CBS Sports Spectacular 2006 Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open Broadcast Team Announced

AURORA, Ill. (October 6, 2006) -- The 2006 Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open inside Las Vegas’ MGM Grand Garden Arena October 13-14 announced today the television broadcast team, including play-by-play host Ralph Sheheen, analyst Jeff Emig and pit reporter Krista Voda . This year’s Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open will air on CBS Sports Saturday, October 21, 2006 from 1:30-3:00 p.m. (EST).

Veteran motorsports announcer Sheheen has covered every form of racing from swamp buggies to Amp’d Mobile Supercross. Sheheen began his broadcasting career in 1988. Joining him in the booth in the color analyst position will be Jeff Emig, the winner of the 1999 U.S. Open and 1997 AMA Supercross champion. Emig has a total four AMA National Championships also included in his accomplishments.

“Jeff is one of the sport’s most decorated riders in the sport’s history with year’s of racing experience and will connect well with Ralph’s unique style, said Mike McFarlin, senior director of televsion, Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open.

Voda, who delivered the action trackside at this year’s Amp’d Mobile Supercross season, will mirror that responsibility at this year’s Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open. She currently covers the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series and prior to working on an array of racing-related programming, she was a sideline reporter for ACC basketball.

This year’s Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open, which is the lead into CBS Sports Spectacular’s coverage of the South Eastern Conference college football game of the week, features the long-awaited showdown between 15-time AMA National Champion Ricky Carmichael and reigning Amp’d Mobile World Supercross GP champion James Stewart inside the MGM Grand Garden Arena.

Last Year’s top 3
1) Ricky Carmichael
2) Michael Byrne
3) Kevin Windham

Past Champions
2005: Ricky Carmichael
2004: Chad Reed
2003: Mike LaRocco
2002: Ricky Carmichael
2001: Ricky Carmichael
2000: Ricky Carmichael
1999: Jeff Emig
1998: Damon Huffman

Built into this year’s Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open format will be the three part Toyota Trifecta bonus program that will pay additional money to the fastest qualifier for each night’s event, a bonus to each night’s Progressive Direct Holeshot winner and a bonus for any rider that can complete the Toyota Trifecta challenge by being the fastest qualifier, getting the Progressive Direct Holeshot and winning the main event. Any rider that hits the Toyota Trifecta will earn a $50,000 bonus each night in addition to the regular event purse and any rider that can “Double Down” and hit the Toyota Trifecta both nights will walk away with $250,000 for the weekend.

Tickets are now available for the ninth-annual Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas October 13-15, 2006 at,, by phone at 702-474-4000 or the MGM Grand Garden Arena box office. Regarded as one of off-road motorcycling’s premier races, the Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open is the final ‘major’ race of the motocross season. Tickets are available for as low as $20 through

About The Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open
The eighth-annual Rockstar Energy Drink U.S. Open is an invite-only indoor off-road motocross race inside the MGM Grand Garden Arena October 13-15, 2006. Reigning champion Ricky Carmichael stages his defense of the title against the world’s top motocross racers competing for the world’s largest single race purse. Live Nation is a leading live event and venue management company focused on creating superior experiences for artists, performers, corporations and fans. Live Nation owns, operates and/oor has booking rights for 153 venues worldwide and produced more than 29,500 events in 2005. Live Nation operates more than 60 websites globally. Headquartered in Los Angeles, California, Live Nation is listed on the New York Stock Exchange, trading under the symbol “LYV. For more information regarding Live Nation and its businesses, please visit the company’s website at

About AMA Pro Racing
AMA Pro Racing is the leading sanctioning body for motorcycle sport in the United States. Its properties include the Amp’d Mobile AMA Supercross Series, the AMA Toyota Motocross Championship presented by FMF, the AMA Superbike Championship presented by Parts Unlimited, the AMA Ford Quality Checked Flat Track Championship and the AMA Supermoto Championship presented by Parts Unlimited. For more information about AMA Pro Racing, visit Accredited media outlets can also access AMA Pro Racing’s online Press Room at