaw)
11. Justin Brayton (Hon)
12. Vince Friese (Suz)
13. Ben LaMay (Yam)
14. Fredrik Noren (Hon)
15. Kevin Rookstool (Hon)
16. Michael Byrne (Suz)
17. Derek Anderson (Kaw)
18. Mike Brown (KTM)
19. Tyla Rattray (Kaw)
20. Les Smith (KTM)
450 Class Championship Points Standings (After 8 of 12 rounds)
1. Ryan Dungey (383/11 moto wins)
2. Mike Alessi (303/ 1 moto win)
3. Jake Weimer (280)
4. Andrew Short (247)
5. Broc Tickle (183)
6. Justin Brayton (183)
7. Josh Grant (169)
8. James Stewart (151/ 4 moto wins)
9. Brett Metcalfe (142)
10. Kyle Chisholm (137)