Coppins Extends Lead in the MX1 Championship at German GP

MX1 world championship points leader, Josh Coppins, has strengthened his stronghold on the motocross world championship with third overall at the infamous Talkessel circuit in Germany.

The factory Yamaha Rinaldi rider achieved his first pole position of the season in front of team-mate Marc de Reuver and grabbed the hole-shot in moto 1 from an inside gate pick. Coppins was unchallenged and won with a six second margin making it a Yamaha 1-2 with de Reuver trailing in second.

GP veteran, Mike Brown, lead Coppins into the first turn in the deciding moto but the Kiwi lost no time in moving past the American to build a comfortable gap. Five laps later Coppins was caught out in a sand section after hooking false neutral and lost his lead to a train of riders. A nail biting battle followed with Coppins having to claw his way back into the fight as he passed championship rival Kevin Strijbos. The Belgian retaliated with five minutes to go with Coppins settling for 6th.

” This track is so fast which makes the racing really close. We got our first pole of the year which I was really pumped with and I was happy with my speed and the way I was riding. I made a mistake in the sand section which was really disappointing. On the bright side I have extended my lead in the championship. It could have been an easy win in the second moto but that’s motocross. explained Coppins.

With Japan, next on the GP calendar, Coppins will head to Sugo with a 43 point lead.

Race Results:

MX1 Race1

1 Coppins, Joshua NZL Yamaha

2 de Reuver, Marc NED Yamaha

3 Ramon, Steve BEL Suzuki

4 de Dycker, Ken BEL Honda

5 Philippaerts, David ITA KTM

6 Strijbos, Kevin BEL Suzuki

7 Crockard, Gordon IRL Honda

8 Noble, James GBR Honda

9 Nagl, Maximilian GER KTM

10 Priem, Manuel BEL TM

11 Anderson, Bradley GBR Yamaha

12 Brown, Mike USA Honda

13 Leok, Tanel EST Kawasaki

14 Barragan, Jonathan ESP KTM

15 Desalle, Clement BEL Suzuki

MX1 Race2

1 Philippaerts, David ITA KTM

2 Pourcel, Sebastien FRA Kawasaki

3 Ramon, Steve BEL Suzuki

4 Strijbos, Kevin BEL Suzuki

5 Crockard, Gordon IRL Honda

6 Coppins, Joshua NZL Yamaha

7 Barragan, Jonathan ESP KTM

8 de Reuver, Marc NED Yamaha

9 Mackenzie, Billy GBR Kawasaki

10 Leok, Aigar EST Yamaha

11 Brown, Mike USA Honda

12 Renet, Pierre A. FRA Honda

13 Allier, Thomas FRA Kawasaki

14 de Dycker, Ken BEL Honda

15 Leok, Tanel EST Kawasaki

MX1 World Championship Standings:

1 Coppins, J. NZL 234

2 Strijbos, K. BEL 191

3 Ramon, Steve BEL 156

4 de Dycker, Ken BEL 131

5 Pourcel, S. FRA 130

6 Barragan, J. ESP 121

7 Philippaerts, D. ITA 115

8 de Reuver, M. NED 115

9 Leok, Tanel EST 112

10 Noble, James GBR 104

11 Brown, Mike USA 100

12 Priem, Manuel BEL 81

13 Nagl, M. GER 80

14 Mackenzie, B. GBR 73

15 Nemeth, Kornel HUN 66