Chris Thomson Names 2006 PWA Person; Airaid Filter Company Manufacturer of the Year

It was a banner night for Airaid Filter Company during the recent sold-out SEMA Industry Awards Banquet in Las Vegas. Chris Thomson, the company’s national sales manager, was named the 2006 Performance Warehouse Association’s (PWA) Person of the Year, while the Phoenix, Arizona-based company was also crowned the 2006 PWA Manufacturer of the Year.

“My congratulation goes out to Chris Thomson and Airaid for winning these prestigious industry awards, said John Towle, PWA executive director. “These are our association’s highest honors.

Eldon Larson, founder of Motorville in Lenexa, Kansas and Jim and Linda Stewart formerly of Custom Automotive, were named the 2006 Pioneer Award winners. The awards were presented during the PWA’s General Membership Meeting, held earlier in the week during the SEMA Show. “The winner of the Pioneer Award is just that, a pioneer who brought valuable programs and innovative ideas to the industry, said Towle. “The award is given for making an impact.

According to Towle, the PWA WD membership nominates individuals for the Pioneer Award and the PWA Board of Directors chooses the winner, while the PWA WD membership votes for the winners of the Person and Manufacturer of the Year awards. “That’s what makes them special, he said. “You’re recognized by your peers.

Both Person and Manufacturer of the Year awards carry similar criteria: recognition for outstanding contribution to WDs and the specialty equipment market. “These are coveted industry honors, said Towle. “Chris Thomson and Airaid are well-deserving winners.

Interested in becoming a member of the PWA? There are several ways to join, including visiting, or by contacting the PWA by phone (760) 346-5647; fax (760) 346-5847; or e-mail: