Carmichael and Stewart win big at Glen Helen

In front of more than 20,000 Southern California motorsports fans, the 2002 Outdoor National motocross championships opened on a spectacular note as the world’s best motocross racer Ricky Carmichael swept both motos in the 250cc class, while fellow Floridian James Stewart added 125cc gold with a 1-2 finish in the two moto format.


Event promoter Bud Feldkamp was extremely pleased with the fan turnout as his Glen Helen Outdoor National race once again launched what will shape up to be a spectacular motocross series this summer.

This was one of the larger crowds we’ve ever had here, said Feldkamp, looking out over a sea of sun-baked race fans packed alongside the hilly San Bernardino track. And again these amazing athletes put on a show that is second to none in the world of professional motorsports.


At the end of the second moto, Stewart, 16, joined a short list of motocross athletes that won a national in their very first race as a rookie. Said Stewart: This is what I’ve always dreamed of winning an Outdoor National. I’ve worked very hard to make this happen and I couldn’t be happier right now.

Joining Stewart on the podium were international motocross stars Grant Langston (S. Africa/KTM) and Chad Reed (Australia/Boost Mobile/Yamaha/Troy Racing).

On the larger bikes, Carmichael, the defending class champion, was downright dominant leading every lap of both motos (26 total laps) and totally taming the rugged Glen Helen track on his Honda CR 250. You always like to start out with a win, he said. My bike was absolutely perfect. About the only competition I had was from my teammate (Sebastien Tortelli) and he was on the same bike!

Rounding out the 250 podium were also a couple Floridians, Tortelli (2nd) and Tim Ferry (Yamaha) (3rd).

The Outdoor Nationals make its next stop on Sunday, May 19, at Sacramento’s Hangtown Classic.

125 Top Ten

Place Rider Team

1.) James Stewart Chevy Truck/Kawasaki

2.) Grant Langston KTM/Red Bull/Thor

3.) Chad Reed Boost Mobile/Yamaha/Troy Racing

4.) Mike Brown Pro-Circuit/Kawasaki

5.) Danny Smith Blimpie Suzuki

6.) Matt Walker Pro-Circuit/Kawasaki

7.) Ernesto Fonseca Universal Studios/Honda

8.) Damon Huffman Suzuki

9.) Bobby Bonds Pro-Circuit/Kawasaki

10.) Brock Sellards KTM/Red Bull/Thor

250 Top Ten

1.) Ricky Carmichael Universal Studios/Honda

2.) Sebastien Tortelli Universal Studios/Honda

3.) Tim Ferry Yamaha

4.) Stephane Roncada Chevy Trucks/Kawasaki

5.) David Vuillemin Yamaha

6.) Ezra Lusk Chevy Trucks/Kawasaki

7.) Kyle Lewis Moto XXX

8.) John Dowd KTM/Cernics

9.) Paul Carpenter White Brothers/Honda

10.) Keith Johnson KTM