Wilson, Martin, Hill Tackle 250 Class | 2014 Las Vegas SX

Photos by Jeff Kardas

250 West Coast Supercross Division

Dean Wilson | 1st Place

This marked the final 250 Supercross of Dean Wilson’s career, and the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider made it count in the 250 West Coast main event. A solid start put Wilson at the front of the pack on lap one, just behind early leader Cooper Webb, and through the opening half of the race the gap between the two grew smaller and smaller. On lap seven, the two were dead-even and Webb kept the veteran at bay, but Wilson claimed the spot as they exited the stadium at the beginning of lap eight, rebuked a charge by the rookie, and motored to the checkered flag.

Cooper Webb | 2nd Place

Cooper Webb rode the rear-wheel of his Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha into Sam Boyd Stadium at the front of the pack, claimed the holeshot, and tore off with the early lead. With a clear track, Webb clicked off a series of flawless laps that showed his ever-increasing comfort on a Supercross course. By the halfway point his lead began to come under fire from Wilson, but Webb refused to go down without a fight. While Wilson stole the spot on the start of lap eight, Webb countered with a smart line that forced his competitor to ease off, but he would eventually be passed back before the end of the lap and finished in second place, the best result of his season.

Justin Hill | 3rd Place

Justin Hill was near the front of the field of the start and the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider maintained his third place position for the duration of the moto. Hill seemed to close on teammate Wilson in the early going, but midway through the rookie pulled back and allowed the leaders to pull away. The importance of his start and early laps came to light in the final laps, when the gap Hill built over fourth place proved to be too much for Cole Seely to close in a small amount of time.

Cole Seely | 4th Place 

To close the eight-point gap and win the championship, Cole Seely needed to be nearly perfect in the 15-lap feature. But things appeared bleak off the start when the Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda rider was buried at the rear of the pack in seventh place. The only upside to the situation was that he was next to rival Jason Anderson and that his teammates were just ahead. Seely quickly climbed up the running order and with each pass dwindled the point gap between he and Anderson, eventually landing in fourth place. This would bring the margin between he and Anderson down to five markers, but was not enough for Seely to take the title.

Malcolm Stewart | 5th Place

While his finish may not reflect the effort, Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda’s Malcolm Stewart was solid through the main event and inched through the field after sixth place start. In what is said to be his final 250 Supercross, Stewart got by Rocket Exhaust privateer Michael Leib and TLD teammate Shane McElrath to run as high as fourth, but dropped one spot to Seely in the final five laps of the race.

Jason Anderson | 6th Place

Title favorite Jason Anderson entered the event under a cloud of suspicion, as rumor of a chest injury ran through the pit area. That the Rockstar Energy Racing KTM rider opted to wear roost guard fanned the flames, but the eight-point advantage Anderson held going into the night was much more important. He started the race alongside rival Seely, making passes just moments after Seely and keeping the points in check. Once it became apparent that Seely would not be able to make the required amount of passes to take control of the series, Anderson slowed his pace and waited for the final flag. The ride was more than enough for Anderson to take sixth place and with it, his first professional title.

250 West Coast Main Event Results

1. Dean Wilson
2. Copper Webb
3. Justin Hill
4. Cole Seely
5. Malcolm Stewart
6. Jason Anderson
7. Zach Osborne
8. Shane McElrath
9. Jessy Nelson
10. Jake Canada
11. Michael Leib
12. Scott Champion
13. Zach Freeberg
14. Dakota Tedder
15. Preston Mull
16. Chad Gores
17. Blake Lilly
18. Chris Howell
19. Ruben Alanis
20. Colton Aeck
21. Aaron Siminoe
22. Ross Johnson

250 West Coast Regional Championship Standings

1. Jason Anderson 193pts
2. Cole Seely 188pts
3. Dean Wilson 163pts
4. Justin Hill 159pts
5. Cooper Webb 143pts
6. Malcolm Stewart 137pts
7. Jessy Nelson 115pts
8. Zach Osborne 114pts
9. Shane Mcelrath 109pts
10. Jake Canada 83pts