250 Class Race Report | 2014 Thunder Valley MX

Photos: Jeff Kardas

We all wondered how long the Yamaha powerhouse duo of Jeremy Martin and Cooper Webb could dominate the 250 class, and in Colorado we saw a new moto winner after five-straight moto wins from Jeremy Martin. Martin rode brilliantly in the first moto, coming from behind to take the moto win. But a bad start and a crash in moto two took him out of contention, and Blake Baggett stepped up to add his name to the short list of moto winners in 2014.

1.Blake Baggett | First Overall (4-1)

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Blake Baggett started the day off in moto one buried in the middle of the pack, but Baggett put his head down and somehow made his way from outside the top 10 all the way up to fourth place.

A fifth-place start in moto two was all that Baggett needed, and after working his way through Zach Bell, Jason Anderson, and Justin Bogle, Baggett charged down one of the rougher sections of the track to move past Christophe Pourcel and into the lead. Baggett pulled away, taking home the moto two win and the overall.

2. Justin Bogle | Second Overall (3-2)

GEICO Honda's Justin Bogle got up front early in moto one and sat in second behind Jessy Nelson, but after losing his front-end in a corner, Bogle hit the dirt and dropped back to fourth by the time he remounted his bike. Bogle regrouped, and after a crash from Cooper Webb, he moved back into third where he finished the moto.

Bogle kept himself off of the ground in moto two. He ran in fifth early, and after working past his teammate Bell for fourth, and Jason Anderson for third, Bogle went after Christophe Pourcel late in the race and eventually took the spot, earning him a second-place overall in Colorado.

3. Jeremy Martin | Third Overall (1-6)

Yamahalube/Star Racing/Yamaha's Jeremy Martin found himself in fourth off the start in moto one behind Jessy Nelson, Justin Bogle, and Cooper Webb. After a crash from Bogle, Martin was able to get around his teammate Webb and move into second. With a lead of over 10 seconds at the halfway point, Nelson seemed too far gone for Martin to make up the time, but two huge mistakes allowed Martin to hack away at the frontrunner’s lead, the second mistake causing Nelson to run off the track and Martin to jump into the lead. Martin crossed the finish line first to take home his fifth-straight moto win.

Martin's winning streak came to an end in moto two. A mediocre start and a midrace crash set Martin too far back to have a shot at the win, but his 1-6 scores were good enough to land him on the podium with third overall.

4. Jessy Nelson | Fourth Overall (2-9)

Troy Lee Desings/Lucas Oil/Honda's Jessy Nelson finally got the start he's been looking for in moto one, and the holeshot winner took advantage of the clear track early in the moto and began to build up his lead. At times Nelson ran laps seconds faster than those behind him, but two late moto mistakes allowed Jeremy Martin to close in and take over the position after Nelson ran off the track. Despite his close call, Nelson reentered the race after only giving up the one spot, and held on to finish second.

Trouble for Nelson in moto two landed him with a ninth, and an overall of fourth.

5. Marvin Musquin | Fifth Overall (7-4)

Red Bull KTM's Marvin Musquin struggled in the first moto, dropping out of the top five early and finishing in seventh. But the Frenchman rebounded in moto two and charged from eighth to fourth, nearly third after pressuring Pourcel for the position, and was able to round out the top five in Colorado with a fifth overall.

Overall Results
1. Blake Baggett 4-1
2. Justin Bogle 3-2
3. Jeremy Martin 1-6
4. Jessy Nelson 2-9
5. Marvin Musquin 7-9
6. Jason Anderson 5-5
7. Christophe Pourcel 11-3
8. Cooper Webb 9-7
9.  Cole Seely 8-8
10. Justin Hill 10-10
11. Matt Bisceglia 13-11
12. Joey Savatgy 12-13
13. Zach Bell 6-34
14. Kyle Cunningham 14-14
15. Matt Lemoine 21-12
16. Brady Kiesel 16-17
17. Jakob Baumert 17-18
18. Dillan Epstein 37-15
19. Kyle Peters 15-38
20. Alex Martin 40-16
2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship 250 Class (After 6 of 24 motos)
1. Jeremy Martin 140pts (5 moto wins)
2. Cooper Webb 114pts
3. Christophe Pourcel 93pts
4. Blake Baggett 91pts (1 moto win)
5. Justin Bogle 90pts
6. Jessy Nelson 85pts
7. Marvin Musquin 82pts
8. Jason Anderson 81pts
9. Justin Hill 65pts
10. Matt Bisceglia 63pts