Stewart & Cianciarulo Qualify On Top | 2014 Indianapolis SX

Monster Energy Supercross as moved to Indianapolis, Indiana, for round nine of the 2014 season, and tonight’s course inside Lucas Oil Stadium is shaping up to be one of the toughest of the year. The small stadium floor makes for a tight layout, which was built with a very tacky Midwest clay. Cold weather has hammered the center of the country all winter long, and it seems that the moisture, which was frozen, has thawed inside the warm stadium and created a very soft surface that developed endless ruts in practice. Survival was key to getting a respectable time in qualifying, and many riders hit the ground during the afternoon.

Tonight’s action will be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS ONE at 7:30PM EASTERN TIME. Check your local listings for more information.

250 Timed Qualifying

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki has been the team to beat in the 250 East Coast Supercross class this season, and their trio of riders topped the charts in timed qualifying. Martin Davalos, fresh off his main event win in Atlanta, spent most of the session at the top of the chart, but when a red flag was thrown due to too many downed riders, the field was shuffled into a new order. Teammate Adam Cianciarulo jumped to the front with a 54.629 lap time, besting Davalos’ 54.751, while Blake Baggett moved into third with a 54.809.

After two dismal weeks where he failed to qualify for either main event, Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin notched the fourth fastest lap of the afternoon at 54.898. GEICO Honda teammates Justin Bogle and Blake Wharton were separated by a mere .062 seconds, with Bogle getting the quicker lap. Privateers Jimmy Decotis, Matt Bisceglia, and Jace Owen found their places in the order, and GEICO Honda rookie Matt Bisceglia completed the top ten.

250 Timed Qualifying Results

1. Adam Cianciarulo 54.629
2. Martin Davalos 54.751
3. Blake Baggett 54.809
4. Jeremy Martin 54.989
5. Justin Bogle 55.425
6. Blake Wharton 55.487
7. Jimmy Decotis 55.829
8. Matt Lemoine 55.921
9. Jace Owen 56.322
10. Matt Bisceglia 56.484

450 Timed Qualifying

James Stewart commented that this was the roughest Supercross course so far this season, but it did not stop the Yoshimura Suzuki rider from clocking the fastest lap of the afternoon at 54.047. Ryan Dungey was the fastest rider in the first timed session of the day, and the Red Bull KTM rider’s 54.234 time from the session was enough to take second place. GEICO Honda Wil Hahn’s tactic off jumping to the front of the field in timed qualifying has paid off this season, and the rookie was impressive on the rough track with a 54.556 lap. The first timed session was better for both Red Bull KTM riders, as Ken Roczen 54.834 time put him fourth on the chart, besting GEICO Honda’s Eli Tomac by .272 seconds. Ryan Villopoto appeared to struggle throughout the afternoon, but still claimed sixth on his Monster Energy Kawasaki.

With weeks off between rounds of the 250 West Coast Championship and injured riders on the same brands, Cole Seely and Dean Wilson have moved up to the 450 class for the weekend. Seely was tenth fastest aboard a Team Honda Muscle Milk with a 56.064 lap, while Wilson on the TwoTwo Motorsports Kawasaki turned a 56.270 for eleventh.

450 Timed Qualifying Results

1. James Stewart 54.047
2. Ryan Dungey 54.234
3. Wil Hahn 54.556
4. Ken Roczen 54.834
5. Eli Tomac 55.106
6. Ryan Villopoto 55.262
7. Josh Grant 55.288
8. Broc Tickle 55.491
9. Josh Hill 55.666
10. Justin Brayton 55.747