Anderson Victorious In 250 Main Event | 2014 Houston SX

By Brendan Lutes
Photos by Jeff Kardas
After taking two months off of racing, the 250 West Coast Series picked back up in Houston. Heading into the round only four points separated series leader Rockstar KTM's Jason Anderson from Lucas Oil/Troy Lee Designs/Honda's Cole Seely. After an eventful evening of racing, though, Anderson is walking away from the Lone Star State with an even bigger points lead of 11.

Monster Energy Supercross 250 West Coast Regional Championship
Jason Anderson | 1st Place

After the break in the series, Jason Anderson was admittedly slightly rusty, however, you wouldn't have been able to tell. Throughout the day, he was consistently one of the fastest riders --if not the fastest--on the track, posting the quickest lap time in both timed qualifying sessions and finishing second in his heat race. When it truly counted, though, Anderson really delivered. After getting off to a good start in the main event, Anderson quickly took over the lead and never looked back. Even when being pressured by Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Dean Wilson, Anderson never faltered. In the end, he took home his fourth victory of the year.

Dean Wilson | 2nd Place

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Dean Wilson had a rough night that ended up being good. After qualifying well during the daytime sessions, Wilson entered his heat race ready to win, however, a nasty crash in the whoops relegated him to fifth. The crash also slightly separated his shoulder. Between the time that the heat race finished and the main event started, Wilson was tended to by the Asterisk Medic Crew, taped up, and given a cortisone shot in his injured shoulder. He returned and rode an impressive main event. Throughout the race, he kept Anderson within striking distance, but he was never able to get close enough to make a pass. When the checkered flag flew, Wilson crossed the line only bike lengths behind Anderson.

Malcolm Stewart | 3rd Place

For Malcolm Stewart, this podium marked his third of the year. Malcolm was fast throughout the day, but he was slightly off the pace of Anderson and Wilson. In the main event, Mookie took command of third early and never let go. Even as his Lucas Oil/Troy Lee Designs/Honda teammate Cole Seely pressured him for the position, Stewart never faltered.

Cole Seely | 4th Place

If there is one rider who was the most disappointed at the end of the night it was Cole Seely. After taking a decisive win in his heat race over series rival Anderson, Seely went into the main event hoping for a victory. Unfortunately, the Honda rider suffered a poor start and was forced to work his way up to fourth. After coming in contact with another rider, Seely said that he began to lose his rear brake, and by the time the race was over it was completely dead. This finish dropped Cole to 11 points back from Anderson in the championship chase.

Zach Osborne | 5th Place

GEICO Honda's Zach Osborne was quiet throughout most of the day, posting fast times in qualifying and transferring to the main event out of his heat race. In the main event, Osborne completed the first lap in sixth and managed to pass fifth and remain there for the rest of the race.

Main Event Results
1. Jason Anderson (KTM)
2. Dean Wilson (Kaw)
3. Malcolm Stewart (Hon)
4. Cole Seely (Hon)
5. Zach Osborne (Hon)
6. Cooper Webb (Yam)
7. Shane McElrath (Hon)
8. Jake Canada (Hon)
9. Justin Hill (Kaw)
10. Jessy Nelson (Hon)
11. Zach Freeberg (Yam)
12. Dakota Tedder (Kaw)
13. Michael Leib (Hon)
14. Scott Champion (Yam)
15. Topher Ingalls (Hon)
16. Preston Mull (Yam)
17. Brandon Scharer (Suz)
18. Chris Howell (Yam)
19. Ruben Alanis (KTM)
20. Cheyenne Harmon (KTM)
21. Colton Aeck (Hon)
22. Mark Weishaar (Yam)
Monster Energy Supercross 250 West Coast Championship Points Standings (After 7 of 9 rounds):
1. Jason Anderson (156/4 wins)
2. Cole Seely (145/1 win)
3. Dean Wilson (120/1 win)
4. Justin Hill (119/1 win)
5. Malcolm Stewart (109)
6. Cooper Webb (107)
7. Jessy Nelson (87)
8. Zach Osborne (85)
9. Shane McElrath (85)
10. Dean Ferris (63)