Si Rachi, Thailand, hosted the second stop of the 2013 FIM World Motocross Championship, and the inaugural event was dominated by Red Bull KTM teammates Jeffrey Herlings and Antonio Cairolo. The track is located just an hours drive from the country’s capital of Bangkok and beckoned the motorcycle loving country to the fences. Weather conditions were just what one would expect from a town located inland from the Bay of Bangkok, and extremely warm and humid air hung over the racers. Saturday’s qualifying was briefly halted due to a heavy rainstorm, but Sunday’s racing took place under clear skies. 90-degree temperatures are an uncommon challenge for GP racers, especially this early in the year, and many used hydration systems throughout their motos.

MX2 Moto One

Romain Febvre inched out the MX2 class to take the holeshot, but he was overtaken by Red Bull KTM's Jeffrey Herlings in a matter of corners. The defending MX2 champion sped away to his second straight moto victory, the perfect way begin to his title defense. Herlings' speed was unmatched in the class, as he was the only rider to post a lap in the 1:49 range, with a series of sub-1:50 laps coming at the start of the moto before he began to settle and fall into the 1:50-1:52 range.

Febvre, a former SuperMoto racer, is back in the MX circles aboard a Nestaan JM Racing KTM, and the French rider held on to take second. His teammate, Jake Nicholls, ran as high as third in the moto and battled with Christophe Charlier before dropping back to 19th place. Max Anstie piloted his Rockstar Energy Suzuki to a third place finish, which aids his championship hopes after a DNF in the Qatar opening round.

1. Jeffrey Herlings (KTM)
2. Romain Febvre (KTM)
3. Max Anstie (Suz)
4. Jose Burton (KTM)
5. Dean Ferris (Yam)
6. Jordi Tixier (KTM)
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (KTM)
8. Alessandro Lupino (Kaw)
9. Christophe Charlier (Yam)
10. Petar Petrov

MX1 Moto One

Antonio Cairloi used his inside gate advantage to claim the MX1 holeshot, but the Red Bull KTM racer struggled in the opening moments and forfeited the lead to Honda World Motocross' Evgeny Bobryshev. The Russian held control of the race until a spill coming out of a right-hand turn handed the lead to Ken Dedycker, who held the lead for three laps until his teammate Cairoli found his groove and reclaimed the spot. Dedycker would hold to finish second place, while Clement Desalle ended up third after Bobryshev went down on the final lap and dropped to 18th.

1. Antonio Cairloi (KTM)
2. Ken de Dycker (KTM)
3. Clement Desalle (Suz)
4. Gautier Paulin (Kaw)
5. Tommy Searle (Kaw)
6. David Philippaerts (Honda)
7. Kevin Strijbos (Suz)
8. Rui Goncalves (KTM)
9. Steven Frossard (Yam)
10. Joel Roelants (Yam)


Cairoli led the condensed class of racers up the inclined start and wasted no time building what would eventually be a 17-second margin of victory. Cairoli's second Superfinal win, paired with his moto one finish, put the MX1 championship point standings in the Italian's favor.

With Cairoli in complete control out front, the attention turned to the battle between Gautier Paulin and Jeffrey Herlings. The MX1 (Paulin) and MX2 (Herlings) paced the track and looked destined to battle, but their match-up was spoiled by Herlings' lesser-powered 250 and Clement Desalle's come-up. Desalle picked off Herlings for third place, which triggered the MX2 rider's eventual slowing and fourth place finish, and settled behind Paulin for the final podium spot.

Cairoli has been unmatched in the Superfinal format, winning both Qatar and Thailand with relative ease. The combined "main event" will be used twice more this season at the faraway rounds of Brazil and Mexico. Herlings' fourth place ride was the best finish by a MX2 racer in the event, seven places higher than closest finisher, Romain Febrve.

Super Final Results
1. Antonio Cairoli (KTM)
2. Gautier Paulin (Kaw)
3. Clement Desalle (Suz)
4. Jeffrey Herlings (KTM)
5. Tommy Searle (Kaw)
6. Rui Goncalves (KTM)
7. Xavier Boog (KTM)
8. Joel Roelants (Yam)
9. Steven Frossard (Yam)
10. Ken de Dycker (KTM)

MX2 Overall Results

1. Jeffrey Herlings
2. Romain Febvre
3. Jose Burton
4. Christophe Charlier
5. Alessandro Lupino
6. Dean Ferris
7. Glenn Coldenhoff
8. Jordi Tixier
9. Max Anstie
10. Julien Lieber

MX1 Overall Results

1. Antonio Cairoli
2. Gautier Paulin
3. Clement Desalle
4. Tommy Searle
5. Ken de Dycker
6. Rui Goncalves
7. Joel Roelants
8. Steven Frossard
9. Kevin Strijbos
10. Xavier Boog

MX2 Championship Point Standings (After 2 of 18 Rounds)

1. Jeffrey Herlings (100pts/2 wins)
2. Romain Febvre (82)
3. Dean Ferris (69)
4. Christophe Charlier (65)
5. Glenn Coldenhoff (63)
6. Jose Burton (60)
7. Jordi Tixier (57)
8. Alessandro Lupino (56)
9. Julien Lieber (47)
10. Max Anstie (37)

MX1 Championship Point Standings (After 2 of 18 Rounds)

1. Antonio Cairoli (95pts/ 1 win)
2. Clement Desalle (87/ 1 win)
3. Gautier Paulin (78)
4. Ken de Dycker (70)
5. Tommy Searle (64)
6. Kevin Strijbos (55)
7. Rui Goncalves (52)
8. Evgeny Bobryshev (47)
9. Steven Frossard (47)
10. Xavier Boog (41)