Roczen & Wilson Set The Pace | 2014 Seattle SX Practice Report

Practice has wrapped up in downtown Seattle, Washington, and after a beautiful day in the Pacific Northwest, racing is nearly ready to get underway at CenturyLink Field for round 15 of Monster Energy Supercross. The track design for tonight isn’t particularly difficult, but as the soft dirt broke down and track conditions deteriorated throughout practice, the course proved challenging and technical as riders had to manage the holes and ruts that formed.

Despite injuring his shoulder a week ago, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson earned the fastest time in 250 qualifying with a time of 55.054. The 250 West Coast points leader, Rockstar Energy Racing KTM’s Jason Anderson, was close behind Wilson after notching a time of 55.124, and GEICO Honda’s Zach Osborne qualified third fastest with a best time of 55.323.

In the 450 timed sessions, Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen set the fastest time late in the third practice with a best lap of 54.384, stealing the top spot away from Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, who qualified in second with a time of 54.455. Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart qualified third fastest with a time of 54.834. Villopoto will have a chance to clinch the championship tonight after coming in with a 45-point lead over Stewart in the standings.

There are no rain clouds in sight, and Seattle should see some of the best conditions in a long time after opening ceremonies kick off in just under two hours.

1. Dean Wilson 55.054
2. Jason Anderson 55.124
3. Zach Osborne 55.323
4. Cooper Webb 55.892
5. Cole Seely 56.031
6. Justin Hill 56.419
7.  Malcolm Stewart 56.791
8. Jessy Nelson 57.474
9. Zackery Freeberg 58.703
10. Shane McElrath 58.723

1. Ken Roczen 54.384
2. Ryan Villopoto 54.455
3. James Stewart 54.834
4. Ryan Dungey 55.093
5. Eli Tomac 55.215
6. Josh Hill 55.782
7.  Andrew Short 55.809
8. Trey Canard 55.877
9. Justin Barcia 56.213
10. Mike Alessi 57.143