France Wins Motocross des Nations

The French team won the 55th edition of the Motocross des Nations in Namur, beating the Belgium and the New Zealand team. With Luigi Seguy, David Vuillemin and Yves Demaria, the frenchies had an historical day in an historical place! The French team was considered by many as an incomplete team without Mickael Pichon and S├ębastien Tortelli, but the three selected riders proved this weekend that they had a team spirit and a very good motivation for this event. They didn’t win any moto, but they did strong races with Seguy (thirteen after a bad start and fifteen after two crashes), Vuillemin (third and fourth despite bad starts) and Demaria (fifth and third). All of them were motivated for this race; Seguy had to confirm the choice of the French manager as other names were on the list to race the 125 class, Vuillemin had to race with an unusual bike as his mechanic was blocked in the USA, and Demaria had to prove that he is always one of the best riders of the GPs after a disappointing end of season in the 250 GPs. With mid pack start they all did their best, and on the podium they were all thinking to the Americans winners last year in France.

In the Belgium team Everts got the best possible results on his favourite track, leading the two races and winning easily both of them. Steve Ramon did great 125 races, placing his 125 Kawasaki tenth and eight and winning easily the 125s race in the race. Unfortunately, Joel Smets had a terrible day, “One of the most difficult day of my career,” he said, as he had technical problems with his bike. He went off the track in the first race as he had problems with the brakes, take a banner in his rear wheel but was tenth when his engine broke in the last lap. In his second moto he crashed with another rider, lost his radiator cap and had to stop twice in the pits. The French team took then the leadership of the event. In third position is New Zealand, with consistent races from Hurley (first MXDN), Coppins and King who both finished the season with a top result. Australia could be on the podium but Byrne broke his wrist in the first race! Reed won the second one but was involved in a crash at the start of the last one.

Final result: 1.France (Seguy, Vuillemin, Demaria), 28; 2.Belgium (Ramon, Smets, Everts), 37; 3.New Zealand (Hurley, Coppins, King), 47; 4.Great Britain (Sword, Nunn, Nicoll), 56; 5.Germany (Kanstinger, Beirer, Eckenbach), 57; 6.Australia (Byrne, Reed, McFarlane), 73; 7.Sweden (Johansson, Karlsson, Lindhe), 73; 8.Portugal (Goncalves, Rodrigues, Goncalves), 80; 9.South Africa (Swanepoel, Hunt, Dugmore), 90; 10.Finland (Pyrhonen, Vehvilainen, Aaltonen), 94; 11.Estonia, 99; 12.Czech Republic, 104; 13.Slovenia, 109; 14.Ireland, 113; 15.Netherlands, 113; 16.Spain, 115; 17.Italy, 116; 18.Latvia, 125; 19.Denmark, 130; 20.Switzerland, 149