RV And ET Fastest In NY

After a one week break, the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross hits its home stretch and the final three stops of the 2013 season. The year would not be complete without a visit to the historic Unadilla Raceway in New Berlin, New York, and after a morning of qualifying, we have a rough idea of what to expect. A new section of the obstacles has been added to the track, and rain has hammered the area leading up to today, which will make the already challenging course even more technical.

250 Timed Qualifying

New championship points leader Eli Tomac crushed the field in qualifying, and the GEICO Honda rider laid down the fastest time of the day in either class with a 2:15.590. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett was second highest on the charts, but was still down nearly three seconds to Tomac’s time with a 2:18.252. Unadilla typically caters to riders familiar with the GP scene and its muddy, rutted course in practice allowed Zach Osborne to post a 2:19.198 lap and claim third. Ken Roczen and Jason Anderson finished off the top-five, respectively. Both Shane McElrath and Matt Bisceglia made their professional debuts today, with McElrath 17th fastest and Bisceglia 21st. Fellow rookie Cooper Webb will sit out today’s racing after suffering an arm injury.

1. Eli Tomac 2:15.590
2. Blake Baggett 2:18.252
3. Zach Osborne 2:19.198
4. Ken Roczen 2:19.245
5. Jason Anderson 2:19.280

450 Timed Qualifying

Ryan Villopoto put in the fastest lap time of the 450 class aboard his Monster Energy Kawasaki, notching a 2:16.323 lap in his final session of the day. Taking second was home state hero Justin Barcia, who posted a 2:17.837 on his Team Honda Muscle Milk machine. After weeks of turmoil, Mike Alessi was able to put his head down and put in the third-fastest time of the morning on his MotoConcepts bike, and X Games gold medalist Justin Brayton was fourth fastest. Ryan Dungey finished out the top-five, with a 2:18.987.

1. Ryan Villopoto 2:16.323
2. Justin Barcia 2:17.837
3. Mike Alessi 2:18.785
4. Justin Brayton 2:18.977
5. Ryan Dungey 2:18.987