Gareth Swanepoel Triumphs at British Motocross Championship in Langrish

MX GP and international motocross campaigner, Gareth Swanepoel, has won the fourth round of the Maxxis British Motocross championship in Langrish, Hampshire.

Swanepoel, who is backed by the UK and Belgian based Molson Kawasaki team, met with some technical difficulties on lap three of the first moto and could only manage fourth place, with a jamming throttle keeping the South African off of the podium.

Swanepoel bounced back in race 2 to dominate the rest of the field including championship rival Tommy Searle and Americans Mike Brown and Sean Hamblin. He set the fastest race lap time around the Manor Farm circuit and cruised to an easy victory, 8 seconds ahead of Searle. ‘Swanie’s’ 4-1 result also delivered the overall victory and has brought the South African to within 8 points of the MX2 British championship lead.

“I’ve won 3 out of the 4 rounds so far and with another four to go I’m pretty confident that the second half of the championship is going to be exciting, vowed the 22-year-old. “I had some trouble with my throttle sticking in the first moto and managed to adapt to the problem although it got quite scary on those huge downhill’s. We changed some suspension settings for this race which worked really well on the fast and hard pack sections and should give me a good base for the French GP in St Jean d’Angely next weekend.

Swanepoel, currently ranked 6th in the MX2 World championship standings, will head back to Belgium before making the trip to St Jean D’ Angely (Round 7 of 15), located a few hours South of Paris.

Race results:


1 Mike Brown

2 Sean Hamblin

3 Tommy Searle

4 Gareth Swanepoel

5 Elliot Banks – Browne

6 Jason Dougan

7 Ray Rowson

8 Shaun Simpson

9 Martin Barr

10 Carl Nunn

11 Tom Church

12 Jake Nichols

13 Martin Kohut

14 Lewis Gregory

15 Kristian Whatley


1 Gareth Swanepoel

2 Tommy Searle

3 Tom Church

4 Sean Hamblin

5 Carl Nunn

6 Shaun Simpson

7 Ray Rowson

8 Martin Kohut

9 Jake Nichols

10 Martin Barr

11 Mike Brown

12 Wayne Smith

13 Alex Snow

14 Elliot Banks – Browne

15 Kristian Whatley

MX2 Podium

1 Gareth Swanepoel 53

2 Tommy Searle 52

3 Sean Hamblin 50

MX2 Championship standings:

1 Tommy Searle 200

2 Gareth Swanepoel 192

3 Mike Brown 176

4 Shaun Simpson 167

5 Sean Hamblin 159

6 Tom Church 155

7 Martin Barr 124

8 Jason Dougan 106

9 Ray Rowson 97

10 Lewis Gregory 94

11 Carl Nunn 75

12 Jake Nichols 68

13 Wayne Smith 62

14 Elliot Banks – Browne 54

15 David Willett 40