2017 San Diego SX | Race Report

Presented by Factory Effex

Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image
Gallery Image


TEXT | Curtis
PHOTOS | Swanberg

This one is far from over. Dominating wins at the opening round of the 2017 Monster Energy Supercross Series had many wondering if any rider could challenge Ken Roczen or Shane McElrath for the title in their respective classes, but the 2017 San Diego SX proved that the rest of the field is ready to fight for their spots at the top of the order.

250 Heat One
Shane Mcelrath lead heat one of the 250SX class from start to finish aboard his Troy Lee Designs/GoPro/Red Bull/KTM. Aaron Plessinger went down early in the race, but was able to work his way back up to an honorable third place finish. Hayden Mellross ended up in the tuff-blocks after being pushed wide by Josh Hansen. Despite his troubles early in the race, Mellross would race back into a transfer position. The rookie Jon Ames wasted no time aboard his new fill-in ride, and took the final transfer position into the main event.
Transfer to Main Event – McElrath, Davalos, Plessinger, Hansen, Taft, Mellross, Catanzaro, Chisholm, Ames.
Total Race Time – 6:22.070 minutes, 7 laps
Margin of Victory – 1.789 seconds
Fastest Lap Time – Shane McElrath, 53.489 seconds

250 Heat Two
GEICO Honda’s Jeremy Martin captured the holeshot, but Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Austin Forkner and Justin Hill quickly got around him. Justin Hill made the pass on his rookie teammate, and began to checkout. Jeremy Martin and Austin Forkner battled to the very last corner for second place, but Jeremy Martin would end up with second. Justin Hill took the win with a 2.61 second gap on Jeremy Martin. Hill continued to show his speed after qualifying fastest in practice.
Transfer to Main Event – Hill, Martin, Forkner, Decotis, Bowers, Reardon, Nicoletti, Marquier, Auberson
Total Race Time – 6:24.867 minutes, 7 laps
Margin of Victory – 2.613 seconds
Fastest Lap Time – Justin Hill, 53.525 seconds

250 LCQ
Justin Starling took the win with a gap of 3.078 seconds on Zac Commans, who finished in second place. Cole Martinez took the final transfer position.
Transfer to Main Event – Starling, Commans, Champion, Martinez
Total Race Time – 4:49.857 minutes, 5 laps
Margin of Victory – 3.078 seconds
Fastest Lap Time – Justin Starling, 56.849

250 Main Event
Jimmy Decotis came out of the gate like a rocket aboard his GEICO Honda, but after leading a substantial amount of the moto and a fierce battle for the spot with Martin Davalos, dropped down the running order. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s rookie Austin Forkner showed an aggressive side at the beginning of the race, when he pushed Shane McElrath wide and forced him off the track. McElrath jumped back on the track instantly and slammed the rookie for the spot near the front of the pack. Just as Martin Davalos looked to have the win, Shane McElrath caught and passed him in the closing moments of the main event, and was followed by Justin Hill and Aaron Plessinger. Justin Hill overcame a bad start and pulled even with McElrath for the lead in the final laps,  but Troy Lee Designs/GoPro/Red Bull/KTM’s Shane McElrath was able to hang on and take the win for the second week in a row. Jeremy Martin jumped the gate at the start, but raced his way back up to a solid seventh place finish.
Total Race Time – 16:39.591 minutes, 18 laps
Margin of Victory – 0.387 seconds
Fastest Lap Time – Aaron Plessinger, 53.658 seconds

250 Main Event Results


250 West Coast Championship Points After Two Races