Sand Specialists – Ryan Dungey And Eli Tomac Win Southwick

As the sixth round of the Lucas Oil AMA Motocross Championships, this year’s Southwick National at MX 338 marked the final time that the series will visit the historic facility. And much like it has in previous years, the ‘Wick provided some exciting racing action in all three classes—450, 250, and WMX.
In the 450 class, defending champion Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey turned 1-2 moto finishes into an overall. For Dungey, the win was his second in a row and third of the season. It also drew him closer in the standings to current points leader Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto. The 250 class saw similar results, as GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac took the overall win after dominating the first moto and finishing second in the final race of the day. The win also inched him closer in the standings to points leader Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen who finished second overall.
Southwick was also the third and final round of the WMX Triple Crown series. Going into the race, N-Fab/TiLube/Yamaha’s Jessica Patterson needed to win both motos in order to win the title. She did exactly that, dominating the first moto and moving into the lead on the third lap of the second moto to go 1-1 on the day and clinch the championship.

450 Motocross Championships

450 Moto One
The start of the first moto of the day saw Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart jump out to take the holeshot. Behind him’s Andrew Short settled into second followed by N-Fab/TiLube/Yamaha’s Phil Nicoletti in third, Motosport/Kawasaki’s Brett Metcalfe in fourth, and TwoTwo Motosports/Honda’s Chad Reed in fifth. As the laps continued, Stewart began to open up a lead over Short and the rest of the field. Buried back in the pack, though, were the championship contenders—Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto. Dungey sat in 10th on the first lap, while RV completed the first lap 30th after going down twice.
On lap six, Metcalfe made his way around Nicoletti for third, while Dungey had worked his way up fifth and was pushing hard to catch the top three. Then on lap 10 while way out front, Stewart cross-rutted off a jump and was violently thrown from his bike. The crash was so big that he withdrew from the race and returned to the pits. With that, Short took over the lead position while Metcalfe settled into second and Dungey third. With five laps remaining, Dungey made his way around Metcalfe while Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Barcia had quietly worked his way up to fourth and Villopoto had charged up to fifth. On the second to last lap, Dungey made his move on Short, but the veteran racer was able to keep the defending champ in sight until the checkered flag. Dungey took the win followed by Short. On the final lap, both Barcia and Villopoto passed Metcalfe to finish third and fourth respectively.

450 Moto One Results
1. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
2. Andrew Short (KTM)
3. Justin Barcia (Hon)
4. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)
5. Brett Metcalfe (Kaw)
6. Phil Nicoletti (Yam)
7. Chad Reed (Hon)
8. Mike Alessi (Suz)
9. Jake Weimer (Kaw)
10. Tyla Rattray (Kaw)
11. Broc Tickle (Suz)
12. Les Smith (KTM)
13. Josh Grant (Yam)
14. Derek Anderso (Kaw)
15. Michael Byrne (KTM)
16. Robby Marshall (KTM)
17. AJ Catanzaro (Kaw)
18. Fredrik Noren (Suz)
19. Nick Wey (Kaw)
20. Malcolm Stewart (Hon)

450 Moto Two
The start was a close battle between Dungey and Villopoto for the holeshot with Dungey getting the edge. It wasn’t long, though, before Villopoto got around and took over the lead. Within a few laps, RV had pulled out to a comfortable lead over Dungey while Barcia sat in third, Stewart fourth, and Nicoletti fifth. As the laps continued to click off, the frontrunners spread out and never battled for the entirety of the race. Meanwhile, a battle for fifth broke out between Muscle Milk Honda’s Trey Canard and Metcalfe after Nicoletti began to fall off the pace. Canard ultimately won the battle, and by the finish, held a comfortable gap over Metcalfe. When the checkered flag flew, Villopoto took the win followed by Dungey, Barcia, Stewart, Canard, and Metcalfe.

450 Moto Two Results
1. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)
2. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
3. Justin Barcia (Hon)
4. James Stewart (Suz)
5. Trey Canard (Hon)
6. Brett Metcalfe (Kaw)
7. Justin Brayton (Yam)
8. Tyla Rattray (Kaw)
9. Malcolm Stewart (Hon)
10. Broc Tickle (Suz)
11. Josh Grant (Yam)
12. Mike Alessi (Suz)
13. Phil Nicoletti (Yam)
14. Les Smith (KTM)
15. Michael Byrne (KTM)
16. Andrew Short (KTM)
17. Jake Weimer (Kaw)
18. Chad Reed (Hon)
19. John Dowd (Kaw)
20. Robby Marshall (KTM)

Overall Results
1. Ryan Dungey (KTM)
2. Ryan Villopoto (Kaw)
3. Justin Barcia (Hon)
4. Brett Metcalfe (Kaw)
5. Andrew Short (KTM)
6. Tyla Rattray (Kaw)
7. Phil Nicoletti (Yam)
8. Mike Alessi (Suz)
9. Broc Tickle (Suz)
10. Josh Grant (Yam)
11. James Stewart (Suz)
12. Chad Reed (Hon)
13. Les Smith (KTM)
14. Jake Weimer (Kaw)
15. Trey Canard (Hon)
16. Justin Brayton (Yam)
17. Malcolm Stewart (Hon)
18. Michael Byrne (KTM)
19. Derek Anderson (Kaw)
20. Robby Marshall (KTM)
Lucas Oil Pro Motocross 450 National Championship Points Standings (After 6 of 12 rounds):
1. Ryan Villopoto (283/9 moto wins)
2. Ryan Dungey (271/3 moto wins)
3. Justin Barcia (219)
4. Trey Canard (169)
5. Mike Alessi (158)
6. James Stewart (140)
7. Tyla Rattray (119)
8. Broc Tickle (115)
9. Andrew Short (110)
10. Jake Weimer (109)