2008 Steel City Race Report

With clear skies and perfect weather, it was a great day to wrap up the last round of the 2008 AMA Toyota Motocross Nationals. Coming into this weekend’s race, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s James Stewart was looking for one more 1-1 sweep to make it a perfect season. In the Lites class, Ryan Villopoto was hoping to end his last Lites race of his career on a high note. Unfortunately, all good things must come to an end and for Villopoto, his last Lites overall win would be last weekend at Southwick.



Matt Lemoine was a man on a mission in the first moto. Lemoine worked his way into second place, holding his own against the likes of Brett Metcalfe, Nico Izzi, and Josh Grant.

Once the day of racing kicked off, Yamaha-backed Matt Lemoine took the holeshot and the early lead. Defending champion Ryan Villopoto was buried in the back of the pack, leaving Grant and Ryan Dungey to pull away from the rest of the field. At the end of lap one the running order was Grant, Dungey, Nico Izzi, Matt Lemoine, and Brett Metcalfe. At the end of lap two, Villopoto had found his way into 13th place. Dungey eventually found his way around the Honda pilot and began to check out. While Dungey was out front, Lemoine had found his way into third place and was putting pressure on Grant for second place. However, the Honda rider was riding a rather wide track, making it difficult for the 52 machine of Lemoine to make a pass stick. At one point, JG20 almost ran Lemoine off the track, allowing for some breathing room. Eventually, however, Matt found his way around Grant and was able to break away from the rest of the field. JG20 would run into some mechanical issues near the end of the moto and ended up in 37th. Villopoto also ran into some problems when he and Izzi bumped in a corner. When Izzi and Villopoto hit, it bent Villopoto's shifter. The Kawasaki pilot would eventually pull off as his bike was stuck in second gear. At the conclusion of the first moto, Dungey took the moto win with ease, Lemoine held on for second and Metcalfe rounded out the podium in third.

1. Ryan Dungey (SUZ)

2. Matt Lemoine (YAM)

3. Brett Metcalfe (KAW)

4. Ryan Sipes (KTM)

5. Nico Izzi (SUZ)

6. Jake Weimer (HON)

7. Blake Wharton (HON)

8. Phillip Nicoletti (KAW)

9. Broc Tickle (YAM)

10. Jake Moss (YAM)


In the Motocross class, Monster Energy Kawasaki's James Stewart nabbed the holeshot and in typical Stewart fashion, began to check out from the rest of the field. At the end of lap one it was, Stewart, Broc Hepler, Tim Ferry, Jimmy Albertson, and Michael Byrne. While Bubba was all but gone, the real battle on the track was between Ferry and Hepler. Red Dog found his way around the Iceman, but it wasn't over just yet. The Yamaha machine of Hepler retaliated, making his way around Ferry for second. The Battle between both riders lasted through out the course of the moto. Eventually, however, Ferry would come out on top, but only by a couple of the seconds. Rockstar/Makita/Suzuki's Byrne ran a respectable fourth place, though it was a little ways behind the top three.

1. James Stewart (KAW)

2. Tim Ferry (KAW)

3. Broc Hepler (YAM)

4. Michael Byrne (SUZ)

5. Andrew Short (HON)

6. Sean Hamblin (YAM)

7. Jimmy Albertson (HON)

8. Matt Goerke (KTM)

9. Ivan Tedesco (HON)

10. Nick Wey (KTM)


Rockstar/Makita/Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey was untouchable all weekend long. Though RV2 ran into some problems in each moto, we’re sure it would’ve been an interesting battle between RD28 and RV2.

Geico Powersports Honda's newest recruit Blake Wharton was rewarded with the holeshot in the second Lites moto, however, only two turns later, Wharton went down. Joining Wharton on the ground was Ryan Villopoto. By the time RV2 was off the ground and on the bike, he was in 40th place and 15 to 20 seconds behind the next rider. While Villopoto was picking himself up off the ground, Ryan Dungey took control of the lead and at the end of lap one the running order was Dungey, Josh Grant, Brett Metcalfe, Steven Clarke, Jake Weimer, and Matt Lemoine. While Dungey was doing just what he did in the first moto, JG20 quickly found himself under pressure from a slew of riders. Lemoine, who had to fight his way into the top five was able to work his way around Grant for fifth, following Lemoine around the Honda pilot was Broc Tickle. While Lemoine was working his way up to the front of the pack, Weimer, Izzi, and Metcalfe were in a three-way battle for second place. Weimer and Metty were toe to toe, which allowed Izzi to slide passed both riders in an instant. Eventually, Weimer found his way around Metcalfe when both riders got together in a corner, forcing Metty to the ground. Meanwhile, Lemoine went down and was unable to continue. Back in the pack, Villopoto was able to work his way up to 16th place and Wharton moved up to 9th place at the end of the moto. Once the checkered flag came out, it was Dungey, Izzi, Weimer, Tickle, and Kyle Chisholm rounding out the top five.

1. Ryan Dungey (SUZ)

2. Nico Izzi (SUZ)

3. Jake Weimer (HON)

4. Broc Tickle (YAM)

5. Kyle Chisholm (KAW)

6. Brett Metcalfe (KAW)

7. Steven Clarke (SUZ)

8. Josh Grant (HON)

9. Blake Wharton (HON)

10. Justin Brayton (KTM)

Overall Results:

1. Ryan Dungey 1-1

2. Nico Izzi 5-2

3. Jake Weimer 6-3

4. Brett Metcalfe 3-6

5. Broc Tickle 9-4

6. Blake Wharton 7-9

7. Matt Lemoine 2-32

8. Phillip Nicoletti 8-13

9. Kyle Chisholm 18-5

10. Steven Clarke 16-7

AMA Toyota Motocross Lites Championships Standings (After 12 of 12 rounds):

1. Ryan Villopoto (540/8 wins)

2. Ryan Dungey (468/3 wins)

3. Brett Metcalfe (382)

4. Jake Weimer (321)

5. Nico Izzi (292)

6. Ryan Sipes (228)

7. Kyle Cunningham (198)

8. Kyle Chisholm (189)

9. Josh Grant (186)

10. Trey Canard (173)


Red Bull Honda’s Andrew Short didn’t have the result he was looking for. Shorty went 5-7 for fifth overall.

In only his second start aboard a factory Red Bull Honda, Jimmy Albertson took off with the holeshot; however, James Stewart quickly made his way around the Honda rider to take control of the lead. While Bubba was going for a perfect season, Tim Ferry and Broc Hepler made their way around Albertson for second and third. With that said, another battle between Red Dog and the Iceman was unveiled. Both riders passed each other several times throughout the course of the moto, putting on quite a show for the Delmont fans. A little further behind the top three leaders were Michael Byrne and Factory Yamaha's Josh Hill, who was looking for a better result in the second moto. Eventually, Monster Energy Kawasaki's Ferry made a pass on Hepler that would. At the conclusion of the second moto, Stewart had claimed the win and the perfect season. Following Bubba was Ferry, Hepler, Byrne and Hill.

1. James Stewart (KAW)

2. Tim Ferry (KAW)

3. Broc Hepler (YAM)

4. Michael Byrne (SUZ)

5. Josh Hill (YAM)

6. Jimmy Albertson (HON)

7. Andrew Short (HON)

8. Ivan Tedesco (HON)

9. Sean Hamblin (YAM)

10. Paul Carpenter (HON)

Overall Results:

1. James Stewart 1-1

2. Tim Ferry 2-2

3. Broc Hepler 3-3

4. Michael Byrne 4-4

5. Andrew Short 5-7

6. Jimmy Albertson 7-6

7. Sean Hamblin 6-9

8. Josh Hill 11-5

9. Ivan Tedesco 9-8

10. Matt Boni 13-11

AMA Toyota Motocross Championship Standings (After 12 of 12 rounds)

1. James Stewart (600/12 wins)

2. Tim Ferry (414)

3. Andrew Short (392)

4. Michael Byrne (377)

5. Cody Cooper (266)

6. Nick Wey (264)

7. Josh Hill (234)

8. Jeff Alessi (233)

9. Sean Hamblin (225)

10. Mike Alessi (221)