American Honda Announces 2003 Off-Road Racing Teams

(10/30/02) Torrance, CA – American Honda is pleased to announce its off-road racing teams for 2003. After a season that saw Honda-mounted riders capture the AMA 125 West Supercross, 250 Supercross, 250 National and 4-stroke National titles, the Red Riders are showing no signs of slowing down. In fact, the teams are looking stronger than ever.

“We are really looking forward to 2003,” said American Honda’s Chuck Miller, Manager, Motorcycle Sports. “The team is looking stronger than ever. Ricky Carmichael s coming off a great season and is motivated more than ever, and Mike LaRocco can’t wait to get back out onto the track after winning the U.S. Open. Everybody is working so well together, and that makes good things happen.”

This year in Supercross, Team Honda will consist of defending champion Ricky Carmichael, hot off his undefeated 250 National season, Ernesto Fonseca and CRF450R-mounted Nathan Ramsey.

The Honda-supported Factory Connection team will return intact with the newly crowned U.S. Open Champion Mike LaRocco, defending 125 West Supercross Champion Travis Preston, Christopher Gosselaar and 125 East Supercross competitor Michael Byrne.

The 2003 season will also see the addition of a new support team campaigning Honda motorcycles. Team MX3/Yoshimura will be riding the awesome CRF450R with Kyle Lewis and Larry Ward at the controls.

In the AMA Western and Eastern 4-stroke Nationals, Honda will continue its support for the White Brothers Racing Team with defending champion in both the West and the East, Paul Carpenter and past champion Spud Walters. White Brothers had an incredible year aboard their CRF450Rs in 2002 finishing 1-2 in the West series and 1-5 in the East. The team looks to continue its winning ways in 2003.

In the desert, Honda will have the services of 8-time Baja Champion Johnny Campbell, along with teammates Steve Hengeveld and Andy Grider. The XR650R pilots will see action in the Best In the Desert Series as well as the SCORE racing series.

Tamer Racing will receive support from Honda in 2003, to compete in the Arenacross series. The team will feature riders Justin Brayton and Jeremy Buehl aboard CR250Rs and CR125Rs.