Stewart Goes Back-To-Back And Cianciarulo Wins Debut | 2014 Arlington SX

Photos by Jeff Kardas

After six rounds of west coast action, the racing headed east to Arlington, Texas, for round seven of Monster Energy Supercross at AT&T Stadium. The night not only delivered a fresh crop of rookies as the 250 East Coast series kicked off its season, but the 450 series also saw its first back-to-back winner of the year. Adam Cianciarulo made a statement to the world by winning his first-ever Supercross race, and James Stewart proved his championship contention with his second win in a row. Dallas always delivers.

250 East Coast Regional Supercross Championship


Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Black Baggett grabbed the first holeshot of the 250 East Coast season, with teammate Adam Cianciarulo close behind in second. But the rookie, in his Supercross debut, snuck his way past Baggett almost immediately to take over the lead. Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Anthony Rodriguez pursued the pair of Pro Circuit riders in third, while Rockstar Energy Racing KTM’s Cole Thompson also got off to a great start in fourth. Out front, Cianciarulo held off his teammate despite Baggett’s late advances, and he went on to take the win with Baggett finishing in second. Rodriguez finished in third, Matt Lemoine in fourth, and Thompson in fifth. Expected championship contender Jeremy Martin went down early in the race, and the Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha rider finished in 19th.


1. Adam Cianciarulo (Kaw)
2. Blake Baggett (Kaw)
3. Anthony Rodriguez (Yam)
4. Matthew Lemoine (Kaw)
5. Cole Thompson  (KTM)
6. Vince Friese (Hon)
7. Mitchell Oldenburg (Hon)
8. Daniel Herrlein  (Hon)
9. Gannon Audette (Kaw)
10. AJ Catanzaro (Hon)


New England privateer Jimmy DeCotis led the pack into the first corner in 250 heat two, but the fastest qualifier, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos, charged by on the first straightaway to take over first place. Gavin Faith got off the gate in third with GEICO Honda’s Blake Wharton close behind in fourth. On lap three, an advancing Wharton stole the second place position away from DeCotis with Gavin Faith in tow, dropping DeCotis back to fourth. Davalos, however, ran away with the win, leaving behind Wharton in second. Faith finished in third, DeCotis fourth, and GEICO Honda’s Matt Bisceglia fifth.


1. Martin Davalos (Kaw)
2. Blake Wharton (Hon)
3. Gavin Faith (Hon)
4. Jimmy DeCotis (Hon)
5. Matthew Bisceglia (Hon)
6. Kyle Cunningham (Hon)
7. Kyle Peters (Hon)
8. Alex Martin (Yam)
9. Levi Kilbarger (Hon)
10. Justin Bogle (Hon)

250 LCQ

In the 250 LCQ, a contact-riddled first turn left several riders on the ground, but it was Jackson Richardson who got through safely to take the holeshot and early lead with AJ Catanzaro in second, GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle in third, and Jesse Wentland in fourth. Bogle made quick work of Catanzaro and Richardson to take the lead and eventually the win. Catanzaro grabbed second, Richardson held on to third, and Wentland took the final transfer spot in fourth. Jeremy Martin had a terrible start, and although he fought his way though the pack, he could only salvage a seventh and failed to make the first main event of the season.


1. Justin Bogle (Hon)
2. AJ Catanzaro (Hon)
3. Jackson Richardson (Hon)
4. Jesse Wentland (Hon)


The entire Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki team led the way into the first turn of the 250 main event, but it was Adam Cianciarulo who rocketed off the gate to take the holeshot with teammates Martin Davalos in second and Blake Baggett in third. Davalos, who had proved he was the fastest rider throughout the day, quickly attacked for the lead and took over first place. In the early laps, Cianciarulo came up short on a triple, but somehow the small-framed rookie absorbed the brutal landing and stayed upright as the three teammates pulled away from the rest of the pack. Not long after, a costly mistake by Davalos caused him to highside in a corner, snapping the visor from his helmet has he hit the dirt and handed the lead back to Cianciarulo. Davalos remounted quickly but had dropped back to fifth place behind Anthony Rodriguez and Gavin Faith. Back out front, the rookie remained calm as Baggett pushed the pace and showed Cianciarulo a wheel. Cianciarulo rode like a veteran, and pulled away to establish a comfortable lead. Rodriguez had his troubles while running in third and dropped out of the race allowing Davalos to take over the position. Despite once again setting the fastest lap of the night, Davalos crashed again, and Cianciarulo rode on to take his first win of his pro career. Baggett finished in second and Davalos in third, as Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki swept the podium.

Main Event Results
1. Adam Cianciarulo (Kaw)
2. Blake Baggett (Kaw)
3. Martin Davalos (Kaw)
4. Vince Friese (Hon)
5. Justin Bogle (Hon)
6. Cole Thompson (KTM)
7. Blake Wharton (Hon)
8. Kyle Cunningham (Hon)
9. Alex Martin (Yam)
10. Mitchell Oldenburg (Hon)
11. Kyle Peters (Hon)
12. Levi Kilbarger (Hon)
13. AJ Catanzaro (Hon)
14. Jesse Wentland (Hon)
15. Jimmy DeCotis (Hon)
16. Gannon Audette (Kaw)
17. Jackson Richardson (Hon)
18. Daniel Herrlein (Hon)
19. Matt Bisceglia (Hon)
20. Gavin Faith (Hon)
21. Matt Lemoine (Kaw)
22. Anthony Rodriguez (Yam)
Monster Energy Supercross 250 East Coast Championship Points Standings (After 1 of 9 rounds):
1. Adam Cianciarulo (25pts/1 win)
2. Blake Baggett (22pts)
3. Martin Davalos (20pts)
4. Vince Friese (18pts)
5. Justin Bogle (16pts)
6. Cole Thompson (15pts)
7. Blake Wharton (14pts)
8. Kyle Cunningham (13pts)
9. Alex Martin (12pts)
10. Mitchell Oldenburg (11pts)