2014 Indiana MX | Tomac & Martin Blast Through Morning Mud

2014 Indiana MX Timed Qualifying Report

The 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship continues its run to the finish line with round eleven of the year taking place in Crawfordsville, Indiana. An all-new venue on the tour, the rural Midwest layout was expertly constructed to challenge riders with fast and exciting obstacles. Press day laps on Thursday had riders flying over the hillsides and speeding through the valley on an immaculate course, but unfortunately, none of that will take place today. A series of storm cells have moved over the area and continue to dump rain on the course, making for one of the muddiest races we've seen in years. Despite the best efforts by the track crew, the racing surface is a mess and has riders in a sort of survival mode to get through the day. Local forecasts are calling for an additional band of showers to hit the area soon, and could make for even more issues with the gates drop for today's motos.

Check out the complete broadcast coverage for today’s 2014 Indiana MX….

Be sure to follow TWMXdotcom on Instagram for more shots from Unadilla and beyond...

2014 Indiana MX | 450 Timed Qualifying

2014 Indiana MX

The results sheet for the 450 class shows how much the track changed from the very first practice of the morning (450 B) to the final timed session (450A). GEICO Honda's Eli Tomac posted the best time of the day, a 3:02.241, early in his first session on the track. Satisfied with the time, Tomac opted to sit out the day's second practice. Taking second on the chart was Austin Wagner, a Michigan privateer that took advantage of the fresh course in the first 450 B session and posted a 3:11.392. As surprising as this was, Wagner was one of many B session riders to break into the top ten. Title contender Ken Roczen was scored third on the morning, thanks to the 3:11.786 lap the Red Bull KTM rider turned in his first practice of the day. Privateers Chris Proscelle, Todd Krieg, Cody VanBuskirk, Tony Archer, and Colton Aeck filled spots four through eight on the charts, with Team Honda Muscle Milk's Trey Canard being the final rider to post a time (3:14.634) worthy of the top ten. Mitchell Oldenburg completed the top ten with a 3:15.064.

Scattered throughout the top forty were the premier rider's in the class, with their lap times affected by the track conditions and practice order. This goes to show that being put in the first practice sessions are only beneficially during a mud race.


– Michael Byrne was slated to race another round for Discount Tire/TwoTwo Motorsports, but the veteran failed to get a lap time within the top forty of the field. With no LCQ being run today, he is one of the many out of competition.
– Word that both James and Malcolm Stewart would miss this weekend came out late in the week, but both press releases state that they expect to line up at the final in Utah.
– Many riders opted to sit out the final 450 practice sessions. Only fourteen riders posted laps during the last A session.
– RCH/Soaring Eagle/Suzuki's Weston Peick failed to put in a lap in the top forty. He skipped the first session of the day, then was unable to break into the top forty in session two. He will use a provisional and have forty-first gate pick.

2014 Indiana MX | 450 Timed Qualifying Results
1. Eli Tomac 3:02.241
2. Austin Wagner 3:11.392
3. Ken Roczen 3:11.786
4. Chris Proscelle 3:12.586
5. Todd Kreig 3:12.713
6. Cody VanBuskirk 3:13.600
7. Tony Archer 3:13.810
8. Colton Aeck 3:14.449
9. Trey Canard 3:14.634
10. Mitchell Oldenburg 3:15.064
11. Matt Goerke 3:15.321
12. Ryan Dungey 3:16.026

16. Chad Reed 3:17.757
18. Ryan Sipes 3:19.579
19. Andrew Short 3:20.158
25. Josh Grant 3:22.751
26. Brett Metcalfe 3:23.677
34. Justin Brayton 3:25.960
37. Jake Weimer 3:27.342
40. Fredrik Noren 3:28.902

2014 Indiana MX | 250 Timed Qualifying

2014 Indiana MX

Things are looking perfect for Jeremy Martin this weekend. The Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha rider is in position to take the 250 title this weekend, and after seeing his practice times, the ceremony could take place in Indiana. After track maintenance between practice sessions, Martin's 3:14.028 in the last 250 A session put him at the top of the chart. Christophe Pourcel attempted his patented last-lap charge, but the Valli Motorsports Yamaha rider came up just short with a 3:15.966, which put him second overall. After a rough weekend at Unadilla, Cooper Webb rebounded to take third on the charts, with a 3:19.216 aboard his Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha. The 250 charts appeared a bit more "normal," with plenty of factory-supported riders filling the top ten thanks to the track conditions in the final A session. Jason Anderson claimed fourth with a 3:22.898 aboard his Rockstar Energy Racing KTM. GEICO Honda teammates RJ Hampshire and Justin Bogle were incredibly close in lap times, with the rookie Hampshire's 3:24.584 just edging Bogle's 3:24.991 for fifth fastest time. California rider Jessy Nelson nabbed a somewhat surprising seventh by turning a 3:27.224 aboard his Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda. Privateer Dakota Kessler turned a 3:28.668 for eighth overall, besting GEICO Honda's Zach Osborne by just .094 seconds. Cole Martinez completed the top-ten with a 3:29.177 aboard his JAB Motorsports Kawasaki.

– Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki riders Darryn Durham and Justin Hill are stilling missing from action due to injuries. Durham was slated to compete this weekend until the lingering issues from his Unadilla concussion forced him to withdraw.

2014 Indiana MX | 250 Timed Qualifying

1. Jeremy Martin 3:14.028
2. Christophe Pourcel 3:15.996
3. Cooper Webb 3:19.216
4. Jason Anderson 3:22.898
5. RJ Hampshire 3:24.584
6. Justin Bogle 3:24.991
7. Jessy Nelson 3:27.224
8. Dakota Kessler 3:28.668
9. Zach Osborne 3:28.762
10. Cole Martinez 3:29.177
11. Shane McElrath 3:29.800

13.Dean Wilson 3:31.099
15. Marvin Musquin 3:33.257
16. Zach Bell 3:33.543
17. Joey Savatgy 3:35.742
19. Matt Lemoine 3:37.311
22. Dakota Alix 3:39.027
29. Cole Seely 3:42.853
34. Blake Baggett 3:46.579