Stewart & Cianciarulo Dominate Detroit | 2014 Detroit SX

2014 Detroit SX Race Report

Photos by Jeff Kardas

The 2014 Monster Energy Supercross Series continued with round eleven at Ford Field in Detroit, Michigan. With the point totals tightening in both the 250 and 450 classes, riders are becoming more daring and aggressive when fighting for position on the track and that was apparent in the Motor City. Riders diced around the tight course, and with little to separate the field, every pass came with necessary force. As it stands, the leaders of both championships have added to their margins over the field, but anything can happen in the final stops of the 17-race season.

250 East Coast Regional Supercross Championship

250 Heat One

Kyle Peters rocketed out of the gate aboard his Grunnaid Energy/AG Motorsports privateer Honda to take the holeshot, but Gavin Faith snuck by soon after to take the lead away. As the laps clicked off, the Ti-Lube/Storm Lake Honda rider kept a controlled pace, but Justin Bogle worked to overcome a midpack start and knifed through the pack aboard his GEICO Honda. Despite the blistering pace set by Bogle, who turned the fastest lap of the six-lap race with a 56.354 time, the gap built by Faith was too much to overcome and he went on to take his first heat race win of the season.

Privateer riders filled the night’s first heat race and the independently funded racers made up the bulk of the transfer positions, with AJ Catanzaro, Vince Friese, Ryan Zimmer, Daniel Heerlein, and Jesse Wentland all going through to the main event.

Jeremy Martin and Matt Bisceglia were two riders many expected to qualify directly to the main event from their heat race, but both faced issues early in the race. Bisceglia was caught in a first turn crash, and despite his efforts, the GEICO Honda rider only managed to ride to thirteenth place. Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Jeremy Martin, meanwhile, went down in a separate incident and claimed fifteenth place.

Justin Starling was in the transfer position with three laps to go in the heat race, but the privateer clipped a set of Tuff Blocks when coming down the “Pontiac” section and was thrown to the ground. The crash was the end of the Florida rider’s night.

250 Heat One Results

1. Gavin Faith
2. Justin Bogle
3. Kyle Peters
4. AJ Catanzaro
5. Alex Martin
6. Vince Friese
7. Ryan Zimmer
8. Daniel Herrlein
9. Jesse Wentland
10. Jackson Richardson

250 Heat Two Results

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki riders ruled the second 250 heat race from the moment the gate dropped, with Adam Cianciarulo nabbing the holeshot and Martin Davalos overtaking the lead shortly after with a calculated pass on the opening lap. For Davalos to line up in itself was remarkable, as the veteran racer suffered a vicious crash during the afternoon practice session, but he was unfazed by the wreck and Cianciarulo through the six-lap sprint, and claimed the heat race win.

Privateer power continued in the second 250 heat of the night, as Jimmy Decotis carded a third place finish aboard his Riverside Harley-Davidson/Dedicated Ride Co. Honda and Smartop/MotoConcepts’s Kyle Cunningham kept a pack of satellite riders at bay to take fourth place.

250 Heat Two Results

1. Martin Davalos
2. Adam Cianciarulo
3. Jimmy Decotis
4. Kyle Cunningham
5. Cole Thompson
6. Blake Baggett
7. Matt Lemoine
8. Mitchell Oldenburg
9. Justin Freund
10. Cade Clason

250 LCQ

Jeremy Martin and Matt Bisceglia started the LCQ up front, and the two tore away from the rest of the field. With only four riders making it to the main event, the fight for the final transfers was intense. Brady Kiesel and Landen Powell were in contention for the position, but numerous mistakes on Kiesel’s part gave Powell the ticket out.

After clicking off three impressive laps, Jeremy Martin appeared destined to take the LCQ win until a mistake on the last lap pitched him to the ground. He would quickly remount, but not until Matt Bisceglia and Jackson Richardson went by to take first and second, respectively.

250 LCQ Results

1. Matt Bisceglia
2. Jackson Richardson
3. Jeremy Martin
4. Landen Powell
5. Brady Kiesel
6. Cade Clason
7. Zack Williams
8. Luke Vonlinger
9. Chad Wages
10. Gannon Audette

250 Main Event

Martin Davalos and Adam Cianciarulo entered the long left-hand sweeper side by side, but it was the veteran ahead as they crossed the holeshot stripe. Justin Bogle trailed the Pro Circuit teammates, and the three riders dropped the rest of the field just laps into the race. Midway through the third lap, Cianciarulo had closed on Davalos and the two were just inches apart through the numerous obstacles. Underneath the loose top soil was a very slick base, and these conditions would cause Davalos to tuck his front-end entering a tight turn. He would remount quickly enough to fend off Jimmy Decotis for third place, but this gave Cianciarulo and Bogle the opportunity to build a tremendous gap over the competition. Just laps later, Davalos would hit the deck again and fall further down the top ten.

At the halfway point of the race, the top two riders were buried in lapped riders. As Cianciarulo worked to cut through the pack, Bogle managed to up his pace and turn a series of quicker laps. This allowed the GEICO Honda rider the chance to pull up to the leader, but when the pack of lapped riders thinned, Cianciarulo inched back ahead. A blistering pace on the final two laps gave Cianciarulo a 3.039 second margin of victory.

A poor start put Blake Baggett in the back of the field at the start of the main event, but the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider spent the entire 15-lap race working through the pack. Rather than forcing his way by the competition, Baggett waited for opportunities to present themselves, such as quick consecutive passes that moved him to third place.

Main Event Results

1. Adam Cianciarulo
2. Justin Bogle
3. Blake Baggett
4. Kyle Cunningham
5. Matt Lemoine
6. Martin Davalos
7. Vince Friese
8. Jeremy Martin
9. Alex Martin
10. Jimmy Decotis
11. Cole Thompson
12. Kyle Peters
13. Gavin Faith
14. Mitchell Oldenburg
15. AJ Catanzaro
16. Jesse Wentland
17. Jackson Richardson
18. Landen Powell
19. Matt Bisceglia
20. Justin Freund
21. Daniel Herrlein
22. Ryan Zimmer

Monster Energy Supercross 250 East Coast Championship Points Standings (After 5 of 9 rounds):

1. Adam Cianciarulo (119pts/3wins)
2. Martin Davalos (102pts/1 win)
3. Blake Baggett (99pts/1 win)
4. Justin Bogle (94pts)
5. Vince Friese (75pts)
6. Kyle Cunningham (63pts)
7. Cole Thompson (58pts)
8. Jimmy Decotis (54pts)
9. Matt Lemoine (53pts)
10. Blake Wharton (51pts)