4/20 It’s Carmichael and Preston in Dallas

Ricky Carmichael, who rides for Honda, cruised tohis ninth 250cc victory this season at Texas Stadium in front of 43,789fans. Honda-backed Travis Preston won his second 125cc Western RegionalSupercross race this season and moved into the series points lead overKawasaki’s James Stewart, with one round of competition remaining.

Bud Light Yamaha’s Jeremy McGrath won his fourth $1,500 POWERade Holeshotaward in the 250cc class, with Carmichael and David Vuillemin in tow as thefield left turn one. Carmichael, the reigning 250cc champion, moved byMcGrath on lap four. Vuillemin moved into second, briefly challengingCarmichael. Carmichael held on for the win, Vuillemin was second, andMcGrath third.

“I might not have been the fastest guy out there tonight, but I was for 20laps,” said Carmichael. “I think I wore those guys out tonight. I am alwaysthinking out there.”

Chase Reed, a privateer from Lone Grove, Okla., shot by the $1,000 POWERadeHoleshot winner Chris Gosselaar, who is Preston’s teammate, on lap one in125cc competition. Reed’s lead was short-lived, as he went down on thesecond lap. On the same lap, Stewart, who led the series coming intotonight’s event, crashed. Preston, who trailed Stewart by 10-points, movedinto the lead on lap three.

Late in the race, Gosselaar, who is Preston’s teammate, made a pass onTravis Elliot, who rides for Plano Honda, for second place. Stewart workedhis way through the pack and set up a pass for fourth place; however, hetangled with Ivan Tedesco and went down. Preston pulled away for the win,Gosselaar finished second and Elliot was third.

“I know that earlier this season everyone was talking about Stewart (James),but I didn’t mind because it let me do my own thing,” said Preston. “Now Ihave the points lead.”

Tomorrow’s race will air on ABC’s Wide World of Sports Sunday April 21 at3:00 p.m. EST/2:00 CST/Noon PST, marking the fourth race on the network in2002. Both the 125cc and 250cc main events will be covered, with additionalfeatures built within the program.

125cc Western Regional Supercross Event Standings

1. Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif., Honda

2. Christopher Gosselaar, Juniper Hills, Calif., Honda

3. Travis Elliot, Alvin, Texas, Honda

4. Matt Walker, McRae, Ga., Kawasaki

5. Eric Sorby, France, Kawasaki

6. Ivan Tedesco, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha

7. Josh Demuth, Fort Worth, Texas, Yamaha

8. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., Suzuki

9. David Pingree, Temecula, Calif., KTM

10. Keith Johnson, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha

125cc Western Regional Supercross Season Standings

1. Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif., Honda, 130 pts

2. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Kawasaki, 120 pts

3. Ivan Tedesco, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha, 115 pts

4. Christopher Gosselaar, Juniper Hills, Calif., Honda, 114 pts

5. Brock Sellards, Sherrodsville, Ohio, KTM, 91 pts

6. Travis Elliot, Alvin, Texas, Honda, 88 pts

7. Keith Johnson, Albuquerque, N.M., Yamaha, 80 pts

8. David Pingree, Temecula, Calif., KTM, 80 pts

9. Craig Decker, Palm Desert, Calif., Yamaha, 70 pts

10. Rodrig Thain, France, Yamaha, 64 pts

250cc EA SPORTS Supercross Event Standings

1. Ricky Carmichael, Havana, Fla., Honda

2. David Vuillemin, Corona, Calif., Yamaha

3. Jeremy McGrath, Encinitas, Calif., Yamaha

4. Nathan Ramsey, Menifee, Calif., Honda

5. Stephan Roncada, France, Kawasaki

6. Sebastien Tortelli, Dade City, Fla., Honda

7. Timmy Ferry, Dade City, Fla., Yamaha

8. Ernesto Fonseca, Costa Rica, Honda

10. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Yamaha

250cc EA SPORTS Supercross Season Points Standings

1. Ricky Carmichael, Havana, Fla., Honda, 306 pts

2. David Vuillemin, Corona, Calif., Yamaha, 279 pts

3. Jeremy McGrath, Encinitas, Calif., Yamaha, 218 pts

4. Ezra Lusk, Acworth Ga., Kawasaki, 208 pts

5. Stephane Roncada, Menifee, Calif., Kawasaki, 205 pts

6. Nathan Ramsey, Corona, Calif., Honda, 197 pts

7. Ernesto Fonseca, Costa Rica, Honda, 159 pts

8. Nick Wey, Dewittt, Mich., Yamaha, 149 pts

9. Heath Voss, Mica, Texas, Honda, 145 pts

10. Damon Huffman, Valencia, Calif., Suzuki, 133 pts