Tomac And Millsaps Take Wins At Anaheim Opening Round

After months of anticipation, the 2013 Monster Energy Supercross season kicked off at Angels Stadium. Numerous story lines developed over the course of the night, but none overshadowed the racing which took place on the extremely fast layout the riders encountered. Eli Tomac avoided first lap carnage to take the early lead and eventual win in the 250 class, allowing the defending 250 West Coast Supercross champion to pick up exactly where he left off last season. The 450 main event proved to be as exciting as expected, but with a different cast of racers than many would have considered before the night’s show. Davi Millsaps and Trey Canard put in 20 near flawless laps, and after a true last lap battle, Millsaps took home the opening round win.

250 Supercross Class

Heat One

When the gate dropped for the first heat race of the night, it was Jessy Nelson taking the holeshot aboard his Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda with Ken Roczen closely behind. The Red Bull KTM rider followed the Supercross rookie for the duration of the opening lap, and as the two hit the wall jump that lay before the finish line, Roczen made his move for the lead. With a clear track ahead, Roczen began to up the tempo and turned in a lap time of 55.980, a full second and a half quicker than Nelson. As Roczen pulled away, Nelson started to feel pressure from his teammate, Cole Seely. The defending A1 winner would at one point make a pass, but Nelson launched a final push and took second place at the checkered flag. Austin Politelli, Blake Baggett, Malcolm Stewart, Ryan Sipes, Max Anstie, and Jake Canada would all battle with one another for position, finish in this order, and make the main event.

1. Ken Roczen (KTM)
2. Jessy Nelson (Hon)
3. Cole Seely (Hon)
4. Austin Politelli (Hon)
5. Blake Baggett (Kaw)
6. Malcolm Stewart (KTM)
7. Ryan Sipes (Suz)
8. Max Anstie (Suz)
9. Jake Canada (Hon)
10. Travis Baker (Yam)

Heat Two

Martin Davalos made quite the impression in his first ride for Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki, as he took the holeshot and blasted off from the rest of the field. Davalos would take a wire-to-wire win over his 19 competitors and was the second quickest rider on the track. The only person quicker than he would be Eli Tomac, who was mounting a charge that would take him from eighth to fifth by the last flag. The pace of the heat was much slower than the first, but it did not hamper the action taking place. Kyle Cunningham spent a number of laps setting up Michael Leib, and on the final lap, he would whip past Leib for third place.

1. Martin Davalos (Kaw)
2. Zach Osborne (Hon)
3. Kyle Cunningham (Yam)
4. Michael Leib (Hon)
5. Tyla Rattray (Kaw)
6. Eli Tomac (Hon)
7. Jason Anderson (Suz)
8. Joey Savatgy (KTM)
9. Jean Ramos (Kaw)
10. Derek Anderson (Kaw)

250 LCQ

Former teammates Travis Baker and Christian Craig were the first to the corner in the 250 LCQ, and from there, the race was seemingly over. Baker paced the field comfortably on his Yamaha while Craig followed in second, both being a massive distance away from third place. They would take the two transfer positions into the main event.

1. Travis Baker (Yam)
2. Christian Craig (Hon)

250 Main Event

Jessy Nelson started the 250 main with a bang, as the rookie claimed the holeshot in his first Supercross main event. Yet, things would quickly go south, as an error on the face of the first jump ended his forward drive and he endoed into the ground. Multiple riders would be caught in the melee, including heat two winner Martin Davalos, Blake Baggett, and Zach Osborne. The collision would mark the end of Davalos’ evening. The pack of racers thundered away from the fray with Eli Tomac at the point, who was already extending a sizable lead on the others. Ken Roczen and Malcolm Stewart briefly fought for second, but the heat one winner would take the position. The pace of the top two riders was unable to be matched by any other on the track and put them a considerable length away from both each other and the other racers. Attention then turned to Cole Seely and Stewart’s fight for third. Seely, in his first race since April of 2012, caught up to the KTM rider and squeezed by for the spot, then upped his pace more and slowly reeled in Roczen. It would never be enough to come within striking distance, and the finishing order of the podium was set.

1. Eli Tomac
2. Ken Roczen
3. Cole Seely
4. Jason Anderson
5. Malcolm Stewart
6. Ryan Sipes
7. Zach Osborne
8. Tyla Rattray
9. Max Anstie
10. Michael Leib
11. Kyle Cunningham
12. Christian Craig
13. Joey Savatgy
14. Blake Baggett
15. Travis Baker
16. Austin Politelli
17. Jean Ramos
18. Jessy Nelson
19. Jake Canada
250 Class Championship Points Standings (After 1 of 9 rounds)
1. Eli Tomac (25 pts/1 win)
2. Ken Roczen (22 pts)
3. Cole Seely (20 pts)
4. Jason Anderson (18 pts)
5. Malcolm Stewart (16 pts)
6. Ryan Sipes (15 pts)
7. Zach Osborne (14 pts)
8. Tyla Rattray (13 pts)
9. Max Anstie (12 pts)
10. Michael Leib (11 pts)

Top Lap Times
1. Eli Tomac 55.275
2. Ken Roczen 56.789
3. Cole Seely 57.076
4. Jason Anderson 57.082
5. Malcolm Stewart 57.254