Geiger Tops the Podium at Thunder Valley

Bend, OR (July 24, 2007) – Round four of the AMA/WMA Women’s National Motocross Championship presented by Kawasaki was held Saturday, July 21st at Thunder Valley MX, Lakewood, CO. After a month break from the WMA Championship Yamaha/Etnies Girl/Answer Racing rider Tarah Gieger went 2-1 for the overall win and is now trailing Jessica Patterson by one point in the championship.

In moto one Thor MX’s Vanessa Florentino got the Girlyz holeshot and avoided the first corner melee where Honda of Houston/Bad Boy Energy Drink’s Jessica Patterson and Yamaha’s Sarah Whitmore tangled up, as did Kawasaki’s Tania Satchwell and Damzl Fuel’s Meika Cornelius. Patterson’s hand got caught under the rear wheel of Whitmore’s bike and was injured. Patterson was unable to finish the moto. Meanwhile, Sherri Cruse and FMF’s Ashley Boham were battling for the lead with Girlyz/Toyota rider Alisa Nix in hot pursuit while Gieger was moving up behind her. Cruse slid out in a corner. Boham now had the lead but a lap and half later she made a mistake in the sandy wet track. Nix took over the lead and had a flawless ride from that point on. Gieger rode a steady 2nd place, Zoolo/Fox Racing’s Mariana Balbi took 3rd, Elizabeth Bash finished in 4th while Satchwell worked her way back up to 5th. Whitmore worked her way back up to 9th from the first corner crash.

Anticipation was building between motos as it was uncertain if Patterson would be able to ride. However, at the sighting lap of moto two, the champion was on the line. When the gate dropped Zip Ty Racing’s Sherri Cruse got the Girlyz holeshot and was closely followed by Gieger, Nix, Boham, and Florentino. Cruse dropped back to third just near the finish line. Patterson got a poor start and was working her way through the back half of the pack. Gieger and Nix got by Cruse near the end of the first lap and began to check out. Nix was staying with Gieger but went down hard and dislocated her shoulder taking her out of the race. By lap four Patterson had moved her into second but Tarah’s lead was just too great. The real back and fourth battle was for third place between Kawasaki teammates Eilzabeth Bash and Tania Satchwell that in the end saw Satchwell claiming 3rd.

The overall went Gieger, Satchwell, and Bash.

Patterson retains the lead in championship points, revised from an earlier posting, after clarification with AMA Sports regarding a scoring rule change from 2006 to 2007 (page 48, Scoring 3.c).

Top Ten Pro Results:

1 68 YAM Tarah Gieger
Vero Beach, FL 2-1

2 105 KAW Tania Satchwell
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 5-3

3 33 KAW Elizabeth Bash
Riverside, CA 4-4

4 5 HON Mariana Balbi
Brazil 3-5

5 75 HON Vanessa Florentino
Edgewood, NM 7-7

6 12 HON Ashley Boham
Loveland, CO 11-6

7 517 SUZ Taylor Miller
Alabaster, AL 6-11

8 4 YAM Sarah Whitmore
Cheboygan, MI 9-10

9 31 YAM Alyssa Weaver
Falcon, CO 12-8

10 627 HON Lindsey Jelitto
Falcon, CO 8-13

Top Ten Points Standings:

1 Jessica Patterson 173
2 Tarah Geiger 172
3 Elizabeth Bash 134
4 Aliisa Nix 131
Mariana Balbi 131
6 Tania Satchwell 123
7 Sarah Whitmore 107
8 Vanessa Florentino 97
9 Taylor Miller 61
Ashley Boham 61

WMA is sponsored by Kawasaki Motors Corp. U.S.A, Girlyz Clothing Co, Honda Riders Club of America, Drill Tech Drilling, RAM Rick Albert Machinery Hyundai Dealership, VP Fuels, Dunlop Tires, Polisport, Powermadd, Alpinestars, Hitachi, Thor MX Gear and ZLT Racing.

Next event: July 28th at Washougal MX, Washougal, WA

For additional information on race events and schedules, please visit