Roczen & Pourcel Set The Pace | 2014 Hangtown MX

2014 Hangtown MX Timed Qualifying Report

The 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship moved up California’s I-5 to the second stop of series, the GoPro Hangtown Classic. Located just outside Sacramento, the track is far different than what riders faced at the opening round, as the fast layout is spread over a slight hillside. The pace is still fast, as riders leap the hills and charge through the flat sections, and this year’s event may be the fastest yet. Last week’s action has helped determine the ones to watch, but anything can happen this early in the season.

450 Timed Qualifying

Like Glen Helen, the fastest laps of timed qualifying came in the first session of the morning. Ken Roczen showed plenty of speed at the opening round despite missing both moto wins, and the Red Bull KTM rider upped the pace early by turning a 1:59.134 lap. This gave him the day’s fastest time, as it edged Team Honda Muscle Milk’s Trey Canard lap of 1:59.434 by only .300 of a second. Canard’s gap over James Stewart was even smaller, as he bested the Yoshimura Suzuki rider’s time of 1:59.468 by .034 seconds. With less than a half a second separating the top three in the premier class, expect plenty of excitement today. Still, do not count out Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey. The overall winner at Glen Helen was fourth fastest of the morning with a 1:59.807 lap and is on pace with the top three in the class. Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Brett Metcalfe completed the top five with a 2:00.696.

1. Ken Roczen 1:59.134
2. Trey Canard 1:59.434
3. James Stewart 1:59.468
4. Ryan Dungey 1:59.807
5. Brett Metcalfe 2:00.969
6. Justin Barcia 2:01.150
7. Andrew Short 2:01.402
8. Malcolm Stewart 2:01.443
9. Chad Reed 2:01.864
10. Josh Grant 2:02.247

250 Timed Qualifying

Christophe Pourcel is known for unusual practice tactics, such as waiting until the last moment of a session to show his true speed, and the Valli Motorsports Yamaha rider did exactly that in the second practice session of the morning. While the rest of the field put in their best early, Pourcel uncorked a to take the top spot of the 250 class. This time beat Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda’s Cole Seely first session time of 2:02.194, but the gap between the two was minimal. Cooper Webb was another rider to turn his best in session one by piloting his Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha to a 2:02.526. GEICO Honda Zach Bell would end up third with a 2:02.590, trailing Webb by a mere .064 seconds on the clock. Rockstar Energy Racing KTM’s Jason closed the top five with a 2:02.737.

1. Christophe Pourcel 2:02.048
2. Cole Seely 2:02.194
3. Cooper Webb 2:02.526
4. Zach Bell 2:02.590
5. Jason Anderson 2:02.737
6. Justin Bogle 2:02.841
7. Marvin Musquin 1:02.421
8. Blake Baggett 2:03.319
9. Jeremy Martin 2:03.608
10. Justin Hill 2:03.655