Salt Lake City SX 2012 Practice Report

By Michael Antonovich

Photos by Jeff Kardas

The Monster Energy Supercross tour has made its way to Salt Lake City for round 16 of the 2012 season. A clear sky and abundant sunshine has brought throngs of fans to Rice-Eccles Stadium, where a fast, yet tricky course has claimed numerous riders throughout the day. The track favors those with throttle control, as it is filled with tight sections and a rocky surface. The sunshine drew the moisture from the surface early on, but will be fine for racing with more water and tonight’s cool air. The timed sessions have been surprising, as riders exchanged the top positions over the course of the afternoon.

Lites Qualifying

Marvin Musquin claimed the top spot in Lites qualifying.

Wil Hahn topped the charts over Marvin Musquin and Eli Tomac in the first timed session of the day, as he was able to consistently hit the first rhythm section of the track, a key for the night. Musquin would claim the top spot in the final timed session ahead of Dean Wilson, who was able to notch the second fastest lap before a mechanical issue sent him to the ground.

Both riders on the Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda team, Cole Seely and Travis Baker, will sit out the night after both had violent get-offs early in the day.


1. Marvin Musquin 47.129

2. Dean Wilson 47.303

3. Martin Davalos 47.597

4. Wil Hahn 47.600

5. Eli Tomac 47.682

Supercross Qualifying

After a rough early going, Ryan Dungey claimed the top time in his second race back after a collarbone injury. Dungey was forced to withdraw from the untimed practice session after his bike was damaged in an incident with Andrew Short,and then again in the first timed session. Dungey’s closest competition for the night is Jake Weimer, who is the lone rider under the Kawasaki tent after Ryan Villopoto’s recent knee injury. Weimer was quickest in session number and was .210 of a second off Dungey’s pace in the second outing.

Nico Izzi was third fastest in the first timed session of the day, but sat out the second qualifier after he received a broken nose after mistiming a section of the track. Izzi, and others, commented that the track lacks the proper transitions between the jumps.


1. Ryan Dungey 47.110

2. Jake Weimer 47.320

3. Davi Millsaps 47.577

4. Broc Tickle 47.826

5. Nick Wey 48.089