2017 Anaheim Two SX | Race Report

Presented by Factory Effex

Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image


TEXT | Curtis
PHOTOS | Swanberg

What a difference a day makes. Just when we thought we knew how the 2017 Monster Energy Supercross Series would unfold, a new winner has turned one division into a free for all while the other class saw the loss of one major championship contender. Wonder what happens next week…

250 Heat One

Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Aaron Plessinger took the early lead and was followed by Troy Lee Designs/GoPro/Red Bull/KTM’s Shane McElrath and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Justin Hill. The three riders remained in the same positions throughout the heat, with Plessinger taking the heat win and McElrath posting the fastest lap time. Ryan Surratt and Scott Champion battled for the final transfer position, and after a long fight, Champion advanced to the main event.

Transfer to Main Event – Plessinger, McElrath, Hill, Bowers, Mellross, Hansen, Nicoletti, McConahy, Champion
Total Race Time | 6:27.419 minutes, 7 laps
Margin of Victory | 1.112 seconds
Laps Led | Aaron Plessinger – 7
Fastest Lap Time | Shane McElrath, 55.547 seconds

250 Heat Two

Austin Forkner took the early lead aboard his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki, but immediately had pressure from Martin Davalos. The two battled and made some contact with each other, but rookie Forkner outlasted veteran Davalos and took the first heat race win of his career. Dan Reardon seemed to have settled into third, but a mistake by the Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha rider which allowed GEICO Honda’s Jeremy Martin to make the pass. GEICO Honda’s Jimmy Decotis had to fight his way through the pack due to a bad start, and ultimately forced his way into a transfer position.

Transfer to Main Event – Forkner, Davalos, Martin, Reardon, Auberson, Starling, Decotis, Martinez, Chisholm
Total Race Time | 6:36.536 minutes, 7 laps
Margin of Victory | 1.902 seconds
Laps Led | Austin Forkner – 7
Fastest Lap Time | Austin Forkner, 56.747 seconds

250 LCQ

Bradley Lionnet took the early lead and was quickly passed by Bryce Stewart. Ryan Surratt eventually gave Stewart some pressure, but Stewart wound up with the LCQ win. Jon Ames finished in third, while Martin Castelo grabbed the final transfer position into the main event.

Transfer to Main Event | B. Stewart, Surratt, Ames, Castelo
Total Race Time | 4:51.731 minutes, 5 laps
Margin of Victory | 2.149 seconds
Laps Led | Bryce Stewart – 5
Fastest Lap Time | Ryan Surratt, 59.422 seconds

250 Main Event

Austin Forkner grabbed the holeshot, but quickly dropped to fourth. His teammate Justin Hill was able to grab the lead by the end of the first lap, and Aaron Plessinger followed in second place. Hill quickly built a gap between himself and Plessinger, and the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider Justin Hill would end up with the win. Jeremy Martin was dead last by the end of the first lap, but worked his way through the pack to a tenth place finish. Shane Mcelrath passed Austin Forkner for third, which helped him keep the championship lead and the red plate. Scott Champion lost his silencer in the first lap, but continued to race till the checkered flag.

Total Race Time | 16:18.882 minutes, 17 laps
Margin of Victory | 5.335 seconds
Laps Led | Justin Hill – 17
Fastest Lap Time | Justin Hill, 56.269

250 Main Event Results

250 West Coast Championship Standings After Three Races