Carmichael/Reed Duel at Atlanta’s Georgia Dome This Weekend

AURORA, III. (February 21, 2005) – After winning five consecutive THQ World Supercross GP/THQ AMA Supercross Series races Suzuki’s Ricky Carmichael, of Havana, Fla., finished in second place last weekend at San Diego’s Qualcomm Stadium to Yamaha’s Chad Reed, of Dade City, Fla. This weekend Carmichael, the winner of three 250cc races at Atlanta’s Georgia Dome, aims to off seat Reed, who won last year’s main event in Atlanta.

Carmichael led the first 19 laps of the 250cc main event in San Diego before Reed made the pass on the 11-time AMA national champion.

“It was a little bit of a rough night, with my get-offs in my heat,” said Carmichael. “Then in the main, I made a couple of mistakes in the whoops.  When I crashed in the last lap, I was just trying to make a last-ditch effort.  I mean, when I got passed, I wasn’t just going to roll over and give away the win.  But overall, I’m happy with my Makita Suzuki and with the way it turned out, particularly with my little heat race experience.”

Suzuki’s Davi Millsaps, of Cairo, Ga., leads the 125cc Eastern Regional THQ AMA Supercross Series. He opened the season with a big win at Indianapolis’ RCA Dome and holds a three-point lead over Kawasaki’s Grant Langston.

Last year, Reed raced to his sixth THQ World Supercross GP/THQ AMA Supercross Series victory in front of 59,651 fans at the Georgia Dome. Kawasaki’s James Stewart earned his third consecutive 125cc Eastern Regional THQ AMA Supercross Series race, breaking the all-time 125cc win record (13) previously held by Jeremy McGrath.

Past Winners in Atlanta

250cc Supercross

February 28, 2004:              Chad Reed
February 22, 2003:              Ricky Carmichael
February 23, 2002:              Ricky Carmichael
February 24, 2001:              Ricky Carmichael
February 26, 2000:              Jeremy McGrath
February 20, 1999:              Jeremy McGrath
February 21, 1998:              Jeremy McGrath
February 22, 1997:              Damon Huffman
February 24, 1996:              Jeremy McGrath
February 25, 1995:              Mike LaRocco
February 26, 1994:              Jeremy McGrath
February 20, 1993:              Damon Bradshaw
February 22, 1992:              Damon Bradshaw
February 23, 1991:              Damon Bradshaw
February 24, 1990:              Jeff Ward
February 25, 1989:              Jeff Stanton
February 22, 1986:              Rick Johnson
February 23, 1985:              Mark Barnett
February 25, 1984:              Johnny O’ Mara
March 05, 1983:         Mark Barnett
February 27, 1982:              Bob Hannah
February 28, 1981: &nnbsp;            Mark Barnett
March 01, 1980:         Chuck Sun
March 03, 1979:         Bob Hannah
 March 04, 1978:         Marty Tripes
 March 05, 1977:         Bob Hannah

125cc Supercross

February 28, 2004:              James Stewart
February 22, 2003:              Brock Sellards
February 23, 2002:              Chad Reed
February 24, 2001:              Nathan Ramsey
February 26, 2000:              Stephane Roncada
February 20, 1999:              Ernesto Fonseca
February 21, 1998:              Ricky Carmichael
February 22, 1997:              Ricky Carmichael
February 24, 1996:              John Dowd
February 25, 1995:              Mickael Pichon
February 26, 1994:              Ezra Lusk
February 20, 1993:              Doug Henry
February 22, 1992:              Brian Swink
February 23, 1991:              Brian Swink
February 24, 1990:              Denny Stephenson
February 25, 1989:              Damon Bradshaw
February 22, 1986:              Keith Turpin

Supercross LIVE!, the only place on the planet to catch THQ World Supercross GP/THQ AMA Supercross Series live at home, is available for fans at every race, starting at 7:00 p.m. local time at Listen as Supercross LIVE! hosts Jim Holley and Jason Wiegandt capture the live race call, a pre-race show, a post-race show, post-race press conference, on-air industry guests and celebrities, in-depth interviews, promotions, call-ins and more. In 2003-2004, more than a half-million listeners logged on to Supercross LIVE!

For more information, please log on to  For tickets log onto,, or (Las Vegas only).