Reed & Seely Thrill At 2014 Anaheim II Supercross

Fans at Angel’s Stadium were treated to a great night of racing at the second Anaheim Supercross of the year, as Lucas Oil/Troy Lee Designs/Honda’s Cole Seely and Discount Tire/TwoTwo Motorsports rider Chad Reed earned their first wins of the season. While Seely led every lap of  the Western Regional 250 SX main en route to his win, Reed fought through the field in a thrilling 450 main that had the crowd going nuts. For Reed, it was his eighth win in Anaheim and an undeniably emotional affair for everyone on his team.

Seely’s 250 win allowed him to close the gap on series points leader Jason Anderson of the Rockstar Energy Racing team, who finished a solid second in the 15-lap main. In the 450 class, Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen assumed the series points leader by finishing third behind Reed and Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart.


Dean Wilson grabbed the holeshot at the start of the first heat race of the evening. Wilson’s Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki teammate Justin Hill was second, ahead of GEICO Honda’s Zach Osborne and the rest. Osborne moved past Hill before the completion of the first lap and set his sights on the Scot, but Hill had other ideas and retook the position.
Out front, Wilson rode well and established a modest lead, in spite of suffering a scary crash earlier in the day in which he landed on Kawasaki privateer Dakota Tedder. At the finish, Wilson enjoyed nearly two seconds over Hill. Osborne held on for fourth ahead of Lucas Oil/Troy Lee Designs/Honda rider Jessy Nelson and Rocket Exhaust’s Michael Leib. Tedder, meanwhile, enjoyed a strong showing and crossed the finish line sixth.


1. Dean Wilson (Kaw)
2. Justin Hill (Kaw)
3. Zach Osborne (Hon)
4. Jessy Nelson (Hon)
5. Michael Leib (Hon)
6. Dakota Tedder (Kaw)
7. Chris Plouffe (Hon)
8. Aaron Siminoe (Kaw)
9. Valentin Teillet (Kaw)
10. Brandon Scharer (Suz)


Rivals Cole Seely and Jason Anderson found themselves paired up in the second heat race, and it was the red plate holder, Anderson, who led the way through the first corner. Seely’s Lucas Oil/Troy lee Designs/Honda teammate Shane McElrath was second, but Seely snuck past and into second in the third corner. Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Cooper Webb gated fourth and followed Seely past McElrath aboard his YZ250F.
Mid-race, Anderson adapted to a tricky rhythm section that was changed after practice and used the triple-triple method to pull away from Seely, lap after lap. At the line, Anderson enjoyed nearly four seconds over Seely. Webb came home third, ahead of McElrath and Red Bull KTM’s SX rookie, Dean Ferris.


1. Jason Anderson (KTM)
2. Cole Seely (Hon)
3. Cooper Webb (Yam)
4. Shane McElrath (Hon)
5. Dean Ferris (KTM)
6. Malcolm Stewart (Hon)
7. Austin Burns (Hon)
8. Cole Martinez (Kaw)
9. Scott Champion (Yam)
10. Preston Mull (Yam)

250 LCQ

Chris Howell holeshot the LCQ and led all four laps en route to the win. Joseph Dalzell, Chris Proscelle and Connor Elliott earned the final spots into the 250 main.


1. Chris Howell (Yam)
2. Joseph Dalzell (Kaw)
3. Chris Proscell (Hon)
4. Connor Elliott (Hon)

250 MAIN

Seely grabbed the holeshot at the start of the 15-lap main and led Webb, Wilson, Malcolm and Stewart, while Hill went down on the first rhythm section and dropped out of contention. Anderson wasted little time and began to work his way towards the front by passing Stewart at the start of lap two.
Wilson crashed on lap four when his front end hit a tuff block, and all hell broke loose. Anderson was able to jump over Wilson’s downed bike, but Stewart slammed into the tuff block that Wilson knocked into the track, and Osborne crashed into Wilson’s Kawasaki and went over the bars.
At the third-way mark, Seely enjoyed a comfortable lead over Webb, who in turn held a four-second lead over Anderson, who lost time while avoiding the Wilson pileup. Anderson turned up the heat soon after, however, and reeled in and passed Webb in the next two laps.

As the race wound down, the contrast between the two front-runners was obvious, as Seely turned in precise laps in the lead, while Anderson rode the wheels off his Rockstar Energy Racing KTM in an effort to close the gap. At the checkered flag, Seely and his Rich Simmons-tuned CRF250R enjoyed a 3.5-second lead over Anderson. Webb rode a lonely race in third, while Stewart and Hill rounded out the top five.

After the race, it was announced that Anderson would be docked two positions for jumping in a section with flashing lights displayed. This dropped the Rockstar Energy Racing KTM rider from second to fourth in the event standings and second in the points championship.

Main Event Results
1. Cole Seely (Hon)
2. Cooper Webb (Yam)
3. Malcolm Stewart (Hon)
4. Jason Anderson (KTM)
5. Justin Hill (Kaw)
6. Shane McElrath (Hon)
7. Dean Wilson (Kaw)
8. Zach Osborne (Hon)
9. Michael Leib (Hon)
10. Jessy Nelson (Hon)
11. Dean Ferris (KTM)
12. Dakota Tedder (Kaw)
13. Cole Martinex (Kaw)
14. Chris Plouffe (Hon)
15. Valentine Teillet (Kaw)
16. Chris Howell (Yam)
17. Chris Proscelle (Hon)
18. Conner Elliott (Hon)
19. Scott Champion (Yam)
20. Aaron Burns (Hon)
21. Aaron Siminoe (Kaw)
22. Josephe Dalzell (Kaw)
Monster Energy Supercross 250 West Coast Championship Points Standings (After 3 of 9 rounds):
1. Cole Seely (69pts/1 win)
2. Jason Anderson (68/2 wins)
3. Zach Osborne (53)
4. Cooper Webb (53)
5. Dean Wilson (50)
6. Malcolm Stewart (49)
7. Justin Hill (44)
8. Jessy Nelson (35)
9. Dean Ferris (31)
10. Shane McElrath (29)