Tomac And Villopoto Rule Utah National Qualifying

The eleventh round of the 2013 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship is underway in Tooele, Utah, at the all-new layout built in the middle of Miller Motorsports Park. An incredible amount of soil has been brought into the relatively flat plot of land and many of the jumps seem like they are lifted straight from a video game, which will force riders to have their timing perfected. High temperatures and wild fires have swept through Utah recently, and Toole has spent many previous days cast in a haze of smoke. Luckily, it has cleared in time for today’s racing action.

250 Timed Qualifying

Eli Tomac continued his run of blazing fast times in Utah this morning, and posted a 2:02.089 lap time which put him at the top of the charts. Rookie Adam Cianciarulo seems poised for a breakthrough in Toole, as the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider notched the second-quickest lap time with a 2:03.049. Although Red Bull KTM’s Marvin Musquin struggled to find a groove in the second session, his times in the first outing were enough to take third on the charts. Rounding out the top five were Jason Anderson and Ken Roczen, respectively.

250 Timed Qualifying Results

1. Eli Tomac 2:02.899
2. Adam Cianciarulo 2.03.049
3. Marvin Musquin 2:03.688
4. Jason Anderson 2:04.037
5. Ken Roczen 2:04.167

450 Timed Qualifying

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto has a chance at wrapping up the 450 title this afternoon, and if his qualifying times are any indication, he has a very good shot at leaving Utah with the number one plate. Villopoto clocked the fastest lap time of the morning, a 2:00.958, which was nearly a full second faster than runner-up James Stewart. The Yoshimura Suzuki rider is looking to rebound after last week’s second moto crash, but appears to be in good form on the jumpy track. Taking third was Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey, who overcame a poor first session and posted a 2:02.047 in the second go. Malcolm Stewart and Jake Weimer finished off the top-five, and both are hoping to end their seasons on a high-note.

450 Timed Qualifying Results

1. Ryan Villopoto 2:00.958
2. James Stewart 2:01.927
3. Ryan Dungey 2:02.047
4. Malcolm Stewart 2:02.722
5. Jake Weimer 2:03.413