2004 CMRC Canadian Motocross Championships — Round 5, Moncton, NB

JSR betrayed by flat tire ¿ McGourty puts on a clinic

Defending 250cc Champion Jean Sebastien Roy, gunning for his sixth consecutive victory, was betrayed by a flat tire while leading the first moto of the 250cc National Motocross Championship in Moncton, NB on Sunday.

The Blackfoot Racing Honda Canada ace made a quick pit stop to replace the tire and re-entered the track one lap down. The hard charging Quebecer came close to unlapping himself and finished the moto in 20th place. He went on to win the second moto and finished the day in eight overall.

¿It¿s been a great season for me so far but today some bad luck caught up to me,¿ said a dejected JSR. ¿In racing you¿re never guaranteed a smooth ride but when something goes wrong with the bike it¿s always a major letdown, especially when you¿re running up front.¿

JSR¿s teammate Damon Huffman won the event, Round 6 on the schedule of the eight round 2004 CMRC Canadian Motocross Championships tour. Huffman garnered 3-2 moto results to log his first win of the season. Second on the podium was BC¿s Dusty Klatt, also racing for Blackfoot Honda. He carded 1-5 results in the motos.


Multi-time champion Blair Morgan, on the comeback trail after missing last season due to injuries, claimed third spot on the podium thanks to 2-7 motos. It was the best result to date for the Saskatchewan native who heads up the Yamaha Canada factory team.

Diablo Honda¿s Keith Johnson and Richmond Racing Kawasaki Canada¿s Colton Facciotti rounded out the top five. The American Johnson snared fourth overall on the strength of 5-4 motos. Aldergrove, BC¿s Facciotti, who nailed the first moto holeshot, carded 4-8 results.

Roy wasn¿t the only rider to experience a troubled weekend on the demanding Riverglade Motocross Park track. In the second 250cc moto, number three ranked Craig Decker also succumbed to a flat tire. Decker did not rejoin the fray, finishing 14th overall on the strength of an eighth place in the first moto.

Atlantic Canada¿s Ryan Lockhart and Mitchell Cooke also had their share of problems.

BMR Yamaha¿s Lockhart managed to salvage a troublesome day with an eighth overall finish in the 125cc East title hunt, after losing his goggles in the second moto. Diablo¿s Cooke was not as fortunate in the 250cc Nationals. The Brookfield, NS native was sidelined with motor problems while running second place in both motos.

Machine Racing Yamaha mounted Pierce Chamberlain had another dire weekend when he DNFd the second moto thanks to a defective header pipe.

In Round 2 of the four round 125cc East title hunt, Richmond Racing¿s Donnie McGourty put on a racing clinic that saw him win both motos. In the first moto, he quickly replaced teammate Gavin Gracyk, who had pegged the holeshot, at the head of the pack.


McGourty then went on to lead the second moto from the get go and never looked back. He was followed onto the podium by BMR Yamaha¿s Doug DeHaan who chalked up second overall on the strength of 3-2 motos.

Third overall went to Gracyk. The Ohio native, who chalked up 2-8 moto results, saw a possible runner-up slot go down the tubes when he crashed hard in the second moto.

Cementing the top five were Diablo¿s Mike Treadwell who posted 6-4 moto results to snare fourth overall. Blackfoot¿s Shane Lusk nailed down fifth on the strength of 4-6 motos.

Both classes were run under a mixture of rain and dry conditions. Rain started falling during the first 125cc moto. Then, a downpour greeted the riders in the first 250cc moto. The rest of the afternoon was rain free.  

Media release prepared by Bull¿s Eye Media Relations ¿ Photo Credit: Shawna Nelles

Results 125 East ¿ Round 2

  1. Donnie McGourty ¿ USA (1-1)
  2. Doug DeHaan ¿ ON (3-2)
  3. Gavin Gracyk ¿ USA (2-8)
  4. Mike Treadwell ¿ USA (6-4)
  5. Shane Lusk ¿ USA (4-6)
  6. Jim Neese ¿ USA (10-3)
  7. Joel Saarits ¿ ON (7-5)
  8. Ryan Lockhart ¿ NS (5-10)
  9. Simon Homans ¿ QC (8-9)
  10. Chuck Mesley ¿ ON (14-7)

Results 250 Nationals ¿ Round 6

  1. Damon Huffman ¿ USA (3-2)
  2. Dusty Klatt ¿ BC (1-5)
  3. Blair Morgan ¿ SK (2-7)
  4. Keith Johnson ¿ USA (5-4)
  5. Colton Facciotti ¿ BC (4-8)
  6. Evan Laughridge ¿ USA (10-3)
  7. John Dowd ¿ USA (6-6)
  8. Jean Sebastien Roy ¿ QC (20-1)
  9. Simon Homans ¿ QC (9-9)
  10. Marco Dubé ¿ QC (11-11)