Carmichael/McGrath to Duel at THQ U.S. Open

The 2002 edition of the THQ U.S. Opensponsored by Thor/Parts Unlimited at the MGM Grand Garden Arena will hostone of the greatest showdowns in racing history: Ricky Carmichael vs. JeremyMcGrath on October 11-12.

Carmichael, the two-time defending THQ U.S. Open champion, has enjoyed abanner season, winning the supercross championship and the motocrosschampionship. Honda’s Carmichael, who etched himself into the motocrossrecord books this summer by winning every moto, won both nights of racing inlast year’s sell-out event at the MGM Grand Garden Arena.

Seven-time supercross champion McGrath, who is supercross’ all-timewinningest rider, recently signed a deal with KTM Sportmotorcycles and hisfirst major race aboard the new bike will be at the THQ U.S. Open’s Fridaynight session of racing. McGrath’s run that the THQ U.S. Open was trulyinspirational as he returned from a first-turn pile-up in the second moto tofinish second overall.

“McGrath proved to everyone last year that he has the speed to win,” saidEric Peronnard, founder of the THQ U.S. Open. “Watching him cut through thepack after that crash was amazing. The opening night (Friday) should beexciting, considering it’s the first time that fans will see him (McGrath)on the new bike.”

Top 20 250cc Invited Riders from 2002 AMA Supercross
1. Ricky Carmichael, Havana, Fla.
2. David Vuillemin, Corona, Calif.
3. Jeremy McGrath, Encinitas, Calif.
4. Ezra Lusk, Acworth Ga.
5. Stephane Roncada, Menifee, Calif.
6. Nathan Ramsey, Corona, Calif.
7. Ernesto Fonseca, Costa Rica,
8. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich.
9. Damon Huffman, Valencia, Calif.
10. Heath Voss, Mico, Texas
11. Mike LaRocco, South Bend, Ind.
12. Kyle Lewis, Henderson, Nev.
13. Sebastien Tortelli, Dade City, Fla.
14. Jean Sebastien-Roy, Canada
15. Tim Ferry, Dade City, Fla.
16. Travis Pastrana, Annapolis, Md.
17. Keith Johnson, Albuquerque, N.M.
18. Kevin Windham, Centerville, Miss.
19. Michael Byrne, Australia,
20. James Polvolny Jr., Mendota Heights, Minn.
2002 125cc Eastern and Western Regional Supercross Champions
21. Chad Reed, Australia
22. Travis Preston, Hesperia, Calif.
2002 Speed Stick Presents the National Arenacross Series Champion
23. Josh Demuth, Fort Worth, Texas
2002 Promoter’s Choice
24. TBA
Tickets for Las Vegas MGM Grand’s 5th Annual U.S. Open sponsored byThor/Parts Unlimited (October 11-12, 2002), and the 2nd Annual AmateurArenacross World Finals (October 13, 2002), are currently on-sale. Fans canpurchase tickets through TicketMaster at 702-474-4000, the MGM Grand Boxoffice, or on-line at and Hotel spacegoes quickly for the U.S. Open, so for reservations, contact the MGM GrandHotel at (800) 929-1111 or the Las Vegas Reservation system at (800)233-5594. Book your rooms and tickets now, space is limited.